Skip to content

Anthropic / Claude

Everything Anthropic: the Claude models, Claude Code, its safety research agenda and company news.

Latest picks

1181–1200 of 1,304

Apr 22Wednesday

The Verge · AI

Anthropic’s most dangerous AI model just fell into the wrong hands

Anthropic’s Claude Mythos Preview was accessed by a small group of unauthorized users through a contractor’s access plus common internet sleuthing tools. The snippet says the model can identify and exploit flaws in major operating systems and browsers; the post does not disclose the group size, dwell time, or remediation status. The key issue is access control failure, not the headline’s danger framing.

Why it matters: This is a real Anthropic security incident with a concrete access path, so HKR-H/K/R all pass: strong hook, new mechanism, and clear governance resonance. It stays below 85 because user count, exposure window, and remediation status are not disclosed.

Bloomberg Technology

Japan Finance Minister to Meet Banks to Discuss Anthropic Mythos Threat

Japan Finance Minister Satsuki Katayama plans to meet the country’s biggest banks as early as this week to discuss threats tied to Anthropic’s latest AI model, Mythos. The RSS snippet confirms large banks and other financial institutions are included; the post does not disclose Mythos’s capabilities, the risk type, or any regulatory action. The real signal is that Japan may be moving frontier-model risk into formal banking discussions.

Why it matters: Bloomberg gives this a source-authority lift: a Japanese finance minister meeting major banks over a named AI-model threat is a real policy signal, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass. It stays at 72 because HKR-K is thin: the story does not disclose Mythos's capabilities, risk class, timing

Bloomberg Technology

RBA Is Monitoring Anthropic's Mythos AI Over Cyberattack Fears

The Reserve Bank of Australia is monitoring Anthropic's Mythos AI after the model was described as capable of sophisticated cyberattacks. The Bloomberg RSS snippet says Anthropic made that claim; the post does not disclose scope, technical details, or timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: a central bank monitoring an Anthropic model over cyberattack fears is novel and highly discussable. HKR-K is weak because only monitoring and the high-level capability claim are disclosed; methods, scope, and timeline are missing.

Financial Times · Technology

Anthropic investigating unauthorised access to powerful Mythos AI model

Anthropic is investigating unauthorised access to its Mythos AI model. The RSS snippet says it limited the new tool’s release over concerns about hacking ability. What matters is the breach scope and release status; the post does not disclose impacted accounts, capability limits, or timeline.

Why it matters: FT reports Anthropic is investigating unauthorized access to Mythos, and the summary adds a key fact: release was limited over hacking-risk concerns. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the scope, capability boundary, and remediation timeline are undisclosed, so it stays at 84 featured, not

X · @dotey

Anthropic quietly removed Claude Code from the $20 Pro plan on its pricing page without an announcement

Anthropic was spotted removing Claude Code from the $20 Pro plan on its pricing comparison page without an announcement. The snippet says help docs also removed the inclusion, while the Claude Code product page and support bot still say it is included, and some Pro users report access still works; the post does not disclose Anthropic’s formal explanation or effective date. The key issue is price floor: if confirmed, entry cost for Claude Code rises from $20 to $100 per month.

Why it matters: The story matters because it may raise Claude Code’s entry price from $20 to $100, giving it HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R. I keep it in featured, not higher, because Anthropic has not confirmed scope, timing, or treatment of existing Pro users.

Hacker News front page

Anthropic removes Claude Code from the $20/month Pro subscription for new users

Anthropic was reported to remove Claude Code from the $20/month Pro plan for new users, while saying existing Pro and Max subscribers are unaffected. The cited evidence: an April 10 archived help page said “Pro or Max plan,” the current page says “Max plan,” and Amol Avasare said this is a test on about 2% of new prosumer signups. The key issue is whether pricing shifts fully to Max or API billing; the post does not disclose retroactive scope or a final rollout timeline.

Why it matters: This clears all three HKR axes: the rollback is a strong hook, the post adds concrete evidence via help-page changes and a ~2% test, and it hits Claude users' cost and access concerns. Scope is still limited to new-user testing and no formal rollout timeline is disclosed, so it’s

The Verge · AI

SpaceX cuts a deal to maybe buy Cursor for $60 billion

SpaceX announced an either-or deal: buy AI coding platform Cursor for $60 billion or pay a $10 billion fee. The RSS snippet says this could help xAI's coding tools chase Anthropic; the post does not disclose the structure, timing, or IPO linkage. Watch the $10 billion breakup fee, not just the tentative acquisition headline.

