Skip to content

Model releases

New models, open releases and updates: flagship launches, open weights, and price and performance changes as they happen.

Latest picks

41–60 of 88

May 20Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Gemini 3.5 Released: A New Model Family Combining Intelligence and Action

Google AI Developers announced the Gemini 3.5 model family, saying it combines intelligence with action capabilities; the post does not disclose parameters, benchmarks, pricing, availability, or context window details.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: an official Gemini 3.5 family launch has flagship-model pull and competitive resonance. HKR-K fails because the post gives no params, benchmarks, pricing, or context window, so this stays below the 85+ band.

Hacker News front page

Gemini 3.5 Flash

The title names Gemini 3.5 Flash, while the RSS body only includes a documentation link; the Hacker News item has 196 points and 179 comments, and the post does not disclose parameters, pricing, or context-window details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/R pass on an official Google Gemini 3.5 Flash release with HN traction; HKR-K fails because price, benchmarks, parameters, and context window are absent. That keeps it in the lower 78–84 band.

May 19Tuesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Cursor releases Composer 2.5, calling it its strongest model yet

Cursor released Composer 2.5, claiming a 10x efficiency gain at comparable capability, with larger training scale, more complex reinforcement-learning environments, and a text-feedback mechanism.

Why it matters: Cursor Composer 2.5 is a substantive model update for a front-line AI coding tool, with HKR-H/K/R from the 10x efficiency and RL-training details. The single social-source summary lacks benchmarks, pricing, and reproducible tests, keeping it in the 78–84 band.

May 18Monday

Google DeepMind

Google DeepMind releases Gemini Omni Flash video model

Google DeepMind released Gemini Omni Flash, the first model in the Gemini Omni family. It combines image, audio, video and text inputs to generate high-quality video, and supports multi-turn editing in natural language.

Why it matters: Gemini Omni Flash folds video generation and conversational editing into one model, a shift in how multimodal creation gets accessed.

May 17Sunday

r/LocalLLaMA

MiroThinker-1.7 Open-Weight Deep Research Agent Based on Qwen3 MoE

MiroMindAI released the MiroThinker-1.7-deepresearch and mini APIs, with the mini version using 30B total parameters and 3B active parameters, weights on HuggingFace, and context management based on sliding window K=5 plus episode restarts.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the source is a Reddit thread and the lab is not top-tier. Open weights, MoE sizing, and context-management details clear featured, not same-day must-write.

May 16Saturday

Google DeepMind

Google DeepMind releases Gemini 3.5 Flash

Google DeepMind released the Gemini 3.5 model family, with the first model, Gemini 3.5 Flash, available the same day in the Gemini app, Google Search AI Mode, Google Antigravity, the Gemini API and Gemini Enterprise.

Why it matters: Google published 3.5 Flash's coding and agent benchmark scores and where it is available, enough to judge its place in long-horizon workflows.

May 15Friday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Granite Embedding Multilingual R2: Open Multilingual Embedding Model with 32K Context

IBM Granite released Granite Embedding Multilingual R2 on Hugging Face under Apache 2.0, with fewer than 100 million parameters, a 32K-token context length, and top same-scale retrieval performance on MTEB according to the post.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the 32K-context, sub-100M multilingual embedding model gives RAG builders a concrete open-source option. Impact is narrower than a frontier-model release, so it sits at the featured threshold.

May 12Tuesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Thinking Machines Releases Native Multimodal Interaction Model for Real-Time Human-AI Collaboration

Thinking Machines released an interaction model that natively receives audio, video, and text input, processes foreground interaction at 200-millisecond intervals, and uses a background reasoning model for long-horizon planning and tool calls.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is more than a model notice, with a two-layer foreground/background interaction design. Pricing, access scope, and benchmarks are missing, so it sits at the lower end of 85-94.

May 11Monday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

AntLingAGI Releases Trillion-Parameter Ring-2.6-1T Model

AntLingAGI released Ring-2.6-1T, a trillion-parameter thinking model available for free on OpenRouter until May 15, with adjustable thinking intensity, agent-oriented multi-step execution, tool calling, and tasks covering math logic and scientific research.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post is thin: no benchmarks, pricing, architecture, or training details. Treat as a mid-weight model launch on OpenRouter, not a same-day must-write.

May 9Saturday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Baidu releases ERNIE 5.1 with compressed parameters and training cost

Baidu released ERNIE 5.1 with total parameters reduced to about one third of the original scale, active parameters to about one half, and pretraining cost to about 6% of same-scale models; the model is available on the ERNIE platform and Baidu AI Studio.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Baidu ERNIE 5.1 is a domestic flagship-model release with concrete compression and 6% pretraining-cost claims. That puts it in the must-write band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

ERNIE 5.1 Released With Pretraining Cost at 6% of Comparable Models

Baidu released ERNIE 5.1, saying it builds on ERNIE 5.0 pretraining and improves search, reasoning, knowledge QA, creative writing, and agent capabilities, with pretraining cost at about 6% of comparable models.

Why it matters: Baidu released ERNIE 5.1 with a concrete “6% of reference pretraining cost” claim. HKR-H/K/R all pass, with a domestic flagship-model bump, but sparse technical detail keeps it below the 90s.

