Skip to content

Anthropic / Claude

Everything Anthropic: the Claude models, Claude Code, its safety research agenda and company news.

Latest picks

1141–1160 of 1,304

Apr 28Tuesday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Claude bans hit 110-person firm; Cursor incident deletes database in 9 seconds

Anthropic allegedly suspended 110 Claude accounts at a US agtech firm, while API billing continued. The post says appeals went unanswered for 36 hours, and PocketOS says Claude Opus 4.6 via Cursor deleted production data and volume backups in 9 seconds. The key issue is access control: no RBAC, no environment isolation, and no delete confirmation.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the incident has a strong hook and concrete details: 110 accounts, 36 hours, 9 seconds, and no RBAC. Kept at 82 because it is still a single-source allegation without an Anthropic postmortem.

r/LocalLLaMA

Local coding models have reached a threshold for real work

Antigma tested 27B–32B open-weight models; Qwen 3.6-27B scored 38.2% on Terminal-Bench 2.0. The run used 89 tasks and the default per-task timeout, while verified SOTA is about 80%. The key claim is deployment lag: offline coding is about 6–8 months behind hosted frontier models.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post gives a real-work threshold claim, a 38.2%/89-task Terminal-Bench result, and a 6–8 month offline gap. Reddit single-post sourcing keeps it in the low featured band.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Agentic Creative Tools: From Photoshop Actions to Claude for Creative Work

Anthropic released 9 creative-tool Connectors for Claude for Creative Work. The post frames agentic creative tools around programmable APIs, connector protocols, and perceptual feedback loops. The post does not disclose the Connector list.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Claude creative agents have a clear hook, 9 connectors add a fact, and creator workflow pressure adds resonance. Missing connector names and access terms keep it below must-write.

Hacker News front page

Claude Pro: Opus Requires Extra Usage in Claude Code

Anthropic lists 6 Claude Code models, and Pro users need extra usage enabled and purchased to use Opus. The guide gives 3 configuration paths: /model, --model, and ANTHROPIC_MODEL in zsh or bash. The post does not disclose extra usage pricing or quotas.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the facts come from a help doc and cover Claude Code access/configuration, not a new model or major capability. Anthropic relevance lifts it to the lower featured band.

Financial Times · Technology

Google staff urge chief executive to block US military AI use

Over 560 Google employees signed an open letter to Sundar Pichai urging a block on US military AI use. The RSS snippet cites the Pentagon-Anthropic clash but does not disclose demands, products, or contract value.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google staff collective action, a concrete 560+ figure, and military-AI ethics. Missing product, contract, and letter terms keep it below the 85+ must-write band.

Apr 27Monday

Dwarkesh Patel podcast

What I've been Thinking About This Weekend: Open Questions, Intelligence vs Power, Verification in Science

Dwarkesh lists open AI questions, including that five hyperscalers own over 70% of global AI compute. He asks about coding agents, KV cache costs, merging training with inference, and online learning; the post gives questions, not experimental answers.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Dwarkesh adds a concrete compute-concentration claim and practitioner-relevant questions. No experiment, release, or policy change, so it stays in the 72–77 commentary band.

Hacker News front page

AI can cost more than human workers now

Axios says some firms now spend more on AI than salaries; Nvidia's Bryan Catanzaro says compute costs exceed employee costs. Gartner forecasts 2026 IT spending at $6.31T, up 13.5%, driven by AI infrastructure, software, and cloud. Watch token costs: Uber's CTO has already exhausted the 2026 AI budget.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the piece turns AI cost anxiety into budget facts, including Nvidia compute costs and Uber’s token-budget issue. It stays in the 72–77 band because this is trend reporting, not a launch or hard news event.

Apr 26Sunday

Hacker News front page

Why SWE-bench Verified No Longer Measures Frontier Coding Capabilities

OpenAI stopped reporting SWE-bench Verified scores and recommends SWE-bench Pro instead. It audited 138 tasks that o3 failed inconsistently across 64 runs and found 59.4% had test or prompt flaws. The key issue is contamination: tested frontier models reproduced some gold patches or task details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI backs the SWE-bench Verified retirement with an audit and contamination evidence, then points to SWE-bench Pro. It affects coding-model evaluation, but it is not a model or major product launch, so it sits in 78–84.

TechCrunch · AI

Anthropic created a test marketplace for agent-on-agent commerce

Anthropic tested Project Deal, an agent marketplace with 69 employees given $100 budgets. The pilot produced 186 deals worth over $4,000 and ran four model setups. Advanced models got better outcomes, but users did not notice the gap.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Anthropic tested agent commerce with concrete counts, budgets, trades, and model-market splits. Score stays at 82 because this is an internal test market, not a public product or model release.

Apr 25Saturday

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Anthropic lets Claude Cowork run rival models, a stranger move than it looks

Anthropic added an April 22–23 Claude Cowork switch for GPT-5.5, Gemini 3.1 Pro, DeepSeek V4, or local models. The post says third-party deployments have no Anthropic seat fee, and Bedrock, Vertex, and gateway prompts stay outside Anthropic. The key fight is runtime and control plane: AWS, Google, and Microsoft bet on Agent Registry, Apigee, and Entra Agent ID.

