Skip to content

Alibaba's Qwen family: open releases and iterations, from flagship models to small on-device ones.

Latest picks

201–205 of 205

Mar 5Thursday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Alibaba Denies Mass Departure From Qwen Team, Says Team Stable and Services Normal

Alibaba said on March 5 that reports of a mass departure from the Qwen core team were false, adding that the team is stable and products and services are operating normally. It also said Qwen will keep its open-source strategy; the post does not disclose the rumor source, team size, or future investment amount. The key signal is Alibaba's statement that its foundation model team has never been given DAU-style commercialization KPIs.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the 'mass resignation' denial hook; HKR-K lands on three concrete signals: Qwen stays open-source, service is normal, and no DAU KPI is set. HKR-R is strong on talent and strategy nerves, but this is still a company rebuttal with no team-size or attrition data, so

36Kr (direct RSS)

36Kr 8AM Brief: Alibaba executives address Lin Junyang's departure from Qwen; DCP buys Blue Bottle; Jack Ma discusses AI

Alibaba held an internal Q&A after Qwen lead Lin Junyang sought to resign, and Eddie Wu, Jiang Fang, and Zhou Jingren said Qwen is expanding rather than shrinking. The post says the successor role and reporting line remain under discussion, and it does not disclose the departure reason or final org plan. The key signal for AI practitioners is Alibaba's explicit stance that Qwen will receive more resources.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H and HKR-R: a sudden Qwen leadership change plus Alibaba's emergency response is inherently newsy and matters for how readers judge Chinese flagship-model momentum. HKR-K is weak because the article lacks the departure reason, successor, and final org structure,

Feb 28Saturday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Qwen plans AI glasses, earbuds, and rings as tech giants race for a new AI entry point

A report says Alibaba's Qwen plans AI glasses, earbuds, and rings for a global launch in 2026; the glasses are slated for MWC 2026, with reservations opening on March 2. The post adds that Qwen app functions like food delivery and ride hailing will move to these devices, and cites Qwen3.5-Plus with 60% lower memory use, up to 19x inference throughput, and RMB 0.8 per million tokens. The real point is distribution: if the hardware connects Alipay, Amap, and Taobao, Alibaba is chasing the consumer AI entry layer, not just device sales.

Why it matters: This is a distribution-entry story for Alibaba/Qwen, not a routine accessory refresh. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the multi-device bet is a strong hook, the report includes launch timing and model economics, and it hits the ecosystem-front-end nerve; but it is still a media exclusive, so

Feb 10Tuesday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Alibaba Qwen launches the new image generation foundation model Qwen-Image-2.0

Alibaba Qwen announced Qwen-Image-2.0, an image generation foundation model, and opened API invite testing on Alibaba Cloud Bailian. Developers can also try it for free in Qwen Chat; the post does not disclose model size, pricing, eval results, or a general release date.

Feb 9Monday

36Kr (direct RSS)

Qwen’s 10 Million Milk Teas: How Alibaba’s Massive AI Freebie Campaign Unfolded

Alibaba’s Qwen drove over 10 million orders via a Feb. 6 free-order campaign, but the app slowed and crashed from 10 a.m. to noon as load exceeded capacity; orders had already passed 2 million before noon. 36Kr says initial server capacity was only about one-third of the expected peak, and the subsidy pool was framed as 3 billion yuan; the real signal is not a model leap but a paid test of AI commerce entry and consumer acquisition.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the free-milk-tea plus outage hook, while HKR-K lands on concrete scale and capacity numbers. HKR-R also lands because the story speaks to AI distribution, subsidy economics, and infra reliability, but it remains a single-company promo test rather than a market-shi