May 7Thursday

OpenAI News

Advancing Voice Intelligence with New Models in the API

OpenAI introduced new realtime voice models in its API for voice intelligence. The RSS snippet says they reason, translate, and transcribe speech; the post does not disclose counts, pricing, or limits.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s official voice API update hits HKR-H/K/R, but the available body gives capability direction only. Model count, pricing, latency, and context limits are not disclosed, so it stays at the top of 78–84.

May 5Tuesday

r/LocalLLaMA

Heretic 1.3 Released: Reproducible Models, Integrated Benchmarks, Lower Peak VRAM

Heretic 1.3 adds reproducible runs, integrated benchmarks, lower peak VRAM, and broader model support. The project claims 20,000 GitHub stars and 13 million model downloads. Reproduce directories capture PyTorch, GPU, driver, and accelerator details; benchmarks use lm-evaluation-harness for MMLU, EQ-Bench, GSM8K, and HellaSwag. The post names Qwen3.5 and Gemma 4 support, but does not disclose VRAM reduction figures.

Why it matters: HKR-K/R pass: 20k stars, 13M downloads, reproducibility metadata, and eval harness are concrete. HKR-H fails and VRAM reduction lacks numbers, so this sits at the featured threshold.

Apr 29Wednesday

r/LocalLLaMA

mistralai/Mistral-Medium-3.5-128B · Hugging Face

Mistral AI released Mistral Medium 3.5 128B on Hugging Face, with 128B dense parameters and a 256k context window. It supports text and image input, function calls, JSON output, and a Modified MIT License with exceptions for high-revenue firms. Reasoning effort is configurable as none or high per request.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass for a major Mistral model release with concrete specs. It stays at 84 because benchmarks, pricing, and reproducible tests are not disclosed in the body.

Apr 25Saturday

MIT Technology Review · AI

Three reasons why DeepSeek’s new model matters

DeepSeek released a V4 preview with two versions: V4-Pro and V4-Flash. V4-Pro costs $1.74/M input tokens and $3.48/M output tokens; V4-Flash is about $0.14/$0.28, and both support 1M-token context. The key point is attention efficiency and open weights pressuring agentic coding costs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek V4 is a domestic flagship release with 1M context, two price tiers, and open-weight cost pressure. The preview status keeps it below a full GPT/Claude major release, but it is same-day material.

Bloomberg Technology

China’s DeepSeek Unveils New Model a Year After Shock Launch

DeepSeek unveiled a new flagship AI model about one year after its open-source release jolted Silicon Valley. The title and RSS snippet confirm that timing; the post does not disclose the model name, size, pricing, benchmarks, or release terms. The key thing to watch is the missing launch detail, not the comeback framing.

Why it matters: A new DeepSeek flagship is newsworthy: HKR-H comes from the 'one year after the shock launch' hook, and HKR-R from the open-source and pricing rivalry it triggers. HKR-K fails because no model name, params, pricing, or benchmarks are disclosed, so this sits at the low end of the

Apr 24Friday

Bloomberg Technology

DeepSeek unveils flagship AI model a year after breakthrough

DeepSeek released preview versions of a new flagship AI model one year after its breakout. The RSS snippet calls it its most powerful open-source platform and frames it against OpenAI and Anthropic; the post does not disclose parameters, context length, benchmarks, or rollout timing. The actionable facts so far are limited to its preview status and open-source positioning.

Why it matters: A new DeepSeek flagship preview deserves real weight under the domestic-flagship rule, and Bloomberg adds source authority. HKR-H and HKR-R pass, but HKR-K fails because the story discloses no specs, context window, benchmarks, or release schedule, so this stays at the low end of

X · @dotey

DeepSeek releases and open-sources V4 preview; 1M context is standard across all services

DeepSeek released and open-sourced the V4 preview, making 1M context standard across all official services with no tier or price split. The post says V4-Pro and V4-Flash use token compression plus DSA sparse attention to cut compute and memory costs for 1M context; legacy APIs remain for 3 months and stop after July 24.

Why it matters: DeepSeek is a flagship Chinese model vendor, and this V4 preview is a substantive release with open source and 1M context made standard across official services. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post includes mechanisms and a migration deadline, and the tier reset makes it a same-day P1.

Apr 23Thursday

Bloomberg Technology

Tencent unveils a major AI foundation model upgrade, testing its new OpenAI hire

Tencent announced a major upgrade to its AI foundation model. It is the company's first high-stakes AI test since hiring a top OpenAI researcher. The post does not disclose the model name, parameter count, benchmarks, or launch timing.

Why it matters: Bloomberg provides source authority, and the framing is strong: Tencent's model release is presented as the first test of its OpenAI hire, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. HKR-K fails because the story does not disclose the model name, size, benchmarks, or launch timing, keeping it at a

Apr 21Tuesday

Latent Space

Moonshot Kimi K2.6 open-weight model refresh aims to catch Opus 4.6

Moonshot released Kimi K2.6, a 1T-parameter MoE with 32B active and 256K context. The post cites 58.6 on SWE-Bench Pro, 4,000+ tool calls, 12+ hour runs, and 300 parallel sub-agents. The key signal is long-horizon agent execution, not only open-model scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Kimi K2.6 has a strong race narrative, concrete model and agent metrics, and direct relevance to open-model builders. The domestic flagship release signal lifts it into P1.