Skip to content

Model releases

New models, open releases and updates: flagship launches, open weights, and price and performance changes as they happen.

Latest picks

61–80 of 89

Apr 21Tuesday

Latent Space

Moonshot Kimi K2.6 open-weight model refresh aims to catch Opus 4.6

Moonshot released Kimi K2.6, a 1T-parameter MoE with 32B active and 256K context. The post cites 58.6 on SWE-Bench Pro, 4,000+ tool calls, 12+ hour runs, and 300 parallel sub-agents. The key signal is long-horizon agent execution, not only open-model scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Kimi K2.6 has a strong race narrative, concrete model and agent metrics, and direct relevance to open-model builders. The domestic flagship release signal lifts it into P1.

Apr 20Monday

QbitAI · WeChat

Sudo, valued above $2 billion, unveils embodied model Sudo R1 with zero real-robot data and ~98% first-try grasp success

Sudo unveiled embodied model Sudo R1 and says it achieved about 98% first-try grasp success in 200+ zero-shot tests with zero real-robot training data, nearing 100% within two attempts. The post says the 60-minute run covered 100+ unseen objects, including transparent, metallic, soft, and reflective items, using integrated world-model and reinforcement-learning training on a high-fidelity simulator. It also says Sudo is valued above $2 billion and is working with CATL, but the post does not disclose round size, benchmark protocol, or third-party validation.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the zero-real-data, zero-shot, 98% claim is novel and concrete, and it hits robotics' data-cost nerve. Kept below 85 because the metrics are self-reported; funding amount, benchmark definition, and third-party validation are not disclosed.

Apr 16Thursday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Anthropic plans to release its Mythos model to UK banking institutions next week

Anthropic PBC plans to grant UK financial institutions early access to its Mythos model within the next week. The mechanism is the “Glass Wing” program for selected institutions; Anthropic says the model can identify and potentially exploit cybersecurity flaws, while the post does not disclose specs, pricing, or customer count. The key signal is controlled access, not a broad launch.

Google DeepMind

Google DeepMind releases Gemini 3.1 Flash TTS

Google DeepMind released Gemini 3.1 Flash TTS, a text-to-speech model built around controllability and expressiveness. It is in preview on the Gemini API, Google AI Studio, Vertex AI and Google Vids.

Why it matters: The post covers the new model's audio-tag controls, Elo scores and preview entry points, so you can judge how controllable speech generation has become.

Apr 13Monday

Google DeepMind

Google DeepMind releases Gemini Robotics-ER 1.6

Google DeepMind released Gemini Robotics-ER 1.6, an upgrade to its reasoning-first robotics model. It strengthens spatial reasoning and multi-view understanding, and adds gauge-reading ability.

Why it matters: The post details the new model's changes in spatial reasoning, multi-view understanding and gauge reading, plus where it is available, so you can judge progress in high-level robot reasoning.

Apr 9Thursday

QbitAI · WeChat

Beyond MoE, Tencent introduces MoT: a 2B embodied model ranks first in 16 of 22 evaluations

Tencent Hunyuan and Robotics X released HY-Embodied-0.5; its MoT-2B uses 4B total params with 2B active and ranks first in 16 of 22 embodied evaluations. The post says it uses 100M+ embodied data, 600B+ pretraining tokens, 30M+ mid-training samples, plus visual latent tokens, bidirectional attention, RFT, RL, and online distillation. The key point is a rebuilt edge-oriented embodied stack, not a simple VLM fine-tune.

Why it matters: Strong on HKR-H/K/R: the headline has a real hook, the body includes concrete numbers and training mechanisms, and the edge-robotics angle lands with practitioners. I keep it at 83, not 85+, because this is a high-quality embodied-model release, not a broad same-day industry-def

X · @op7418

Meta releases Muse Spark model

Meta released the Muse Spark model with native multimodal reasoning, tool use, visual chain-of-thought, and multi-agent orchestration, but it is only available in the Meta AI app and is not open source for now. The snippet says its Contemplating mode coordinates multiple parallel agents for reasoning, and its Artificial Analysis score is below Gemini 3.1 Pro, GPT-5.4, and Claude Opus 4.6. The post does not disclose model size, pricing, or rollout timing.

Why it matters: A major-lab model launch plus the “poached team’s first output” angle lands HKR-H/K/R. The score stays near the featured floor because the post offers capability claims and relative benchmark placement only; params, pricing, rollout timing, and access scope are not disclosed.

Apr 3Friday

Google DeepMind

Google DeepMind releases the Gemma 4 open model family

Google DeepMind released Gemma 4, which it calls its most intelligent open model yet, aimed at advanced reasoning and agentic workflows under an Apache 2.0 license. The family comes in four sizes: E2B, E4B, 26B MoE and 31B Dense. The 31B ranks 3rd among open models on the Arena AI text leaderboard, and the 26B ranks 6th.

Why it matters: Gemma 4 is Apache 2.0 and spans four sizes from on-device to workstation, so you can weigh deployment and fine-tuning options for open models.

Mar 24Tuesday

Mistral AI

Mistral AI releases Voxtral TTS, a 4B-parameter speech model

Mistral AI released Voxtral TTS, its first text-to-speech model. It has 4B parameters and supports nine languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Dutch, Portuguese, Italian, Hindi and Arabic. It handles emotional expression and zero-shot cross-lingual voice adaptation.

Why it matters: The 4B size, nine languages, 70ms latency and pricing give readers a basis for judging cost and model choice in enterprise voice agents.

Mar 17Tuesday

Mistral AI

Mistral releases Mistral Small 4, unifying reasoning, multimodal and coding

Mistral AI released Mistral Small 4, the first Mistral model to unify Magistral reasoning, Pixtral multimodal and Devstral coding-agent abilities in a single model. It ships under the Apache 2.0 license.

