Skip to content

Alibaba's Qwen family: open releases and iterations, from flagship models to small on-device ones.

Latest picks

181–200 of 205

Apr 30Thursday

r/LocalLLaMA

Building a fully local PDF-to-audiobook workflow with Kokoro 82M, Qwen and llama.cpp

Reddit user purellmagents shared a local PDF-to-audiobook workflow using Kokoro 82M, Qwen 3.5 0.8B/2B, and llama.cpp. The Tauri 2.0 app runs on an M1 Mac, reads 15 initial sentences, then prepares the next 15. The hard parts are PDF-text alignment, code snippets, tables, and first-generation latency.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Reddit personal workflow, not a model or platform release. Specific components and the 15-sentence pipeline keep it at the low featured band.

Apr 29Wednesday

r/LocalLLaMA

Qwen3.6 27B on Dual RTX 5060 Ti 16GB with vLLM: ~60 tok/s, 204k Context Working

A user ran Qwen3.6 27B with vLLM on dual RTX 5060 Ti 16GB cards, reaching ~62–66 tok/s at 8K. The setup used 32GB VRAM, TP=2, fp8 KV cache, MTP 3 tokens, and a 204800 context window. The tight part is memory: after a 168k prefill, each GPU used ~15.65GiB with max_num_seqs=1.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post gives a concrete local-inference benchmark with hardware, vLLM settings, speed, and context limits. Single Reddit sourcing caps it below the 78–84 band.

Apr 28Tuesday

Synced · WeChat

Open-source medical video understanding system uAI-NEXUS-MedVLM released

United Imaging Intelligence released uAI-NEXUS-MedVLM for medical video understanding, with a CVPR 2026 paper. MedVidBench has 532k video-instruction pairs across 8 medical sources and 8 tasks. Qwen2.5-VL-7B SFT reached 89.4% CVS accuracy; GPT-5.4 scored 16.4%.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story has a real-medical-video open-source hook, concrete 530K+ data scale, 8 tasks, and a 89.4% vs 16.4% result. The medical focus keeps it in the 78–84 band.

r/LocalLLaMA

Local coding models have reached a threshold for real work

Antigma tested 27B–32B open-weight models; Qwen 3.6-27B scored 38.2% on Terminal-Bench 2.0. The run used 89 tasks and the default per-task timeout, while verified SOTA is about 80%. The key claim is deployment lag: offline coding is about 6–8 months behind hosted frontier models.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post gives a real-work threshold claim, a 38.2%/89-task Terminal-Bench result, and a 6–8 month offline gap. Reddit single-post sourcing keeps it in the low featured band.

Apr 27Monday

Hacker News front page

Running Local LLMs Offline on a Ten-Hour Flight

Dmitri Lerko ran Gemma 4 31B and Qwen 4.6 36B locally during a 10-hour flight with no Wi‑Fi. The MacBook Pro M5 Max had 128GB unified memory and a 40-core GPU; sustained load used about 1% battery per minute, and performance degraded past 100k tokens. The sharp finding is instrumentation: an iPhone cable delivered 60W, while a MacBook cable delivered 94W under the same load.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is a named first-person local-inference test with concrete hardware, model, battery, and power numbers. Scope stays practical rather than industry-shaking, so it lands in the 72–77 band.

Synced · WeChat

Apple paper asks: What do your logits know?

Apple researchers posted an arXiv paper testing whether VLM top-k logits leak image details. Using CLEVR, MSCOCO, and probes, 30–80 logits recover noise, target traits, and some background attributes. The key risk is gray-box APIs exposing top-k log probabilities.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Apple paper turns VLM logit outputs into a concrete privacy risk, with CLEVR/MSCOCO probes and a 30–80 logit range. It is strong research, not a same-day platform event, so it stays in 78–84.

Apr 24Friday

Synced · WeChat

Remember more, answer faster, use less: HERMES speeds real-time streaming video understanding by 10x

Fudan University, Shanghai Academy of AI for Science, and NUS proposed HERMES, a training-free framework that turns KV cache into hierarchical memory for streaming video understanding and cuts TTFT by up to 10x. The post lists three mechanisms: hierarchical cache management, cross-layer memory smoothing, and position re-indexing; it reports 68% fewer video tokens with comparable or better results, and Qwen2.5-VL-7B on StreamingBench rising from 73.31% to 79.44%. What matters for practitioners: it answers without external retrieval, with TTFT around 27/29/28 ms at 16/64/256 frames.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the 10x speed claim is a real hook, and the article includes concrete mechanisms and numbers, including 68% fewer video tokens and 27-29 ms TTFT. It stays below major product-news bands because this is an academic research release, not a market-moving launch.

