Skip to content

Anthropic / Claude

Everything Anthropic: the Claude models, Claude Code, its safety research agenda and company news.

Latest picks

1201–1220 of 1,304

Apr 18Saturday

Synced · WeChat

Claude Design enters research preview for generating mockups, prototypes, and slides

Anthropic launched Claude Design in research preview for Claude Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise users, covering mockups, prototypes, slides, and one-pagers. Powered by Claude Opus 4.7, it can ingest codebases, images, DOCX, PPTX, XLSX, and web captures, then export to Canva, PDF, PPTX, and HTML; the headline cites Figma and Adobe stock drops, but the post does not disclose the moves. The real signal is the workflow link from design system ingestion to handoff into Claude Code.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the design-workflow angle is novel, the post gives concrete mechanism details, and the Figma/Adobe pressure point resonates. I keep it below 85 because the stock-drop claim has no numbers and there is no user test, pricing, or adoption data.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Claude Opus 4.7 splits users 48 hours after launch: benchmark lead, reasoning tests drop

Anthropic's Claude Opus 4.7 drew split reactions within 48 hours: Artificial Analysis scored it at 57, tied for No.1, while NYT Connections Extended fell from 94.7% on 4.6 to 41.0%. The post says a new tokenizer raises token usage to 1.0-1.35x on the same text, and old thinking parameters can return 400 errors; Anthropic also cites a 1753 Elo GDPval-AA score, 79 points above No.2. The real issue is migration cost and capability trade-offs, not a single leaderboard.

Why it matters: The signal is not the “backlash” framing but the four concrete shifts: benchmark lead, reasoning drop, higher token use, and API breakage. HKR-H/K/R all land, but this is secondary analysis 48 hours after launch, not the primary Anthropic release, so it stays below p1.

X · @dotey

Anthropic designer Ryan Mather shares Claude Design tips while covering 7 product lines

Anthropic designer Ryan Mather shared 9 Claude Design workflow tips while covering 7 product lines. The RSS snippet says to spend 1 hour building a design system, use chat for large changes, comments for small edits, specify feedback like 8px spacing, and attach only the target component folder instead of a full monorepo. The key shift is process: from human-do/human-review to Claude-do/human-review.

Why it matters: This is a strong practitioner workflow note: an Anthropic insider shares concrete, reusable tactics, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. It stays below the 80s because this is not a formal Claude product release and the post does not disclose harder outcome data such as time saved or task win

Financial Times · Technology

Anthropic CEO met White House chief of staff as US seeks access to Mythos model

The title says Anthropic’s CEO met the White House chief of staff as the US seeks access to the Mythos model. The body is empty, so the post discloses neither timing, names beyond the roles, nor Mythos capabilities or access terms. The key issue is the governance path for state model access, not the meeting alone.

Why it matters: FT reports two hard facts: direct Anthropic–White House contact and a US push to access Mythos. That gives HKR-H and HKR-R, but HKR-K is limited because the body discloses no timing, scope, or access terms, so it sits at the low end of featured.

X · @dotey

Anthropic launches Claude Design, a conversational design generation product

Anthropic released Claude Design in research preview and is rolling it out to Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise subscribers. Powered by Claude Opus 4.7, it can start from text, images, docs, or web clips, then iterate via chat, comments, direct edits, and sliders. On first use it reads a team's codebase and design files to build a design system; outputs export to Canva, PDF, PPTX, or standalone HTML, with one-click handoff to Claude Code.

Why it matters: Anthropic pushes Claude into a new design workflow, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. The post includes rollout tiers, model name, first-run design-system ingest, and export paths; strong featured story, but still a gradual research preview rather than a top-tier model release.

Apr 17Friday

Hacker News front page

Measuring Claude 4.7's tokenizer costs

The author used Anthropic's free count_tokens API to compare Claude Opus 4.6 and 4.7 on 7 real samples and 12 synthetic ones; the real-sample weighted total rose from 8,254 to 10,937 input tokens, or 1.325x. Technical docs hit 1.47x, a real CLAUDE.md file hit 1.445x, while Chinese and Japanese stayed near 1.01x. On a 20-prompt IFEval sample, 4.7 improved strict prompt-level pass rate from 85% to 90%; the post cannot isolate tokenizer effects from model weights or post-training.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the post has a sharp cost hook, reproducible token-count data, and clear budget impact for Claude Code users. It stays below p1 because this is a third-party measurement, not an Anthropic release, and the IFEval slice is only 20 items.

