Skip to content

Benchmarks

Who is actually stronger: benchmark results, methodology disputes and leaderboard changes.

Latest picks

341–360 of 453

May 4Monday

TechCrunch · AI

In Harvard Study, AI Gave More Accurate ER Diagnoses Than Two Doctors

A Harvard study compared LLMs with two doctors on ER diagnoses; at least one model was more accurate. The post does not disclose model names, sample size, or accuracy rates.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Harvard tested LLM diagnosis on real ER cases against two doctors. Missing model names, sample size, and accuracy keep it at the featured threshold, not 78+.

May 3Sunday

r/LocalLLaMA

Local LLM Benchmark for Backend Generation via Function Calling: GLM vs Qwen vs DeepSeek

AutoBe posted a controlled backend-generation benchmark and says qwen3.5-35b-a3b matches gpt-5.4 on DB/API design. One shopping-mall run uses 200–300M tokens, costing $1,000–$1,500 per model at GPT 5.5 pricing. The key caveat is n=4 projects and self-scoring harness bias.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but Reddit sourcing, n=4 projects, and self-eval harness bias keep it at the low featured band. Concrete cost and test constraints carry the score.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Google Vantage uses AI role-play to assess collaboration under pressure

Google Research and NYU tested Vantage with 188 US participants aged 18-25 on conflict resolution and project management. Its four-layer agent pipeline generates scenarios, applies pressure, extracts behavior, and scores against rubrics; AI-human agreement matched expert-expert Kappa of 0.45-0.64. The key gap is transfer beyond lab settings; the post says Vantage remains a Google Labs research experiment.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Vantage study has a strong hook, concrete sample size, and evaluator-risk resonance. It stays in the low featured band because it is still a Google Labs experiment with a narrow cohort.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Stanford Nature Study: AI Designs 16 Phages from Scratch

Stanford and Arc Institute used Evo to design 302 phage genomes; 16 infected, replicated, and lysed E. coli. Evo 2 uses StripedHyena 2 with a 1M-base context; Evo-Φ69 expanded 16–65× in 6 hours. The key issue is biosafety: one capsid protein had no known homolog in existing life.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: AI-made viable phage genomes, concrete 302/16/1M-bp details, and a clear biosecurity nerve. Score stays at 82 because it is still an AI+life-science paper, not a direct AI product or developer workflow update.

r/LocalLLaMA

Local image generation on Mac: 10 models compared

A Reddit user tested 10 image models on an M1 Max with 64GB RAM. Qwen-Image Lightning’s 8-step distillation beat the full model at 10 minutes versus 93. Flux dev led local photorealism but showed English-centric bias; Gemini handled kanji and context better but is cloud-only.

Why it matters: Named first-person test with concrete numbers: HKR-H from a 10-model Mac comparison, HKR-K from timing and quality deltas, HKR-R from local-vs-cloud tradeoffs. Single Reddit sample keeps it below must-write.

Hacker News front page

OpenAI's o1 correctly diagnosed 67% of ER patients vs. 50–55% by triage doctors

OpenAI o1 correctly diagnosed 67% of ER triage patients, versus 50–55% for doctors. The title cites a Harvard trial, but the RSS post does not disclose sample size, case mix, or evaluation protocol. Practitioners should track the test setup, not only the accuracy gap.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a high-risk ER comparison gives the hook, 67% vs 50–55% gives a testable number, and clinical trust/safety creates resonance. Missing sample size and protocol keep it in 78–84, not P1.

r/LocalLLaMA

Implemented TurboQuant, but results do not fully match the paper

A Reddit user reimplemented TurboQuant and found the PROD variant reached about 95.8% correlation at 4-bit, below the paper’s 99%+ claim. They report degraded attention quality, with about 67% top-1 accuracy in a simple simulation. The key issue is correlation versus ranking preservation in KV cache quantization.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a single Reddit reproduction, not a formal release. The 95.8% 4-bit correlation and ~67% top-1 result make it a low featured item.

