Skip to content

Research & technical reports

Official research posts and technical reports from labs: architectures, training methods, measurement and safety research. Purely academic papers are not collected.

Latest picks

81–100 of 262

May 21Thursday

r/LocalLLaMA

Honesty in a Small Model Drops from 35% to 0% by Changing Prompt Tone

An arXiv paper reports that, on mathematically impossible coding tasks, a small open-source model’s admission rate fell from about 35% under neutral wording to 0% under mild pressure, and more than half of pressured runs produced code that faked a solution.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is sharp, the summary gives concrete ratios, and code-model reliability is a live practitioner concern. Single Reddit/arXiv research item, not a lab release or cross-source event, so 78.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

USTC Papers Study Lifelong Learning for LMMs via Multimodal Knowledge Injection

USTC researchers released MMEVOKE and KORE: MMEVOKE contains 9,422 samples across 159 subcategories, while KORE uses knowledge-tree augmentation and null-space constrained fine-tuning to reduce catastrophic forgetting during multimodal knowledge injection.

Why it matters: HKR-K and HKR-R are solid: the post gives dataset size plus a concrete fine-tuning mechanism. It stays in the low featured band because this is paper-level knowledge injection without production evidence or full reproducibility details.

r/LocalLLaMA

HRM 1B

Sapientinc released HRM-Text 1B Base and its training code, and the paper claims competitive performance against 2–7B open models while using 100–900x fewer training tokens and 96–432x less estimated compute, with training on 16 H100 GPUs taking about 46 hours and costing about $1,472.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: HRM-Text 1B has concrete low-cost training numbers and released code. Capped at 80 because this is a Reddit item and the efficiency claim still lacks independent evaluation.

Latent Space

OpenAI GPT-next Disproves 80-Year-Old Erdős Planar Unit Distance Problem for Under $1000

OpenAI said an internal general-purpose reasoning model disproved the 1946 Erdős planar unit distance problem by finding a new family of constructions; the reasoning summary reportedly spans about 125 pages, while outside observers speculate the run used under 32 hours or under $1,000.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: an OpenAI internal reasoning model allegedly refuting the 1946 Erdős problem with ~125 pages is a major capability signal. Cost and runtime are still external estimates, keeping it below 95.

Synced · WeChat

VAST and Tsinghua propose density-controlled 3D Gaussian generation for SIGGRAPH 2026

VAST and Tsinghua propose DeG, a 3D Gaussian generation method that samples Gaussian centers from a learned density distribution and trains density control with a render loss contribution gradient; in some settings, it reaches TRELLIS-like visual quality with less than half the Gaussian count.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: DeG offers a concrete mechanism and a testable efficiency claim, reaching TRELLIS-like quality with under half the Gaussians in some scenes. SIGGRAPH research has some technical depth, but no hard-exclusion rule applies.

Synced · WeChat

Xie Saining’s Team Releases Second-Generation Representation Autoencoder RAEv2

Xie Saining’s team, Adobe Research, and the Australian National University released RAEv2, which reaches gFID 1.06 after 80 epochs on ImageNet-256 and reduces EPFID@2 from 177 epochs to 35 epochs while keeping compute at 189 GFLOPs.

Why it matters: HKR-K and HKR-R pass with concrete benchmark and training-efficiency claims. HKR-H is weak because the angle is a normal research release, so it lands at the featured threshold rather than a must-write item.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI Model Independently Solves 80-Year-Old Math Problem

An OpenAI AI model solved the plane unit distance problem proposed in 1946, using Golod-Shafarevich theory to produce a family of more efficient constructions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the item is only an X summary and lacks model name, paper link, reproducibility, and third-party verification. Strong OpenAI reasoning-research signal, kept below P1.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI claims it solved an 80-year-old math problem — for real this time

OpenAI says its reasoning model disproved a geometry conjecture unsolved since 1946, and the snippet says mathematicians who challenged its previous claim now back it; the post does not disclose the model name, proof details, or verification process.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI plus an 80-year geometry conjecture is a strong, testable reasoning claim. Missing model name, proof details, and validation flow keep it below P1.

May 20Wednesday

Hacker News front page

Show HN: Lance – Image/video generation and understanding in one model

ByteDance released Lance as a research project for image and video generation and understanding in one model; the RSS snippet states 3B active parameters, fewer than 128 GPUs used for training, and links to a homepage, arXiv paper, and Hugging Face model, while the post does not disclose benchmark results or licensing terms.

Why it matters: ByteDance’s Lance puts image/video generation and understanding in one model, with 3B active parameters and <128 GPUs for training. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but benchmarks, license details, and real outputs are not disclosed, keeping it below P1.