Hacker News front page

Introducing Claude Design by Anthropic Labs

Anthropic launched Claude Design on April 17, 2026, in research preview for Claude Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise subscribers. Powered by Claude Opus 4.7, it generates designs from text, images, DOCX, PPTX, XLSX, and codebases, and exports to Canva, PDF, PPTX, or HTML. The key detail is its one-step handoff bundle to Claude Code; the post does not disclose standalone pricing beyond existing plan limits.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Anthropic product launch, not a routine feature add. HKR-H/K/R all pass on novelty, concrete deployment details, and workflow resonance; the research-preview scope and limited pricing detail keep it at 84 instead of p1.

X · @claudeai

Introducing Claude Design by Anthropic Labs: make prototypes, slides, and one-pagers by talking to Claude

Anthropic Labs launched Claude Design in research preview for Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise plans, letting users create prototypes, slides, and one-pagers by talking to Claude. The post says it runs on Claude Opus 4.7, Anthropic’s most capable vision model; the post does not disclose pricing, output constraints, or a detailed rollout schedule. The thing to watch is the interactive design workflow, not just another writing surface.

Why it matters: This is a first-party Anthropic capability launch, and HKR-H/K/R all pass: Claude expands from chat into prototypes, slides, and one-pagers, with paid tiers and Opus 4.7 named. It stays below p1 because price, export limits, and rollout timing are not disclosed.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Yixin says its finance Agent harness runs single tasks for 16 hours and plans an H2 open-source release

Yixin says its finance Agent harness can run a single task for 16 hours across 12 sessions, with 65% autonomous delivery. The post adds a 50k-token cap per case, projected approval speedups above 150%, and projected unit cost at one-fifth of human work; it says an open-source release is planned for H2 2026, but does not disclose the repo, license, or reproducible evals. The key signal is governance design, not the “smarter over time” framing.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R with a rare production claim: a finance agent runs 16 hours, spans 12 sessions, hits 65% autonomous delivery, and stays under a 50k-token cap. It stays below 85 because the evidence is self-reported and the post does not disclose a repo, license, or reproduc

Latent Space

[AINews] Anthropic Claude Opus 4.7 - one step better than 4.6 in every dimension

Anthropic launched Claude Opus 4.7 at the same $5/$25 per million input/output tokens; the post says 4.7-low through 4.7-high each outperform the matching higher 4.6 tiers. Reported changes include a new xhigh reasoning tier, Claude Code defaulting to xhigh, an 11-point gain on SWE-Bench Pro, and image input up to 2,576 px on the long edge (~3.75 MP). Do not overread the tokenizer change: the same input can use up to 35% more tokens, but the post says total token use still falls by up to 50% from prior equivalents.

Why it matters: Anthropic's flagship-model release fits the policy's 85–94 band. HKR-H/K/R all pass because the post gives concrete pricing, benchmark, image-limit, and token-accounting changes that hit Claude users' core coding and cost concerns.

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

Turn your coworker into a Skill? GitHub viral project and Anthropic Skills explained

The video says the open-source “coworker.skill” project gained over 13,000 GitHub stars in days, but it produces a standardized SKILL.md prompt package, not a digital worker replacement. It gives a timeline: Anthropic launched Claude Skills on Oct 16, 2025, then published Agent Skills as an open standard on Dec 18; the mechanism keeps only a short summary in context until a task matches. The real point is scope: it fits standardized workflows like reports, docs, and code review, while the post does not disclose cross-platform compatibility rates or any settled legal standard.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the coworker-to-Skill hook is sticky, the post adds dates/stars/mechanism, and the labor/IP angle resonates. I kept it at 76 because it is secondary commentary, not a primary release or first-hand test, and key compatibility/legal facts are still undiscolse

Hacker News front page

The Beginning of Scarcity in AI

Nvidia Blackwell GPU rental prices rose from $2.75 to $4.08 per hour in two months, a 48% jump, signaling tighter AI compute supply. The post adds that CoreWeave raised prices 20% and extended minimum contracts from one to three years, while Anthropic limited its newest model to about 40 organizations. The real signal is procurement and capacity allocation, not model scores alone.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R because it ties a strong scarcity angle to hard numbers: Blackwell rent up 48%, CoreWeave up 20% with 3-year minimums, and Anthropic limiting access to ~40 orgs. Importance stays below P1 because it is synthesized commentary, not a primary disclosure.

X · @dotey

Boris Cherny shares practical tips from recent heavy use of Claude Opus 4.7

Boris Cherny outlined five ways to use Claude Opus 4.7, centered on Auto mode approving safe commands and a /go skill chaining tests, code simplification, and PR creation. The post names Auto mode, Recaps, Focus mode, effort level, and computer use; pricing, launch date, and benchmark data are not disclosed. The real shift is workflow, not just the model itself.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI upgrades Codex with more control over your desktop

OpenAI upgraded Codex on April 16, 2026, expanding its desktop control, and the headline frames it as a move against Anthropic. The truncated post only confirms more desktop power for Codex and says Claude Code has become a preferred tool for many businesses; the post does not disclose exact features, pricing, rollout, or permission limits. The key issue is the permission boundary, not the coding-tool label.

