Skip to content

AI coding

Everything about AI writing code: coding assistants, vibe coding, code model evals and new developer workflows.

1,196 picksRelated topicsAgentsCursorTutorials

Latest picks

821–840 of 1,196

May 20Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Microsoft reportedly warns internally that GitHub faces existential risk as AI coding tools reduce hosting need

Microsoft internally warned that GitHub faces an existential risk from AI coding assistants such as Cursor and Claude Code, and told some teams to stop using Claude Code by the end of June 2026 and move to GitHub Copilot CLI.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle is sharp, the summary gives a Claude Code-to-Copilot CLI deadline, and the workflow stakes are real. Single-source “reported” framing and no Microsoft response keep it below the 85 must-write band.

Bloomberg Technology

SpaceX Is Planning to Buy Startup Cursor 30 Days After IPO

SpaceX plans to acquire AI coding startup Cursor 30 days after Elon Musk’s company begins public trading; the post does not disclose the deal price, IPO timeline, or regulatory conditions.

Why it matters: Bloomberg sourcing plus the odd SpaceX-after-IPO Cursor deal clears HKR-H/K/R. Price, IPO timing, and regulatory conditions are not disclosed, so it stays below the 85 P1 line.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Claude Code’s HTML Output: The Unreasonable Effectiveness of HTML

The Claude Code team is shifting its primary output format from Markdown to HTML, and the post names four mechanisms: tables, CSS styling, SVG charts, and JavaScript interactions.

Why it matters: Official Claude Code post with a concrete shift from Markdown to HTML and 4 output mechanisms; strong practitioner utility, but not a major product launch, so it sits in the featured threshold band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Empirical Research Assistant ERA: From Nature Publication to Computational Discovery

Google Research published its Gemini-based Empirical Research Assistant in Nature and opened early access through the Google Labs trusted tester program.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google moves Gemini-based ERA from a Nature paper to a Labs trusted-tester trial. Score stays at 78 because the provided text lacks metrics, benchmark setup, or reproducible workflow details.

Hacker News front page

Gemini CLI will stop working from June 18, 2026

Google Developers Blog says Gemini CLI will stop working on June 18, 2026, and the post title points to a transition to Antigravity CLI; the RSS snippet only includes the article URL, Hacker News comments URL, 36 points, and 10 comments, and it does not disclose migration steps, compatibility details, or replacement behavior.

Why it matters: Google’s developer blog gives a Gemini CLI shutdown date and migration target, clearing HKR-H/K/R. Detail is thin beyond the deadline, so it stays in the low featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Gemini 3.5 Series Launches With Stronger Agent and Coding Performance

Google AI launched the Gemini 3.5 series with Gemini 3.5 Flash first, stating it targets agent and coding performance; the post does not disclose parameters, pricing, benchmark scores, or context window size.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google’s Gemini 3.5 series is a first-tier model update. Sparse details on price, context, and benchmarks keep it at the low end of the must-write band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Gemini 3.5 Flash launches with stronger performance and speed

Google opened Gemini 3.5 Flash after Google I/O across its products and API; the post says it outperforms Gemini 3.1 Pro on most benchmarks and generates tokens 4x faster than other frontier models.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Sundar Pichai announced Gemini 3.5 Flash with product/API access and a 4x token-speed claim. This is same-day model-release signal, though price, context window, and full evals are not disclosed.

TechCrunch · AI

With Gemini 3.5 Flash, Google bets its next AI wave on agents, not chatbots

Google launched Gemini 3.5 Flash at its annual developer conference, describing it as its strongest coding and agentic AI model yet; the RSS snippet says it can autonomously execute complex tasks and build software from scratch, but the post does not disclose parameters, pricing, or context window.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a Google model release with an agent-first and code-building claim is same-day material. Missing parameters, pricing, and context window keep it at the low end of the must-write band.

The Verge · AI

Google wants to compete with Anthropic’s Mythos

Google invited select experts at I/O to test the CodeMender API, an AI agent for code security that flags and fixes vulnerabilities; the RSS snippet does not disclose launch timing, pricing, benchmark results, or concrete details about Anthropic’s Claude Mythos Preview.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post only confirms closed expert testing and the flag/fix mechanism; availability, pricing, and eval results are not disclosed, so this stays at the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google releases Gemini 3.5 Flash for complex agent workflows

Google introduced Gemini 3.5 Flash at Google I/O for long-running agent workflows; it outscored 3.1 Pro on Terminal-Bench and MCP Atlas, runs up to 4x faster than other frontier models, and reaches up to 12x speed gains in Google Antigravity.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google launched Gemini 3.5 Flash for long-horizon agents with benchmark and speed claims. This is a same-day major model update, below industry-shaking tier.