Why it matters: Merging reasoning, multimodal and coding agents into one open model is a direct test of what unified models do to deployment cost.

Feb 10Tuesday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Alibaba Qwen launches the new image generation foundation model Qwen-Image-2.0

Alibaba Qwen announced Qwen-Image-2.0, an image generation foundation model, and opened API invite testing on Alibaba Cloud Bailian. Developers can also try it for free in Qwen Chat; the post does not disclose model size, pricing, eval results, or a general release date.

Feb 6Friday

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI launches new agentic coding model minutes after Anthropic releases its own

OpenAI launched an agentic coding model minutes after Anthropic released a similar one, and the model is meant to accelerate Codex, which OpenAI launched earlier this week. The RSS snippet gives only the timing and purpose; the post does not disclose the model name, benchmarks, pricing, context length, or availability. The signal is direct competition in agentic coding, not a substantiated performance claim.

Why it matters: Major-lab product news plus a minutes-apart Anthropic clash gives this HKR-H and HKR-R. The score stays in the low featured band because HKR-K is weak: the post lacks the model name, benchmarks, price, context window, and availability.

Feb 5Thursday

Mistral AI

Mistral releases Voxtral Transcribe 2 speech-to-text model family

Mistral released Voxtral Transcribe 2, a family of two speech-to-text models: Voxtral Mini Transcribe V2 for batch transcription and Voxtral Realtime for live use.

Why it matters: The post gives latency, pricing and open-source licensing for both transcription models, enough to judge the options for real-time voice applications.

Jan 6Tuesday

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA unveils new open models, data and tools across agents, robotics, AVs and biomedicine

NVIDIA released open models, datasets and training tools spanning Nemotron, Cosmos, Alpamayo, Isaac GR00T and Clara, plus 10T language tokens, 500K robotics trajectories, 455K protein structures and 100TB of vehicle sensor data. Newly disclosed items include Nemotron Speech/RAG/Safety, Cosmos Reason 2, Transfer 2.5, Predict 2.5, GR00T N1.6 and Alpamayo 1; the key signal is that NVIDIA is opening the data stack across agents, physical AI, AVs and biomedicine.

Dec 17, 2025Wednesday

Mistral AI

Mistral releases OCR 3 with better forms and handwriting, plus Document AI Playground

Mistral released Mistral OCR 3, which wins 74% of head-to-head comparisons against Mistral OCR 2 on forms, scanned documents, complex tables and handwriting. Mistral says its accuracy beats enterprise document-processing tools and AI-native OCR options.

Why it matters: Mistral OCR 3's upgrades on forms, handwriting and complex tables, plus its $2 per 1,000 pages pricing, are useful when evaluating document parsing options.

Dec 9, 2025Tuesday

Mistral AI

Mistral releases Devstral 2 coding models and the Mistral Vibe CLI

Mistral AI released the Devstral 2 coding model family: the 123B Devstral 2 and the 24B Devstral Small 2, under a modified MIT license and Apache 2.0 respectively. Both are open source.

Why it matters: The post gives Devstral 2's SWE-bench scores, open-source licenses and deployment requirements, enough to judge the cost of running open coding models.

Dec 3, 2025Wednesday

Mistral AI

Mistral releases the Mistral 3 family, including 675B-parameter Mistral Large 3

Mistral AI released the Mistral 3 family: three dense models at 14B, 8B and 3B, plus Mistral Large 3, which uses a sparse MoE architecture with 41B active and 675B total parameters. All are open-sourced under Apache 2.0.

Why it matters: Mistral 3 ships an Apache 2.0 family from 3B to 675B in one release, a useful read on where open weights now stand for on-device and frontier capability.

Aug 7, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing GPT-5

OpenAI launched GPT-5 on August 7, 2025 and made it available to all ChatGPT users. The system combines a base model, GPT-5 thinking, and a real-time router; Plus gets higher limits, while Pro gets GPT-5 pro. The key change is unified routing with built-in reasoning; the post does not disclose pricing, context window, or API specifics.

Why it matters: An OpenAI frontier-model launch is a top-band event on its own. The excerpt confirms a unified system (base model + GPT-5 thinking + router) and rollout to all ChatGPT users; HKR-H/K/R all pass, and missing price/context/API details do not block p1.

Aug 5, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Open Weights and AI for All

OpenAI said on August 5, 2025 it released its “most capable open-weight reasoning models” and will route them through OpenAI for Countries and its nonprofit grantee programs. The post confirms on-prem deployment and support for data-residency and security-constrained use cases, but does not disclose model names, parameter sizes, licenses, or benchmark results. The key missing piece is distribution detail, not the open-weight claim itself.

Why it matters: OpenAI shipping open-weights reasoning models clears HKR-H/K/R on novelty, a concrete deployment fact, and strategic resonance. Held at 86, not higher, because the post withholds the model name, size, license, and benchmark scores.

OpenAI News

Introducing gpt-oss

OpenAI released gpt-oss-120b and gpt-oss-20b under Apache 2.0, with the 120B model running on one 80GB GPU and the 20B model on devices with 16GB memory. Both are MoE Transformers with 117B and 21B total parameters, 5.1B and 3.6B active params per token, 128k context, and support for the Responses API and Structured Outputs. The part that matters is the lower deployment bar plus open weights; the post excerpt claims strong reasoning, but full benchmark scores are not disclosed here.

Why it matters: Same-day write. OpenAI moving into Apache 2.0 open weights is a strategy story, not a routine update; HKR-H lands on the unexpected move, HKR-K on concrete deployment specs, and HKR-R on cost and open-vs-closed debates. Not 95+ because the excerpt does not disclose full benchmark