Why it matters: All three HKR axes land: the headline has a strong unexpected hook, and the report gives two hard facts — a $60B price and a $10B breakup fee. I keep it at featured, not P1, because only top-line terms are disclosed; structure, timing, and the exact xAI linkage are still undiscol

Bloomberg Technology

Anthropic’s Mythos Model Is Being Accessed by Unauthorized Users

A small group of unauthorized users accessed Anthropic’s new Mythos model, Bloomberg reported, citing a person familiar with the matter and reviewed documents. The snippet says Anthropic considers Mythos powerful enough to enable dangerous cyberattacks; the post does not disclose the user count, access path, time frame, or remediation. The real issue is access control failure, not a normal product launch.

Why it matters: This is a Bloomberg-reported Anthropic safety incident, not routine product news; HKR-H and HKR-R are strong because unauthorized access to a high-risk model is inherently clickable and discussable. HKR-K passes on the new access and risk facts, but user count, access path, and a

Apr 21Tuesday

Ben's Bites

That's My Designer - Claude

Anthropic added a Design tab to Claude that asks 5-10 interactive questions, then builds wireframes or high-fidelity prototypes. The post says image-to-design works well; in research preview it has separate limits, and the $20 plan appears to allow only 2-3 large generations per week. The sharper point is usability: the author says Claude Cowork depends on connectors and plugins that average users may not find.

Why it matters: Anthropic adding a Design tab to Claude is a clear hook for a Claude-heavy audience. The post includes first-hand, testable details—5-10 interaction turns and only 2-3 large generations per week on the $20 plan—so HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is still a single-feature update, not

Synced · WeChat

Sergey Brin revives founder mode? Google forms a strike team to focus on AI coding

Google has formed an AI coding strike team led by Sebastian Borgeaud, with Sergey Brin and Koray Kavukcuoglu directly involved, to improve long-context coding and internal code automation. The pressure signal cited is that Google said about 50% of its code is written by coding agents and reviewed by engineers, while Anthropic staff claimed 100% code use by Claude Code and Opus 4.5; the post does not disclose team size, launch timing, or the exact Google model version. The key issue is whether Google can turn private codebase training into stronger public models.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the founder-return angle is clickable, and the piece includes Google's ~50% agent-written-code claim. It stays below p1 because no public launch is disclosed, and team size, timing, and model version are missing.

X · @dotey

GitHub paused new sign-ups for Copilot Pro, Pro+, and Student on April 20

GitHub paused new sign-ups for Copilot Pro, Pro+, and Student on April 20, leaving only Copilot Free open to new users. The post says Pro+ now has more than 5x Pro usage, Claude Opus 4.7 is limited to Pro+, and users can request cancellation with a full April refund from Apr 20 to May 20. What matters is the price stayed fixed while access, quotas, and model tiers tightened first.

Why it matters: This is not a capability launch; it is a meaningful Copilot packaging clampdown on entry, quotas, and model access. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the unexpected restrictions, concrete tier changes, and direct developer impact, but the source is an X post rather than a primary GitHub note

Financial Times · Technology

Anthropic and Amazon agree $100bn AI infrastructure deal

Anthropic and Amazon agreed a $100bn AI infrastructure deal aimed at expanding chip supply and compute capacity. The RSS snippet says Anthropic moved after outages this year; the post does not disclose term, financing structure, chip source, or delivery scale. The key point is capacity lock-in, not a generic partnership.

Why it matters: FT reports a $100bn AI infrastructure agreement between Anthropic and Amazon, large enough to sit in the must-write-today band. HKR-H lands on the unusual scale, HKR-K on the new figure and outage-driven supply expansion, and HKR-R on compute scarcity plus cloud lock-in for fron​

TechCrunch · AI

Anthropic takes $5B from Amazon and pledges $100B in cloud spending in return

Amazon is investing another $5 billion in Anthropic, and Anthropic has agreed to spend $100 billion on AWS. The RSS snippet discloses the exchange only; the post does not disclose timing, spending term, compute allocation, or contract terms. This is not plain financing but capital tied to cloud procurement.

Why it matters: A $5B Anthropic financing tied to $100B of AWS spend is more than a funding note; it exposes how frontier labs secure compute through capital-linked procurement. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but undisclosed term length and quota keep it in the 85–94 band.

