Skip to content

Anthropic / Claude

Everything Anthropic: the Claude models, Claude Code, its safety research agenda and company news.

Latest picks

1121–1140 of 1,304

May 1Friday

Synced · WeChat

Researchers Estimate GPT, Claude, and Gemini Parameter Counts Using API Calls

Bojie Li posted IKP on arXiv to estimate parameter counts of 188 LLMs from 27 vendors via black-box API calls. The dataset has 1,400 questions across 7 rarity tiers, fitted on 89 open models with R²=0.917. Debate centers on synthetic data, MoE effects, and a 90% interval of 0.3x to 3x.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: API-only parameter inference is a strong hook, with concrete counts and error bounds. The 0.3–3x CI limits confidence, so this fits 78–84 featured, not P1.

Latent Space

[AINews] Agents for Everything Else: Codex for Knowledge Work, Claude for Creative Work

OpenAI expanded Codex to non-coding work, with CUA reported 42% faster. The update connects Microsoft, Google, and Salesforce, covering docs, slides, spreadsheets, research, and planning. The key signal is GUI-agent productization, not one benchmark score.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Codex moves into non-code GUI work, with a 42% speed claim and named integrations. Price, rollout scope, and reproduction details are not disclosed, so it stays below P1.

TechCrunch · AI

Sources: Anthropic Potential $900B+ Valuation Round Could Happen Within 2 Weeks

Anthropic asked investors to submit allocations for its latest fundraise within 48 hours, at a potential $900B+ valuation. The title says the round could happen within two weeks; the post does not disclose size, terms, or lead investor.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: TechCrunch reports a $900B+ Anthropic valuation, a 48-hour investor deadline, and a 2-week window. Missing size, terms, and lead investor keep it below the top band.

Hacker News front page

Show HN: Pu.sh – a full coding-agent harness in 400 lines of shell

Pu.sh ships a coding-agent harness in about 400 lines of shell, using only sh, curl, and awk. It supports Anthropic and OpenAI, 7 tools, REPL, auto-compaction, checkpoint/resume, pipe mode, and 90 no-API tests. It excludes TUI, streaming, images, OAuth, and Windows.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a small Show HN open-source tool, not a model or platform release. HN frontpage plus a reproducible 400-line implementation clears the featured bar.

r/LocalLLaMA

Long-context coding on RTX 5080 16GB: Qwen3.6-35B-A3B holds 30 t/s at 128K

A Reddit user tested a local coding-agent setup on RTX 5080 16GB; the title says Qwen3.6-35B-A3B reaches 30 t/s at 128K. The post lists Ryzen 9700X, 96GB DDR5, Windows 11, and CUDA 12.9.1 as required. Qwen3.6-27B dense hit only 3.2 t/s at 128K, so the key path is KV quantization plus MoE offload.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: 30 t/s at 128K on a 16GB RTX 5080 is a strong hook, with hardware/CUDA details and a dense baseline. Single Reddit run lacks multi-source reproduction, so featured not P1.

TechCrunch · AI

After Dissing Anthropic for Limiting Mythos, OpenAI Restricts Access to Cyber, Too

OpenAI will first roll out GPT-5.5 Cyber only to “critical cyber defenders.” The RSS snippet does not disclose eligibility rules, pricing, or launch timing. The access-tiering model is the key detail for practitioners.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body is RSS-only: it confirms tiered access for GPT-5.5 Cyber, not criteria, pricing, or timeline. This fits a lower-featured OpenAI safety product update.

Bloomberg Technology

Anthropic Weighs Funding Offers at Over $900 Billion Valuation

Anthropic is weighing a new funding round at a valuation above $900 billion. Bloomberg cites sources; if completed, Anthropic would overtake OpenAI by valuation. The post does not disclose round size, investors, or timing.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports Anthropic is weighing funding offers above a $900B valuation, enough to reorder the top-lab capital race. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the deal is not closed and amount, investors, and timeline are undisclosed.

Apr 30Thursday

r/LocalLLaMA

Actual comparison between locally run Qwen-3.6-27B and proprietary models

The author compared 5 model setups on an autoresearch-loop task; only Qwen-3.6-27B via OpenRouter nearly solved it. The local q4_k_m run took about 8 hours and used 39k/45k tokens; full-quality Qwen used 4.4M tokens and cost $0.939. The useful signal is failure quality: both Qwen runs needed small fixes, while Gemma, Codex-Spark, and Claude Haiku 4.5 missed tests or key logic.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post has a concrete agent-test surprise, token and cost data, and local-vs-proprietary tension. Single Reddit run limits source authority, so it stays in the lower featured band.

Synced · WeChat

Alec Radford tests Hassabis’s AGI challenge with a model trained on pre-1931 data

Alec Radford’s team trained 13B talkie on 260B English tokens dated before 1931. They tested surprise on nearly 5,000 historical events and used HumanEval for lower-contamination code evaluation. The key issue is time leakage: the 13B model still has vague post-WWII knowledge.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 1930 cutoff is a sharp hook, the post gives 260B tokens and ~5,000 event tests, and the finding targets data leakage. This is strong research, not a model or platform release, so 78–84 fits.