Apr 23Thursday

QbitAI · WeChat

Qwen3.6-27B open-weights, beats its 397B flagship predecessor on agentic coding

Qwen released Qwen3.6-27B and says it beats Qwen3.5-397B on 4 agentic coding benchmarks with about 1/15 the parameters. The post cites SkillsBench rising from 30.0 to 48.2, GPQA Diamond at 87.8, and AIME26 at 94.1; it uses a dense architecture, Thinking Preservation, and Gated DeltaNet, with weights on Hugging Face and ModelScope.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Qwen open-source model release with concrete agent-coding and reasoning scores, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. I keep it at 84, not higher, because the post gives strong benchmarks but no pricing, context window, or independent reproduction yet.

Bloomberg Technology

Alibaba Adds China Eastern Flight Booking to Flagship Qwen App

Alibaba added China Eastern flight booking to the Qwen app, letting users book flights directly; the snippet says this is the first time its agentic AI tech has opened to a major commercial partner. The RSS snippet does not disclose launch regions, fare classes, payment flow, or revenue terms. The real signal is Qwen moving from chat entry to transaction flow, not just another assistant feature.

Why it matters: Featured on HKR-H/K/R: Qwen moves from answers to booking, a concrete agent-commerce step. Kept at 76 because the brief does not disclose rollout scope, payment flow, rev-share, or fulfillment details.

Apr 22Wednesday

Hacker News front page

Qwen3.6-27B: Flagship-Level Coding in a 27B Dense Model

Qwen released the open-weight 27B dense model Qwen3.6-27B and made it available in Qwen Studio. It scores 77.2 on SWE-bench Verified vs. 76.2 for Qwen3.5-397B-A17B, and 59.3 on Terminal-Bench 2.0 under a 256K context and 3-hour timeout. The real takeaway is deployment: this is not a larger MoE, but a denser 27B model with stronger coding results.

Why it matters: Qwen3.6-27B is a substantive flagship-model release with open weights, concrete coding benchmarks, and a practical dense-deployment angle. HKR-H/K/R all pass, and per policy a major Chinese model launch should score on par with an equivalent US-lab release.

Apr 21Tuesday

Synced · WeChat

Monet: Enabling multimodal LLMs to reason in latent visual space

Monet trains Qwen2.5-VL-7B into Monet-7B to reason with continuous latent visual embeddings instead of external tools; the work is accepted by CVPR 2026 and releases paper, code, model, and a 125K SFT dataset. The method uses three-stage SFT plus VLPO reinforcement learning; the post reports 3% to 9.75% gains on in-distribution tasks and 2.31% on out-of-distribution abstract visual reasoning versus the base model. The key detail is the VLPO mechanism and dataset construction; the post does not disclose one unified table of absolute headline scores.

Why it matters: This hits HKR-H and HKR-K: the angle is abstract visual reasoning, and the post includes 125K SFT data, a 3-stage SFT setup, VLPO, and 3%–9.75% / 2.31% gains. HKR-R is weaker because full absolute leaderboard scores and real deployment evidence are not disclosed, so it lands as a

Apr 20Monday

r/LocalLLaMA

Using Qwen3.6 via LM Studio as a Claude Code subagent, saving 30x Opus tokens per task

A Reddit user routed Qwen3.6 through LM Studio as a Claude Code subagent and reported about 30x lower Opus marginal tokens on two audit tasks. In the examples, a 23-file route audit dropped from 13k to 0.4k marginal tokens, and an 18-file Astro site inventory fell from 89k to 3k; the setup used unsloth’s Qwen3.6-35B-A3B-MXFP4_MOE gguf on a 64GB M4 Max with a 64k context window. The key mechanism is offloading extraction and audit work to a local OpenAI-compatible server, while the post also says quality was mixed rather than strictly better than Opus.

Why it matters: A named first-person experiment with 2 clear token comparisons hits HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R: strong hook, concrete setup details, and direct cost relevance for Claude Code users. It stays below p1 because the evidence is a Reddit post with only 2 tasks.

Apr 19Sunday

r/LocalLLaMA

Same 9B Qwen weights: 19.1% in Aider vs 45.6% with a scaffold adapted to small local models

Using the same Qwen3.5-9B Q4 weights on the 225-task Aider Polyglot benchmark, the author changed only the scaffold and raised mean pass@2 from 19.11% to 45.56%. The little-coder setup is not a new model; it uses bounded reasoning, a write guard, explicit workspace discovery, and small per-turn skill injections. The key claim is scaffold-model fit, but the post reports only two full runs and does not disclose ablations, cross-model replications, or a second benchmark.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is a 2.4x jump on Aider Polyglot 225 with the same 9B Qwen weights, and the post names the scaffold mechanisms. Importance stays low-featured because evidence is thin: two full runs, no ablation, no cross-model rerun, and no second benchmark.