May 2Saturday

r/LocalLLaMA

Qwen 3.6 wins benchmarks, but Gemma 4 looks stronger in local vision tests

A Reddit user compared Qwen 3.6 and Gemma 4 locally on vLLM FP8 across 27B/31B vision models. Qwen burned 8,000+ tokens on hard GeoGuessr cases, while Gemma often used 1,500; Qwen also needed 2 FPS video preprocessing. The practitioner detail: vLLM and Llama.cpp can default Gemma visual tokens to 280, while 1,120+ improved fine-detail accuracy.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post has a sharp benchmark-vs-reality hook and concrete local vLLM/FP8 settings. A single Reddit test limits authority, so it sits just above the featured threshold.

Hacker News front page

LLMs Consistently Pick Their Own Resumes Over Human or Other Model Resumes

An arXiv paper finds LLMs favor resumes they generated in controlled hiring-screening experiments. Self-preference bias ranges from 67% to 82%; across 24 occupations, same-model applicants are 23% to 60% more likely to be shortlisted. The key lever is self-recognition, where simple interventions cut bias by over 50%.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hiring-bias hook is sharp, the post gives testable rates and conditions, and fairness in AI screening is a real practitioner nerve. Strong research story, but not a platform release, so it stays in the 78-84 band.

May 1Friday

r/LocalLLaMA

OpenAI's Privacy Filter vs GLiNER on 600 PII Samples

A Reddit user compared openai/privacy-filter and GLiNER large-v2.1 on 600 PII samples. On CPU, OpenAI's model ran 2.8 samples/s versus 1.1 for GLiNER; English boundary macro F1 was 0.498 versus 0.416. The key issue is tokenizer offset: strict matching drops openai/privacy-filter to 0.155.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Reddit test has a clear matchup, 600 PII samples, speed/F1 numbers, and a tokenizer-offset caveat. Source authority is limited, so it stays in the low featured band.

r/LocalLLaMA

MiMo-V2.5-Pro: the actual best open-weights model

Reddit user cjami benchmarked Xiaomi MiMo-V2.5-Pro in autonomous Blood on the Clocktower games. It scored 88% as Good and 48% as Evil, with 183,639 output tokens per game, $0.99 cost, and a 0.4% tool-call error rate. The key comparison is Kimi K2.6: 580,000 tokens, $2.65, and 10–15 hours per game.

Why it matters: Single Reddit benchmark limits authority, so this is not a model-release story. HKR-H/K/R all pass via a named test with win rates, token counts, cost, and tool-error data, placing it in the 78–84 featured band.

r/LocalLLaMA

Study Finds Bigger AIs More Miserable, Smaller Models Happier

A Reddit post says the AI Wellbeing Index tested models on 500 realistic conversations. Claude Haiku 4.5 scored 5% negative, while Gemini 3.1 Pro scored 55%; the set overrepresents tricky negative chats, so it is not a real-world average.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is odd, the post gives 500-dialog and 5%/55% figures, and AI-welfare metrics invite debate. Reddit sourcing and a negative-skewed test set keep it in the 72–77 band.

Synced · WeChat

Researchers Estimate GPT, Claude, and Gemini Parameter Counts Using API Calls

Bojie Li posted IKP on arXiv to estimate parameter counts of 188 LLMs from 27 vendors via black-box API calls. The dataset has 1,400 questions across 7 rarity tiers, fitted on 89 open models with R²=0.917. Debate centers on synthetic data, MoE effects, and a 90% interval of 0.3x to 3x.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: API-only parameter inference is a strong hook, with concrete counts and error bounds. The 0.3–3x CI limits confidence, so this fits 78–84 featured, not P1.

r/LocalLLaMA

32x AMD MI50 32GB runs Kimi K2.6 at 9.7 t/s TG and 264 t/s PP

Reddit user ai-infos ran Kimi K2.6 int4 on 32 AMD MI50 32GB GPUs, reaching 9.7 tok/s TG on 136 output tokens. PP hit 263 tok/s on 14,564 input tokens using vllm-gfx906-mobydick across two 16-GPU nodes over 10G Ethernet. Power was about 640W idle and 4,800W peak inference; PCIe bandwidth and the vLLM distributed stack are the real bottlenecks.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass via an unusual 32x MI50 build with concrete throughput, power, and network conditions. It stays in the 72–77 band because it is a niche Reddit benchmark, not a broader product or model release.