Why it matters: All three HKR axes pass: the competitor-model switch is a strong hook, and the article gives billing and data-flow details. Capped below P1 because sourcing is unofficial, with no independent benchmark and a small Cowork base.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Anthropic’s Three Experiments in Claude-Run Commerce: From a Fridge to a Market

Anthropic ran 3 Claude commerce experiments in 12 months, spanning a mini-fridge, a multi-agent store, and a 69-person Slack market. Project Deal closed 186 trades; Opus sellers earned $2.68 more than Haiku, while Opus buyers paid $2.45 less. The key signal: weaker-model users did not perceive the loss.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Anthropic’s real-commerce agent tests include transaction counts, model deltas, and failure cases. It is a strong research analysis, not a new model launch, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

TPU vs. CUDA: A Post-Cloud Next 2026 Assessment

Google announced TPU 8t/8i, TorchTPU, and an Anthropic deal at Cloud Next 2026; TPU 8i is slated for H2 2027 volume production. 8i has 288GB HBM, 8.6TB/s bandwidth, and 384MB SRAM; TorchTPU runs PyTorch on TPU, but the post says independent benchmarks are missing. The key crack is vLLM inference, while the author says TPU will not replace NVIDIA within 18-24 months.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: clear TPU-vs-CUDA rivalry, concrete 8i specs and TorchTPU details, and strong NVIDIA cost/supply resonance. No independent benchmark and H2 2027 production keep it in 78–84, not P1.

MIT Technology Review · AI

Three reasons why DeepSeek’s new model matters

DeepSeek released a V4 preview with two versions: V4-Pro and V4-Flash. V4-Pro costs $1.74/M input tokens and $3.48/M output tokens; V4-Flash is about $0.14/$0.28, and both support 1M-token context. The key point is attention efficiency and open weights pressuring agentic coding costs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek V4 is a domestic flagship release with 1M context, two price tiers, and open-weight cost pressure. The preview status keeps it below a full GPT/Claude major release, but it is same-day material.

Hacker News front page

Could a Claude Code routine watch my finances?

Matt May used Claude Code routines with his Driggsby MCP server and Plaid to automate a daily finance email; he says the project took 2 months and about 75k lines of Rust. The post says the Gmail connector can only create drafts, so he added a restricted `email_me()` MCP tool that sends Markdown-only mail to a verified owner address. The practical angle is operability: routine behavior changes via prompt edits, and he already runs alerts on 7-day card anomalies and daily checking outflows over $500.

Why it matters: This is a strong first-person implementation write-up: Claude Code routines + Plaid, Gmail draft-only limits, a constrained email tool, and concrete anomaly rules. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but it is still a single product blog post rather than a lab or platform release, so it lands in

TechCrunch · AI

Google to invest up to $40B in Anthropic in cash and compute

Google plans to invest up to $40B in Anthropic via cash and compute. The RSS snippet says it comes as AI rivals race for massive compute capacity and follows Anthropic’s limited release of the cybersecurity-focused Mythos model; the post does not disclose deal structure, timing, or compute allotment. Watch the compute tie-up, not just the headline dollar figure.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the $40B ceiling is a strong hook, the cash+compute structure is a concrete new fact, and the Google-Anthropic tie-up hits the compute-supply nerve. I keep it below 95 because the body does not disclose deal structure, timing, or compute allocation.

Financial Times · Technology

Google to invest up to $40bn in Anthropic

Google plans to invest up to $40bn in Anthropic to add computing power for running its models. The RSS snippet confirms the funds are tied to compute expansion; the post does not disclose deal structure, timing, valuation, or compute source. The key signal is compute lock-in, not just capital.

Why it matters: FT reports Google plans to invest up to $40bn in Anthropic, and the feed says the money is for compute expansion rather than a routine financial round. HKR-H/K/R all clear; structure, valuation, and timing are still undisclosed, so it lands in must-write territory, not 95+.

X · @AnthropicAI

New Anthropic research: Project Deal

Anthropic announced Project Deal and had Claude buy, sell, and negotiate for employees in a San Francisco office marketplace. The setup is confirmed as an internal marketplace; the post does not disclose scale, model version, or outcome metrics.

Why it matters: This clears featured on HKR-H and HKR-R: Anthropic has attention weight, and an agent negotiating office deals is inherently discussable. It stays mid-band because HKR-K is weak; the post gives the setup, but not sample size, model version, success metrics, or controls.

Bloomberg Technology

Google Plans to Invest up to $40 Billion in Anthropic

Google will invest $10 billion now in Anthropic PBC at a $350 billion valuation. The RSS snippet says Google may invest another $30 billion later; the post does not disclose timing, ownership stake, or deal terms. The key issue is the valuation and trigger for the follow-on tranche, not the headline total alone.

Why it matters: P1: HKR-H/K/R all pass. A possible $40B Google check into Anthropic is a major hook; Bloomberg adds $10B now and a $350B valuation; the tie-up matters for compute and capital access. Kept below 95 because stake, timing, and follow-on terms are undisclosed.

Apr 24Friday

Bloomberg Technology

Google Plans to Invest Up to $40 Billion in Anthropic

Google will invest $10 billion in Anthropic PBC, with up to $30 billion more later, putting the total at as much as $40 billion. The RSS snippet says this will deepen ties between two firms that are both partners and rivals in AI. The post does not disclose the trigger conditions for the extra $30 billion.

Why it matters: This is p1 because HKR-H/K/R all pass: the $40B ceiling is inherently newsy, the $10B+$30B structure is new, and it materially affects Google-Anthropic alignment. The triggers for the extra $30B are not disclosed, so I keep it below the 95+ band.

Hacker News front page

Affirm Retooled Its Engineering Organization for Agentic Software Development in One Week

In February 2026, Affirm paused normal engineering work for one week and asked 800+ engineers to complete a full agentic workflow from ideation to submitted PR; it says over 60% of PRs are now agent-assisted. The post adds that 80%+ of engineers were weekly active users of AI dev tools by December 2025, and a nine-engineer group spent two weeks defining a default workflow around Claude Code, local-first development, and human checkpoints; the captured body does not fully disclose later implementation details or measured outcomes.