Synced · WeChat

MIA, a next-generation memory agent framework, aims to end agents' "amnesiac" workflows

A Shanghai Institute for Advanced Learning and ECNU team released MIA, a memory agent framework, and said it achieved the best results on 7 datasets. MIA uses a Manager-Planner-Executor design, dual parametric and non-parametric memory, alternating RL, and test-time continual learning; the post does not disclose exact benchmark scores. The key point is memory as capability internalization, not just retrieval, for open-world agents.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story targets agent memory, a real deployment pain point, and includes specific mechanisms. It stays below p1 because the article does not disclose per-dataset scores, baseline gaps, or enough reproduction detail.

Apr 17Friday

r/LocalLLaMA

PSA: Qwen3.6 ships with preserve_thinking. Make sure you have it on.

Qwen3.6 adds a preserve_thinking flag to keep prior reasoning in context and address the KV cache invalidation issue seen with the Qwen3.5 template. The post cites the Qwen3.6-35B-A3B model page and gives a two-turn 20-digit-number test: with preserve_thinking on, the model can return the second number from its earlier reasoning. The practical point is cross-turn reasoning retention for agent and tool workflows; LM Studio does not support it yet, and an oMLX PR is open.

Why it matters: HKR-H, K, and R all pass: the story has a strong hidden-setting hook, a concrete two-turn repro, and a clear nerve for local-model and agent users. I keep it in the low 70s because this is a Reddit PSA rather than a primary release note, and the impact is concentrated in Qwen/OSS

Hacker News front page

Qwen3.6-35B-A3B on my laptop drew me a better pelican than Claude Opus 4.7

Simon Willison ran a 20.9GB quantized Qwen3.6-35B-A3B on a MacBook Pro M5 and judged its SVG pelican output better than Claude Opus 4.7. He used LM Studio with an Unsloth Q4_K_S GGUF, then repeated the test with “a flamingo riding a unicycle” and again scored Qwen higher. This is not a general capability result; the author says this joke benchmark no longer tracks overall model usefulness in this comparison.

Why it matters: A named first-person experiment with reproducible setup gives this strong HKR-H/K/R: the headline has a sharp contrast, the post includes a 20.9GB GGUF on an M5 MacBook Pro via LM Studio, and it hits the open-local-vs-closed-frontier debate. It stays in featured, not higher, لأن/

Apr 16Thursday

Hacker News front page

Qwen3.6-35B-A3B: Agentic coding power, now open to all

Qwen released Qwen3.6-35B-A3B as open weights, with 35B total parameters and 3B active parameters. The post reports 73.4 on SWE-bench Verified, 51.5 on Terminal-Bench 2.0, and 92.0 on RefCOCO. The key point is agentic coding and multimodal performance at a 3B active-parameter budget, with weights, Qwen Studio, and API access available.

r/LocalLLaMA

Qwen3.6-35B-A3B released

Qwen released Qwen3.6-35B-A3B as open source under Apache 2.0; it is a sparse MoE with 35B total parameters and 3B active. The post also claims agentic coding, strong multimodal perception and reasoning, plus thinking and non-thinking modes; the post does not disclose benchmarks, context length, or latency.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a new open Qwen model is timely, and the post confirms 35B total, 3B active, and Apache 2.0. The score stays at 82 because this is still a launch post; benchmarks, context window, latency, and multimodal details are not disclosed here.

Apr 7Tuesday

Latent Space

[AINews] Gemma 4 crosses 2 million downloads

Google’s Gemma 4 reached about 2 million downloads in its first week. The post compares that with Gemma 3 at 6.7 million over the past year, Gemma 2 at 1.4 million since June 2024, and Qwen 3.5 at about 27 million in roughly 1.5 months. The signal for practitioners is local deployment: one iPhone 17 Pro demo ran Gemma 4 E2B at about 40 tok/s via MLX, with support across Hugging Face, vLLM, llama.cpp, Ollama, and NVIDIA.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story has a clean hook, concrete comparative download data, and a real open-model adoption nerve. It stays low-featured because this is a secondary-source uptake snapshot, not a primary Google release or a substantive capability update.

Mar 17Tuesday

NVIDIA Blog

GTC spotlights NVIDIA RTX PCs and DGX Spark running latest open models and AI agents locally

NVIDIA used GTC to showcase RTX PCs and DGX Spark for running local AI agents, and announced Nemotron 3 Nano 4B, Nemotron 3 Super 120B, and the open source NemoClaw stack. The post says DGX Spark has 128GB unified memory for models above 120B parameters; Nemotron 3 Super scored 85.6% on PinchBench, and Qwen 3.5 supports a 262,000-token context window. The key signal is local inference for privacy and zero token cost, while the full “latest open models” lineup and pricing are not disclosed in the post.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the local-agent hook is strong, and the post includes concrete specs and benchmark numbers. I keep it in featured, not higher, because the full model list and pricing are not disclosed and the source is still a vendor launch post.