The Verge · AI

Google can now vibe-code you an Android app

Google upgraded AI Studio today to build native Android apps from prompts, with an embedded Android emulator for preview and device connection for installation; the initial release focuses on personal utility apps, and tester invites are planned but not yet available.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google AI Studio now generates installable native Android prototypes with emulator preview and device install. Scope stays limited to personal utility apps, so this is a mid-weight product update, not P1.

TechCrunch · AI

Agentic app coding gets an upgrade with Google’s release of Android CLI

Google released Android CLI for AI coding agents, letting platforms such as Claude Code and OpenAI Codex build Android apps from the command line; the RSS snippet does not disclose version numbers, release timelines, pricing, or performance data.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body lacks version, timeline, and performance data. Google plus Android plus agentic coding clears the featured line, not the must-write band.

TechCrunch · AI

Google’s AI Studio now lets anyone build Android apps in minutes

Google unveiled web-based AI tools in AI Studio that generate native Android apps in minutes. The RSS snippet does not disclose the model, pricing, availability, or supported development constraints.

Why it matters: Google AI Studio’s coding update clears HKR-H/K/R with a strong speed hook and a concrete capability. Model, pricing, and rollout are not disclosed, so it stays at the featured threshold for a mid-weight product update.

TechCrunch · AI

Google launches Antigravity 2.0 with updated desktop app and CLI tool at I/O 2026

Google launched Antigravity 2.0 with an updated desktop app and CLI tool, and introduced a $100 AI Ultra plan that gives users 5x the usage limit of AI Pro; the post does not disclose the desktop app or CLI feature details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass, but the post does not disclose concrete desktop or CLI capabilities, so it stays below 78. Google I/O plus the $100 plan and 5x quota clear the featured bar.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google AI Ultra plan gets a price cut and a new tier

Google cut the top AI Ultra plan from $250 to $200 per month and added a $100 monthly tier with 5x the Gemini app usage limit of Pro, 20TB of storage, early access to new features, and YouTube Premium under stated terms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is subscription pricing and quota packaging, not a model or capability launch. Official source and concrete prices put it at the featured threshold.

r/LocalLLaMA

Public repository Codegraph claims 94% fewer Claude, Cursor, Codex, and OpenCode tool calls locally

Codegraph uses a pre-indexed knowledge graph for symbol relationships, call graphs, and code structure. In the VS Code test, it reduced tool calls from 52 to 3 and runtime from 1m37s to 17s.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass, but evidence is a Reddit/public-repo self-test without independent replication. The 94% reduction and 52→3 call count clear featured, not p1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Gemini 3.5 launches with frontier intelligence and real-world action

Google DeepMind introduced Gemini 3.5 with 3.5 Flash as the first release; the post says it is the company’s strongest model for agents and coding, but does not disclose parameters, pricing, or context window.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass because Google DeepMind shipped a major Gemini 3.5 update with 3.5 Flash first and agent/coding claims. Missing price, parameters, and context window keep it mid-85–94, not higher.

r/LocalLLaMA

Cursor and Claude Code Are Not Getting Dumber; Agent Loops Are Suffocating Context

A Reddit user says an API-log audit showed Cursor and Claude Code recursively grep about 40 files in 10k-plus-line repositories, sometimes load 2k-line files for 5-line edits, and spend roughly 30k tokens on tool definitions and logs before generating code.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is contrarian, the API-log numbers are concrete, and coding-agent context waste is a live practitioner pain. Reddit single-post sourcing and no shared logs keep it at the featured threshold.

May 19Tuesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

I really want to praise HTML!

The author used Claude Code to generate a single-file HTML project plan page in 2 minutes, with a dark theme, timeline, and collapsible tables; the comparable Notion template previously took 30-40 minutes.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post has a concrete Claude Code workflow hook, a 2-minute vs 30-40-minute comparison, and clear practitioner resonance. Scope is small, so it sits at the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Kimi's Latest Funding Adds State Capital and Central SOEs, Valuation Quadruples in Six Months

Moonshot AI’s Kimi is raising $2 billion, with Guozhitou and China Mobile added to the shareholder list; in January and February, Kimi completed three funding rounds totaling more than $3.9 billion.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Kimi is a top Chinese model player, with a reported $2B raise, 4x valuation jump, and Guozhitou/China Mobile entering. Because the round is still in progress, it stays below a completed major launch or IPO.