Skip to content

OpenAI / ChatGPT

Everything OpenAI: the GPT models, ChatGPT and Sora, company strategy and people moves.

Latest picks

101–120 of 1,549

Sep 23Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI releases GPT-6 Sol and Luna with 50% cheaper API pricing and benchmarks

OpenAI added two models to the GPT-6 family: Sol for complex coding and professional tasks, Luna for fast high-volume work. API pricing is cut by 50% vs GPT-5.6 promo rates—Luna's output price actually dropped 58%. Sol beats Claude Opus 5 on AutomationBench and Agents' Last Exam at roughly one-tenth the cost per task. Both are live in the API today; no weights are released.

Why it matters: OpenAI drops two new GPT-6 variants with a 50% API price cut — an industry-shaking move. Sol's Aura score and Luna's $0.5 output price are concrete, though the post doesn't include the full benchmark table. Still, this is a must-cover story.

New York Times Chinese

U.S.-China Summit Puts AI on the Table, but Little Progress Is Expected

AI safety and competition dominated this week's U.S.-China summit, but deep mistrust makes concrete outcomes unlikely. The Trump administration has loosened chip export curbs, letting Nvidia sell H200 chips to China, while U.S. officials accuse Chinese firms of stealing AI models through distillation. Both sides agreed to set up a hotline for AI-related national security risks and plan to meet again in Shenzhen in two months. Senator Warren warned Trump against catering to the AI industry instead of pressing Xi on AI risks. Analysts expect talks to stay at the level of definitions and principles, since neither side will accept limits on its own competitiveness.

Why it matters: NYT's exclusive on US-China AI talks packs real substance: a safety hotline, H200 export relaxation, and distillation-theft accusations. Score capped at 78 because it's policy maneuvering, not a product or tech breakthrough — high signal but low immediate actionability for bui...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

The Most Important Market in AI is the Middle

Tunguz argues that enterprise AI spend concentrates in the 'good enough, affordable' middle tier, not the frontier. Anthropic held Opus at $5/$25 across five releases while OpenAI slashed Luna 80% then 50%; open models run most token volume at an 86% discount to closed models. The priciest model, Fable 5.1, captured only 3.7% of gateway spend in its first 12 days, while mid-tier models claim 40% of spend and 30% of tokens. As intelligence per dollar explodes but enterprise requirements barely move, tokens may shift to commodity—and that will decide the market's economics.

Why it matters: Tunguz uses gateway spending data to make a counterintuitive case: the most capable model, Fable 5.1, captured only 3.7% of spend in 12 days — the mid-tier is where enterprises actually put their money. Opus held price across five releases, open models run majority volume at 8...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Claude Opus 5.5 and GPT-6 Sol/Luna launch on the same day, kicking off a new price war

Simon Willison compares three models launched on the same day. GPT-6 Luna drops to $0.10/M input tokens—half the price of GPT-5.6 Luna and one of OpenAI's cheapest models ever. GPT-6 Sol also halves its predecessor's price. Claude Opus 5.5 gets a 20% cut but still costs twice as much as GPT-6 Sol. In testing, Opus 5.5 at max thinking level over-thinks to the point of hitting its 128k output limit, failing to produce even a simple pelican SVG. Each failed attempt cost $2.56 and took nearly 20 minutes. Willison calls the max mode effectively useless.

Why it matters: Three flagship models dropped on the same day, with Simon Willison's first-hand pricing comparison and early impressions. GPT-6 Luna at $0.10/M input is OpenAI's cheapest ever, directly reshaping the cost structure for application builders. Downside: the post only has the pric...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

GPT-6 Sol and Luna: near-same intelligence scores at roughly half the cost

Artificial Analysis reports that GPT-6 Sol and Luna score close to their GPT-5.6 predecessors on the Intelligence Index, while token pricing drops ~50%, halving per-task cost. Their chart shows the intelligence-vs-cost trade-off across OpenAI model generations. The post does not disclose exact scores or pricing figures.

Why it matters: First third-party price/performance benchmark after GPT-6 launch — cost halved with flat intelligence is a direct signal for model selection decisions. Deduction because the post only shows chart trends without concrete scores or pricing numbers, so information density isn't s...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI launches GPT-6 Sol and Luna, API pricing 50% below GPT-5.6 promo rates

OpenAI added two models to the GPT-6 family: Sol and Luna. They inherit most of GPT-6 Astra's capabilities but run faster and cheaper, with API pricing 50% below GPT-5.6 promotional rates. The post credits caching and inference efficiency gains. No benchmarks, latency figures, or rollout timeline are disclosed.