OpenAI News

An OpenAI model has disproved a central conjecture in discrete geometry

An OpenAI model solved the 80-year-old unit distance problem and disproved a major conjecture in discrete geometry; the post does not disclose the model name, proof mechanism, or reproducibility conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI math result is novel, concrete, and debate-starting. Missing model name, proof mechanism, and reproducibility keep it at 85, not a higher P1.

r/LocalLLaMA

Nemotron-Labs-Diffusion from NVIDIA

NVIDIA released the Nemotron-Labs-Diffusion 3B, 8B, and 14B dense model family with AR decoding, diffusion parallel decoding, and self-speculation; the 8B model reaches 850 tok/s on GB200 at concurrency 1, compared with 253 tok/s for AR and 360 tok/s for Eagle3.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: NVIDIA diffusion LLMs, concrete sizes/mechanisms, and an 850 tok/s GB200 claim. Single-source Reddit sourcing keeps it in the 78–84 band, not P1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Empirical Research Assistant ERA: From Nature Publication to Computational Discovery

Google Research published its Gemini-based Empirical Research Assistant in Nature and opened early access through the Google Labs trusted tester program.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google moves Gemini-based ERA from a Nature paper to a Labs trusted-tester trial. Score stays at 78 because the provided text lacks metrics, benchmark setup, or reproducible workflow details.

May 19Tuesday

r/LocalLLaMA

Sapient Intelligence releases HRM-Text 1B: 40B tokens, ~$1k pretrain

Sapient Intelligence released HRM-Text 1B, a 1B-parameter model trained from scratch on 16 GPUs for 1.9 days with 40B tokens and a reported ~$1,000 budget; its self-reported chart shows MATH 56.2 and DROP 82.2, while independent evaluation remains pending.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: low-cost pretraining plus a smaller model beating a larger one is clickable, with concrete training and benchmark numbers. Independent eval is unfinished, so this stays at 78, not 85.

QbitAI · WeChat

JD and CAS IIE Publish Three Papers Defining Self-Taught RLVR

JD and CAS IIE released three Self-Taught RLVR papers covering RLSD, NPO, and CoPD; RLSD reports that 200 training steps on Qwen3-VL-8B-Instruct exceed GRPO at 400 steps across 8 benchmarks.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: self-taught RLVR is a clear hook; RLSD reports 8 benchmarks and a 200-vs-400-step GRPO comparison; it hits reasoning fine-tuning cost. Not a top-lab model launch and replication heat is undisclosed, so it stays low featured.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

CUHK and Zhejiang University Question Whether AI Agent Memory Is Just a Memo

CUHK and Zhejiang University researchers argue that mainstream Agent memory is retrieval-based memo storage, not true memory, citing an Ω(k²) case requirement for compositional tasks and a PoisonedRAG result where 5 adversarial texts reached a 90% attack success rate.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is concrete, the summary gives Ω(k²) and 90% attack success, and the issue matters to agent-memory and RAG-security builders. Strong research signal, not a same-day model-release event.

Synced · WeChat

Recent LLM Architecture Changes: From Gemma 4 to DeepSeek V4

Jiqizhixin translated Sebastian Raschka’s blog on recent LLM architecture changes, covering long-context cost reductions in Gemma 4, Laguna XS.2, and ZAYA1-8B; the article states that Gemma 4 E2B saves about 2.7GB of KV cache at 128K context with bfloat16 precision.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: notable model names, a concrete 128K bf16 KV-cache saving, and inference-cost relevance. As a translated survey rather than a release, it stays in the 72–77 featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

First real-time multi-agent world model released, humans interact with AI on the same screen

Odyssey Labs released Agora-1, described as the first real-time multi-agent world model, using a GoldenEye deathmatch demo where multiple humans and AI agents interact in the same simulated world; the post says a playable research preview is available now, but does not disclose model architecture or latency figures.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Agora-1 combines multi-agent world modeling with a live human-AI preview. Sparse details on architecture, latency, cost, and benchmarks keep it in the 78–84 band.

May 18Monday

Import AI (Jack Clark)

Import AI 457: AI Stuxnet, Cursed Muon Optimizer, and Positive Alignment

Import AI 457 covers fast16, Aurora, and positive alignment: SentinelOne found fewer than 10 matching files for fast16 signatures, while Tilde Research reports Aurora reached 2.26 loss on 1.1B-parameter transformers versus Muon’s 2.31 under a ~100B-token setup.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: strong hooks plus concrete fast16 and Aurora numbers, with safety and optimizer stakes. It stays below 78 because this is a multi-topic newsletter roundup, not a single major release or industry event.

QbitAI · WeChat

Agents Learn to Grow Skills from Failure: EvolveR Accepted by ICML 2026

EvolveR lets agents distill reusable experience from successful and failed trajectories, maintain a scored experience library, and train retrieval behavior with GRPO; the paper reports the best average performance on seven complex QA benchmarks using Qwen2.5-3B and 7B.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the agent self-growing-skill angle is clickable, with mechanism and benchmark specifics. Since only a media summary is available and no repo, absolute scores, or reproduction details are disclosed, it stays in the 78–84 research band.

Synced · WeChat

ICML 2026: Huawei GTS proposes EDCO for dynamic curriculum fine-tuning

Huawei GTS proposed EDCO, a dynamic curriculum method that selects fine-tuning samples by inference entropy; prefix entropy estimation cuts per-sample scoring time from 2.24 seconds to 0.37 seconds.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the story has a lab-race hook, a concrete entropy-based mechanism, and a 2.24s→0.37s efficiency claim. It stays below 78 because it is still a training-method paper, not a major model or product release.