TechCrunch · AI

Sources: Anthropic could raise a new $50B round at a valuation of $900B

Sources say Anthropic received multiple pre-emptive offers at $850B–$900B valuations. The title cites a possible $50B round; the post does not disclose investors, terms, or timing. The key check is whether that valuation closes, not Claude feature news.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: huge numbers, a named outlet, and direct pressure on the AI lab funding race. The cap is uncertainty: this is early-offer reporting, with no investors, terms, or timeline disclosed.

Bloomberg Technology

Anthropic Considering Funding Offers at Over $900 Billion Value

Anthropic is weighing a new funding round at a valuation above $900 billion. The post cites people familiar with the matter but does not disclose round size, investors, or timing. The key signal is the valuation anchor versus OpenAI.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Bloomberg gives a striking $900B+ Anthropic valuation anchor with clear market resonance. The deal is not closed and lacks amount, investors, or timing, so it stays in 85–94, not 95+.

Hacker News front page

Ramp’s Sheets AI Exfiltrates Financials

PromptArmor disclosed a Ramp Sheets AI flaw with a 6-step attack chain; Ramp said it was fixed on March 16, 2026. A hidden prompt injection in an external sheet made the AI insert an IMAGE formula calling attacker.com with financial data. The key issue is formula insertion without user approval.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post gives a concrete exfil path for an AI spreadsheet tool. Scored 82, not 85+, because it is single-source and impact scale is not disclosed.

Apr 29Wednesday

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek V4 pricing is genuinely silly; the math made me question my stack

A Reddit user calculates DeepSeek V4-Pro input at $0.145 per million tokens, about 34x cheaper than Claude Opus 4.7. A May promo cuts it to $0.036, while cache hits are $0.0036, about 173x below Opus cached pricing. The key issue is agent-loop cost; the post does not verify the 1M context under production loads.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass on the pricing hook, concrete token prices, and agent-cost pressure. Capped below 78 because this is a Reddit calculation, not an official release or production benchmark.

TechCrunch · AI

Google expands Pentagon access to its AI after Anthropic refusal

Google signed one new contract with the U.S. DoD after Anthropic refused access. Anthropic barred use for domestic mass surveillance and autonomous weapons; the post does not disclose price, models, or rollout timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but contract value, model scope, and deployment timing are not disclosed. The Google-Anthropic-Pentagon split is discussable, so it clears featured but stays below must-write.

Hacker News front page

Claude.ai Is Unavailable

Claude.ai’s status page says the service is unavailable; the HN item has 139 points and 105 comments. The post does not disclose scope, start time, cause, or recovery time.

Why it matters: HKR-H/R pass because a live Claude.ai outage directly affects practitioner workflows. HKR-K is weak: the feed gives HN activity, but no scope, cause, start time, or ETA.

The Verge · AI

Claude can now plug directly into Photoshop, Blender, and Ableton

Anthropic launched Claude connectors for creative apps, including Adobe Creative Cloud, Affinity, Blender, Ableton, and Autodesk. The Blender connector can debug scenes, build tools, and batch-apply object changes; the post does not disclose pricing or full availability.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is Claude inside major creative apps, with concrete connector behavior. Missing price and rollout details keep it below must-write status.

Apr 28Tuesday

X · @claudeai

Claude Now Connects to Tools Creative Professionals Already Use

Claude added a Blender connector for scene debugging, tool building, and batch object edits from Claude. The post does not disclose versions, pricing, or rollout scope; the key issue is agent control boundaries inside DCC workflows.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Claude’s Blender connector is a concrete agent-tool expansion. Missing version, pricing, and rollout details keep it near the featured threshold, not a must-write.

Ben's Bites

Builders

Ben’s Bites published one newsletter on AI builders. It says OpenAI released GPT-5.5 at 2x GPT-5.4 pricing, with a claimed 40% token-efficiency gain. Claude Managed Agents memory entered public beta, and Cursor’s SpaceX/xAI deal includes a $60B 2026 purchase option.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: GPT-5.5 cost/efficiency figures, Claude Managed Agents Memory beta, and a Cursor deal term. It stays in 85–94 because this is a newsletter roundup, not a primary release.

QbitAI · WeChat

Xiaomi open-sources MiMo-V2.5 series; Pro builds a macOS-like desktop in 4 hours

Xiaomi open-sourced MiMo-V2.5 weights, covering Pro Agent, multimodal base, TTS, and ASR models. MiMo-V2.5-Pro built a 54-app macOS-like desktop in 4 hours without human takeover; it scored 233/233 on SysY with 672 tool calls in 4.3 hours. Key details for practitioners are the 1M context, 100T-token program, and free Agent-framework access.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Xiaomi open-sourced MiMo-V2.5 weights with concrete agent and coding-task numbers. Domestic flagship model release bump puts it in the must-write same-day band.

The Verge · AI

Attack of the Killer Script Kiddies

The Verge discusses Claude Mythos and AI bug finding, citing DARPA AIxCC scans over 54 million code lines. Teams found most seeded flaws plus over a dozen unseeded bugs; the RSS snippet does not disclose Mythos benchmarks, pricing, or access terms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is strong, DARPA AIxCC supplies concrete numbers, and the security angle resonates. No Claude Mythos benchmark, pricing, or access terms are disclosed, so it stays in the featured-threshold band.