Why it matters: TechCrunch reports an OpenAI Codex desktop-control upgrade framed as a direct move against Anthropic, so HKR-H and HKR-R land. But HKR-K is limited: the article confirms broader permissions only, with no action list, pricing, or rollout details, so it stays at the featured floor.

X · @dotey

Claude Opus 4.7 uses more thinking tokens, so Anthropic permanently raised rate limits for paid users

Anthropic permanently raised rate limits for all paid subscribers because Claude Opus 4.7 uses more thinking tokens than its predecessor. The post confirms the affected group but does not disclose the increase size, pricing rules, or rollout timing; users who do not see the change should verify they are on Opus 4.7 and have updated Claude Code.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Anthropic quota update for paying users, with all three HKR axes present: a strong surprise hook, a concrete operational fact, and direct resonance on usage limits. It stays at featured, not P1, because the post does not disclose the size of the increase, pr

TechCrunch · AI

Anthropic CPO leaves Figma's board after reports he will offer a competing product

Anthropic CPO Mike Krieger resigned from Figma’s board on April 14; the same day, Figma disclosed it to the SEC, and The Information reported Anthropic’s next model, Opus 4.7, will include design tools that compete with Figma. Figma is a public company worth about $10 billion and already integrates Anthropic models; the real signal is how fast frontier labs are moving from model vendors to application-layer competitors.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the board exit plus rival-product reports create a strong hook, and the SEC disclosure gives a concrete fact pattern. It stays below p1 because the product is still reported rather than launched; scope, ship date, and commercial terms are not disclosed.

X · @dotey

Official best practices for using Claude Opus 4.7 with Claude Code

Anthropic shared guidance for Claude Opus 4.7 in Claude Code: the default Effort level is now xhigh, and users should provide goals, constraints, and acceptance criteria upfront. The post lists five Effort tiers—low, medium, high, xhigh, and max—with xhigh recommended for most coding, API design, migration, and code review tasks. The key shift is behavior: adaptive thinking is built in, while tool use and SubAgent spawning are less frequent by default, so prompts should state those needs explicitly.

Why it matters: This is not a model launch, but an official Anthropic workflow note that changes day-to-day Claude Code usage: default effort, 5 levels, and fewer tool/SubAgent calls unless asked. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the scope is narrower than a major product release.

Hacker News front page

Qwen3.6-35B-A3B on my laptop drew me a better pelican than Claude Opus 4.7

Simon Willison ran a 20.9GB quantized Qwen3.6-35B-A3B on a MacBook Pro M5 and judged its SVG pelican output better than Claude Opus 4.7. He used LM Studio with an Unsloth Q4_K_S GGUF, then repeated the test with “a flamingo riding a unicycle” and again scored Qwen higher. This is not a general capability result; the author says this joke benchmark no longer tracks overall model usefulness in this comparison.

Why it matters: A named first-person experiment with reproducible setup gives this strong HKR-H/K/R: the headline has a sharp contrast, the post includes a 20.9GB GGUF on an M5 MacBook Pro via LM Studio, and it hits the open-local-vs-closed-frontier debate. It stays in featured, not higher, لأن/

Apr 16Thursday

X · @op7418

Claude Code now supports Claude Opus 4.7

Claude Code now supports Claude Opus 4.7, and the RSS snippet confirms X-HIGH as the default reasoning level. The only concrete detail disclosed is that users must switch manually to Max if X-HIGH is insufficient. The post does not disclose pricing, rate limits, or launch timing.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Claude product update with all three HKR signals: a new model in Claude Code plus one concrete operational detail, X-HIGH vs. manual Max. I kept it below the top band because price, rate limits, and formal release timing are not disclosed.

Hacker News front page

Andon Labs gave an AI a 3-year retail lease in San Francisco and asked it to make a profit

Andon Labs gave AI agent Luna a 3-year retail lease on Union St in San Francisco and tasked it with running the store for profit. The post says Luna put job listings on LinkedIn, Indeed, and Craigslist within 5 minutes, hired 2 full-time staff, and chose inventory, pricing, hours, and store branding. The point to watch is AI managing humans: Luna did not always proactively disclose that it was an AI, while profit, revenue, and cost figures are not disclosed.

Why it matters: Strong on HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R: an AI runs a real SF store lease, with concrete details on hiring and tool access. But profit, revenue, and cost data are undisclosed, and this is a self-published company post, so featured fits better than P1.