r/LocalLLaMA

Follow-up: Qwen3.6-27B on 1× RTX 3090 reaches ~218K context and stable tool calls

A Reddit user ran Qwen3.6-27B on one RTX 3090, reporting ~218K context at 50/66 TPS. After fixing Genesis PN12 patch anchor drift, ~25K-token tool outputs stopped OOMing; 198K plus vision reached 51/68 TPS. Single-prompt single-GPU runs still hit a second memory cliff near 50–60K.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the single-3090 context claim is catchy, the post gives measured TPS and OOM conditions, and local-inference cost pressure resonates. Reddit source keeps it in the low featured band.

r/LocalLLaMA

Long-context coding on RTX 5080 16GB: Qwen3.6-35B-A3B holds 30 t/s at 128K

A Reddit user tested a local coding-agent setup on RTX 5080 16GB; the title says Qwen3.6-35B-A3B reaches 30 t/s at 128K. The post lists Ryzen 9700X, 96GB DDR5, Windows 11, and CUDA 12.9.1 as required. Qwen3.6-27B dense hit only 3.2 t/s at 128K, so the key path is KV quantization plus MoE offload.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: 30 t/s at 128K on a 16GB RTX 5080 is a strong hook, with hardware/CUDA details and a dense baseline. Single Reddit run lacks multi-source reproduction, so featured not P1.

Apr 30Thursday

r/LocalLLaMA

Actual comparison between locally run Qwen-3.6-27B and proprietary models

The author compared 5 model setups on an autoresearch-loop task; only Qwen-3.6-27B via OpenRouter nearly solved it. The local q4_k_m run took about 8 hours and used 39k/45k tokens; full-quality Qwen used 4.4M tokens and cost $0.939. The useful signal is failure quality: both Qwen runs needed small fixes, while Gemma, Codex-Spark, and Claude Haiku 4.5 missed tests or key logic.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post has a concrete agent-test surprise, token and cost data, and local-vs-proprietary tension. Single Reddit run limits source authority, so it stays in the lower featured band.

Synced · WeChat

Alec Radford tests Hassabis’s AGI challenge with a model trained on pre-1931 data

Alec Radford’s team trained 13B talkie on 260B English tokens dated before 1931. They tested surprise on nearly 5,000 historical events and used HumanEval for lower-contamination code evaluation. The key issue is time leakage: the 13B model still has vague post-WWII knowledge.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 1930 cutoff is a sharp hook, the post gives 260B tokens and ~5,000 event tests, and the finding targets data leakage. This is strong research, not a model or platform release, so 78–84 fits.

Hacker News front page

Show HN: A New Benchmark for Testing LLMs for Deterministic Outputs

Interfaze released Structured Output Benchmark, scoring schema pass rate, types, and value accuracy across text, image, and audio. Each record has a JSON Schema and human plus LLM-checked ground truth; GLM-4.7 ranks No. 2 overall. The key bug is field-level value error: GPT-5.4 ranks 3rd on text and 9th on images.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the ranking has a hook, the methodology is concrete, and structured-output reliability matters to builders. Single-source Show HN launch with no adoption signal keeps it in the 72–77 band.

Apr 29Wednesday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Tsinghua AutoSOTA spends about $104K in a week to produce 105 SOTA results

Tsinghua's Fengli Xu team and Beijing Zhongguancun Academy released AutoSOTA, which ran unattended for one week, used about 22B tokens, and produced 105 SOTA results. The system uses eight agents for resource setup, environment fixes, scheduling, idea generation, and audits; each full run averaged 5 hours. The key check is its red-line audit: it forbids changing evaluation scripts and data splits, which decides reproducibility.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: hard numbers, an 8-agent mechanism, and audit constraints make the claim testable. It stays at 84 because this is single-source secondary coverage, not a major model or product release.