Why it matters: OpenAI added two new GPT-6 models with API pricing halved vs GPT-5.6 promo rates — a real cost signal for builders. Score held below 85 because the post lacks benchmarks, latency data, or a launch timeline; actual performance needs real-world testing.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI ships better prompt caching for GPT-6, plus a dashboard and diagnostics

GPT-6 prompt caching now hits more often by default, with discounts for shared prefixes reused within 30 minutes. A new dashboard tracks hit rates and a diagnostics tool pinpoints misses—e.g., a tools_changed reason costing 5,629 tokens. Developers can set explicit cache breakpoints, adjust reasoning effort without breaking cache, and prewarm context to cut latency. GitHub Copilot reports a >50% drop in tokens needing fresh processing; Manus raised cache hit rates from ~85% to >90% in under a week.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI post on GPT-6 prompt caching improvements with a diagnostic dashboard and manual breakpoints — a real cost win for agent developers. Score stays below 85 because it's infrastructure, not a new model, but the concrete numbers and tooling details make it a solid ...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

GPT-6 Sol and Luna halve cost but show regressions in some evals

OpenAI's GPT-6 Sol and Luna cut prices roughly in half: Sol drops to $2/$10 per million input/output tokens, Luna to $0.10/$0.50. Per-task cost on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index falls from $1.99 to $1.06 for Sol and $0.18 to $0.07 for Luna, while overall scores stay level. Hallucination rates drop sharply—Sol from 92% to 60%, Luna from 93% to 77%—but both models decline to answer more often. In the Coding Agent Index, Sol gains 2 points to 57; Luna loses 2 points to 41. Both regress on GDPval-AA v2.1, a knowledge-work benchmark: Sol drops ~100 Elo, Luna ~75, driven by shorter deliverables that omit rubric elements. The cost drop is real; the quality trade-off on knowledge tasks is worth watching.

Why it matters: OpenAI halved GPT-6 pricing, with Sol per-task cost at $1.06 and Luna at $0.07, but capabilities are mixed — Luna actually regressed on the Coding Agent Index. Solid third-party benchmark data makes this directly useful for developer decision-making. Not p1 because this is a c...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Arena launches GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna testing, scores coming soon

Arena is now testing two new OpenAI models, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna, with scores not yet released. You can try them on real agent tasks and vote to feed the leaderboard. The post doesn't disclose model size, release date, or pricing.

Why it matters: GPT-6's first public appearance, two variants live on Arena running agent tasks — strong suspense and signal. Deduction for thin info: no scale, pricing, or release date disclosed, just a test entry point.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna land on Arena, API pricing 50% below GPT-5.6 promo rates

OpenAI dropped GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna on Arena, both built on GPT-6 Astra tech. The pitch is faster, cheaper inference with better caching for high-volume workloads. API pricing is 50% below GPT-5.6's promotional rate. The post doesn't disclose benchmark scores or latency numbers, so I'd wait for third-party benchmarks before getting excited.

Why it matters: OpenAI drops two GPT-6 models on Arena with API pricing 50% below GPT-5.6's promo rate — strong price signal. But no benchmarks or latency data in the post, so can't tell if performance took a hit. Score stays below 85 until third-party tests land.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Sam Altman says GPT-6 Sol and Luna have no competition on per-task pricing

Sam Altman posted that GPT-6 Sol and Luna have no competition when measured by per-task pricing. He claims big jumps over the 5.6 series in intelligence, alignment, work output, coding, and computer use, with per-token price halved and even lower per-task cost. The post doesn't disclose specific benchmarks or pricing figures—I'd wait for third-party testing before taking it at face value.

Why it matters: Sam Altman personally vouches for GPT-6's per-task pricing, claiming no competitor matches it — a direct signal for anyone tracking inference costs. But the post lacks any benchmarks or pricing numbers, so this is a one-sided claim for now. Score stays conservative until indep...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI launches GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna, API pricing 50% below GPT-5.6 promo rates

OpenAI released GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna, both built on GPT-6 Astra tech and aimed at cheaper, faster high-volume workloads. API pricing is 50% lower than GPT-5.6 promotional pricing, driven by more efficient caching and inference. Sam Altman reposted the announcement and called the character designs cute. The post doesn't disclose benchmark scores, latency figures, or regional availability.

Why it matters: OpenAI ships GPT-6 with API pricing 50% below the GPT-5.6 promo rate — a direct cost shock for high-volume developers. Score held below 90 because the post omits benchmarks, latency, and regional availability, so we can't yet judge if performance took a hit.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI GPT-6 Sol and Luna land on OpenRouter at half the price

OpenRouter just listed two new OpenAI models: GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna. Pricing is half that of the previous GPT-5.6—Sol at $2/M input and $10/M output, Luna at $0.10/M input and $0.50/M output. On AutomationBench, both beat the prior best score while costing less per task. The post doesn't disclose exact scores or latency figures.

Why it matters: OpenAI's next-gen flagship launch with dual variants and halved pricing is an industry-level event. The post doesn't disclose full benchmarks or context window, but the pricing and AutomationBench leap alone justify featured.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

GPT-6 Sol and Luna: half the price, same Intelligence Index

Artificial Analysis tested OpenAI's GPT-6 Sol and Luna. Both cost half as much as their GPT-5.6 equivalents: Sol at $2/$10 per million input/output tokens, Luna at $0.10/$0.50. The Intelligence Index matches GPT-5.6, so you're getting the same capability for less money. The post doesn't disclose evaluation dimensions or latency figures.