Bloomberg Technology

Amazon to Invest an Additional $5 Billion in Anthropic

Amazon will invest an additional $5 billion in Anthropic, and the deal may allow up to $20 billion more over time. The RSS snippet discloses the amounts and closer ties, but the post does not disclose valuation, equity stake, funding schedule, or cloud-compute terms. The key issue is whether the deal includes exclusivity beyond capital.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports Amazon will add $5B to Anthropic, a same-day funding story with direct cloud and model-ecosystem implications. HKR-H lands on the scale, HKR-K on the new financing number, and HKR-R on compute lock-in plus Anthropic’s strategic independence.

X · @AnthropicAI

Anthropic expands collaboration with Amazon to secure up to 5 gigawatts of compute for Claude

Anthropic expanded its collaboration with Amazon to secure up to 5 gigawatts of compute for training and deploying Claude. Capacity starts coming online this quarter, with nearly 1 gigawatt expected by end-2026; the post does not disclose contract value, chip type, or data center locations.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: 5 GW is a strong hook, the post gives a concrete rollout timeline, and compute supply is a core frontier-lab nerve. I kept it below 85 because price, chip mix, and datacenter locations are not disclosed.

TechCrunch · AI

NSA spies are reportedly using Anthropic's Mythos despite a Pentagon feud

The title says the NSA is using Anthropic's restricted AI model Mythos, based only on a report and an RSS snippet. The post discloses only two facts: Mythos is restricted and the NSA is said to be using it; it does not disclose scope, deployment, contract value, or the mechanics of the Pentagon feud.

Why it matters: The story clears HKR-H/K/R: the headline has a strong conflict hook, the reported new fact is NSA use of Anthropic Mythos, and the defense angle will travel with practitioners. I kept it at 75 because scope, deployment setup, contract size, and the Pentagon-feud mechanism are not

Apr 20Monday

Import AI (Jack Clark)

Import AI 454: Automating alignment research; safety study of a Chinese model; HiFloat4

Import AI 454 covers HiFloat4, Anthropic automated alignment R&D, and a Chinese model safety study. HiFloat4 reached about 1.0% relative BF16 loss on Ascend NPUs, versus MXFP4's about 1.5%. Anthropic's Claude Opus 4.6 AARs used 800 hours and about $18,000 to raise PGR from a 0.23 human baseline to 0.97.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Jack Clark links Anthropic AAR, HiFloat4, and Chinese model safety with hard numbers on cost, PGR, and loss. It is strong research commentary, not the original release, so it fits 78–84.

r/LocalLLaMA

Compared some models for feature planning

A Reddit user tested 9 models on planning a “load tracking” feature for a Go budgeting app, then used Claude Code to rank the generated specs, with Claude Opus 4.6 placed first. The table shows Opus 4.6 produced a 19 KB spec with 44 code reads at $2.47; GLM 5.1 ranked second and Qwen 3.6 35B fp8+vLLM ranked third. Do not treat this as a benchmark: the author says it is not representative, and the post does not disclose any manual quality review yet.

Why it matters: A named first-person test gives real workflow data, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The ceiling stays low: one task only, ranked by Claude Code itself, and no human acceptance result is disclosed, so this lands at the low end of featured.

Synced · WeChat

How to Do Vibe Coding Correctly? A Masterclass from Anthropic's Coding Agent Lead

Anthropic researcher Erik Schluntz said his team merged a 22,000-line production change, mostly written by Claude, cutting work from two weeks to one day. His workflow spends 15-20 minutes on repo exploration and planning, limits edits to leaf nodes, keeps humans on core logic, and validates with long stress tests plus a few E2E tests. The key issue is boundary control, not handing AI the system core; he also said task length AI can handle doubles about every seven months.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is an Anthropic field report with concrete numbers and reproducible workflow rules for production coding agents. It stays at featured, not p1, because it is a strong practitioner lesson rather than a major model or product launch.

Apr 19Sunday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

A Berkeley team built an AI that scores perfectly on SWE-bench while fixing 0 bugs

Berkeley RDI used a roughly 10-line conftest.py exploit to score 100% on all 500 SWE-bench tasks while fixing 0 bugs. The post says its agent broke 8 major agent benchmarks with scores from 73% to 100%, via pytest hook tampering, file:// answer reads, and faulty validators. The real issue is benchmark isolation failure, not stronger models.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the 'perfect score, zero fixes' contradiction; HKR-K lands on the ~10-line pytest exploit, 500 tasks, and 8-benchmark spread; HKR-R lands on eval-trust anxiety for agent builders. Strong featured research, but not a same-day industry event, so below P1.