Why it matters: First third-party benchmark of GPT-6: price halved, intelligence flat. Held below 85 because it's a single-source eval — no cross-validation on sample size or task coverage yet. Treating it as a strong single signal.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI launches GPT-6 Sol and Luna, API pricing 50% lower than GPT-5.6

OpenAI's developer account announced GPT-6 Sol and Luna, with API pricing cut to half of GPT-5.6. Sherwin Wu added specifics for Luna: $0.10 per 1M input tokens and $0.50 per 1M output tokens, noting that pricing will soon need to switch to per-billion-token units. The post doesn't disclose Sol's per-token price or how the two models differ in capabilities.

Why it matters: OpenAI officially dropped GPT-6 Sol and Luna, with Luna priced 50% lower than GPT-5.6 at $0.1/1M input and $0.5/1M output. Sol pricing is missing, and Sherwin Wu hinted at per-billion-token pricing soon. This is a flagship model refresh plus a major price cut — same-day must-w...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI rolls out GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna to ChatGPT Work and Codex

OpenAI announced the rollout of GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna for Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise, and Edu users, available now in ChatGPT Work and Codex. The post doesn't disclose model specs, pricing changes, or performance vs. GPT-5—hold for benchmarks.

Why it matters: GPT-6 dual-model launch is a baseline industry event — minimal announcement, maximum reach across all paid tiers. Score held below 95 because the post has zero technical detail; K-axis is empty until benchmarks and hands-on reports land.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI launches GPT-6 Sol and Luna, boasting lower cost and fewer mistakes

OpenAI followed GPT-6 Astra with two smaller models, Sol and Luna, aiming to make Astra-level intelligence cheaper and more accessible. Sol handles complex tasks like coding; Luna targets high-volume, clear-goal work such as summarization, extraction, and quick Q&A. The post doesn't disclose pricing, error-rate comparisons, or a launch date, so I'd hold off on the 'fewer mistakes' claim until benchmarks land.

Why it matters: OpenAI launching two GPT-6 spin-offs after Astra is a major product-line expansion with high industry attention. TechCrunch has the scoop, but the post doesn't disclose pricing, error-rate comparisons, or launch dates — so 'fewer mistakes' gets a discount for now. Score stays ...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI launches GPT-6 Sol and Luna, API pricing cut 50% vs GPT-5.6

OpenAI added two cheaper models to the GPT-6 family: Sol and Luna, with API prices halved across input and output. Sol costs $2/$10 per 1M tokens, Luna $0.10/$0.50. Sol scored 33.2% on AutomationBench at xhigh effort at 9% of Claude Opus 5's cost per task, and 56.4% on Agents' Last Exam at max effort at 60% lower cost. On internal factuality evals, Sol makes about half as many mistakes as its predecessor. The post does not specify a launch date beyond 'available now.'

Why it matters: Official OpenAI release of new GPT-6 models with a 50% API price cut and Sol's agent benchmark cost at 9% of a competitor — industry-shaking. HKR all hit, with solid pricing and benchmark data. Minus 3 points because the post doesn't fully detail the capability gap between Sol...

Sep 22Tuesday

Hacker News front page

OpenAI contractors fired for using AI to train OpenAI's models

404 Media obtained internal docs and spoke to three contractors: OpenAI hires thousands of people to rate ChatGPT responses, but many are using AI to generate their annotations. The rules ban any AI use, including Grammarly and AI translation. Reviewers spot AI-written work by looking for repetitive words, AI-style punctuation like overused em dashes, and unusually fast turnaround. Getting caught means immediate removal. One fired contractor said they just needed a boost and it led to their downfall. Outsourcing firm Mercor confirmed its contracts prohibit LLM use and violators are removed on detection.

Why it matters: 404 Media obtained internal docs and interviewed three fired labelers — solid sourcing. The story doesn't involve a model capability update, so it doesn't reach 85, but the irony and concrete detection details make it worth featuring.

Hacker News front page

Spymarks, Not Watermarks

The article coins 'spymark' for hidden tracking signals embedded in media without user knowledge or consent. Google SynthID can hide a 136-bit payload in a 512×512 image—enough for a 64-bit database ID plus error correction. OpenAI and others are building similar systems at scale. The author argues 'watermark' obscures the privacy risk; 'spymark' bakes the surveillance concern into the name. Examples cover frequency-domain image hiding, audio spectrogram encoding, and text word-choice steering. The open-source tool audiowmark has offered AES-protected 128-bit payloads since 2018. The post does not disclose actual deployment scope.

Why it matters: Opinion piece with a sharp thesis backed by concrete technical numbers — not empty rhetoric. Hits all three HKR axes, but capped at the featured threshold since it's a single blog post, not a product launch or paper.