Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

321–340 of 842

May 20Wednesday

The Verge · AI

The 13 Biggest Announcements at Google I/O 2026

Google announced Gemini 3.5 Flash at I/O 2026. It becomes the default model today for the Gemini app and AI Mode in Search, while Gemini 3.5 Pro follows next month; the RSS snippet also mentions Search, Gmail, and Project Aura smart glasses updates but does not disclose the full list of 13 announcements.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the text only gives Gemini 3.5 Flash default rollout and Pro timing; it lacks the full 13 items, benchmarks, or pricing, so this stays featured below p1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google releases Gemini 3.5 Flash with 55 intelligence score

Google released Gemini 3.5 Flash, raising its intelligence score by 9 points to 55, exceeding 280 output tokens per second, and increasing operating cost by 5.5 times versus the previous generation.

Why it matters: A Google Gemini 3.5 Flash release is a top-lab model update, backed by Artificial Analysis numbers for speed, intelligence, and cost. HKR-H/K/R all pass, with the 5.5x cost jump making it more than a routine launch.

TechCrunch · AI

Google’s Genie world model can now simulate real streets with Street View

Google DeepMind is integrating Street View with Project Genie for interactive street-level simulations in robotics, gaming, and travel; the post does not disclose model parameters, launch timing, or evaluation results.

Why it matters: Google DeepMind connecting Street View to Genie gives HKR-H/K/R: a novel hook, a concrete mechanism, and robotics/data-moat resonance. Missing params, launch timing, and evals keep it in the 78–84 band.

TechCrunch · AI

With Gemini 3.5 Flash, Google bets its next AI wave on agents, not chatbots

Google launched Gemini 3.5 Flash at its annual developer conference, describing it as its strongest coding and agentic AI model yet; the RSS snippet says it can autonomously execute complex tasks and build software from scratch, but the post does not disclose parameters, pricing, or context window.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a Google model release with an agent-first and code-building claim is same-day material. Missing parameters, pricing, and context window keep it at the low end of the must-write band.

The Verge · AI

Google wants to compete with Anthropic’s Mythos

Google invited select experts at I/O to test the CodeMender API, an AI agent for code security that flags and fixes vulnerabilities; the RSS snippet does not disclose launch timing, pricing, benchmark results, or concrete details about Anthropic’s Claude Mythos Preview.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post only confirms closed expert testing and the flag/fix mechanism; availability, pricing, and eval results are not disclosed, so this stays at the featured threshold.

TechCrunch · AI

Google Search as You Know It Is Over

Google is changing Search from a link list into an AI experience with conversational answers, autonomous agents, and interactive interfaces; the RSS snippet does not disclose a rollout timeline, publisher traffic impact numbers, or product parameters.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google is recasting Search around AI answers, agents, and interactive UI. The post lacks rollout timing and traffic numbers, but this is still a major Google core-product update.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google releases Gemini 3.5 Flash for complex agent workflows

Google introduced Gemini 3.5 Flash at Google I/O for long-running agent workflows; it outscored 3.1 Pro on Terminal-Bench and MCP Atlas, runs up to 4x faster than other frontier models, and reaches up to 12x speed gains in Google Antigravity.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google launched Gemini 3.5 Flash for long-horizon agents with benchmark and speed claims. This is a same-day major model update, below industry-shaking tier.

The Verge · AI

Gmail is going to start talking to you

Google is launching Gmail Live for Gmail, letting users tap a search-bar icon and ask voice questions about inbox content; a press demo retrieved school event dates, locations, and an upcoming Detroit trip from the employee’s email.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Gmail Live adds voice email queries inside a mass-market Google surface. The post gives demo cases, but no launch date, pricing, or model details, so it stays at the lower featured band.

The Verge · AI

Google Search is getting its biggest changes ever

Google showed a redesigned Search box at I/O 2026, using Gemini 3.5 Flash to connect AI Overviews with AI Mode; the RSS snippet says natural-language queries will reliably show AI Overviews, but the post does not disclose rollout timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google is changing Search’s core input with Gemini 3.5 Flash and linking AI Overviews to AI Mode. Rollout timing is missing, so the score stays at 86, but this is still a same-day story for AI pros.

The Verge · AI

Would You Let Robots Spend Your Money? Google Is Betting on It

Google unveiled an AI shopping Universal Cart at I/O that lets users add products while browsing Search or chatting with Gemini, then check out through Google; the RSS snippet says future support includes YouTube and Gmail, while pricing, rollout timing, and retailer coverage are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is AI agents spending money, the new fact is Search/Gemini checkout via Google, and the nerve is agent payment safety. This is a mid-weight Google I/O product update, so 76, not P1.

The Verge · AI

Google can now vibe-code you an Android app

Google upgraded AI Studio today to build native Android apps from prompts, with an embedded Android emulator for preview and device connection for installation; the initial release focuses on personal utility apps, and tester invites are planned but not yet available.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google AI Studio now generates installable native Android prototypes with emulator preview and device install. Scope stays limited to personal utility apps, so this is a mid-weight product update, not P1.

TechCrunch · AI

Agentic app coding gets an upgrade with Google’s release of Android CLI

Google released Android CLI for AI coding agents, letting platforms such as Claude Code and OpenAI Codex build Android apps from the command line; the RSS snippet does not disclose version numbers, release timelines, pricing, or performance data.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body lacks version, timeline, and performance data. Google plus Android plus agentic coding clears the featured line, not the must-write band.

TechCrunch · AI

Google’s AI Studio now lets anyone build Android apps in minutes

Google unveiled web-based AI tools in AI Studio that generate native Android apps in minutes. The RSS snippet does not disclose the model, pricing, availability, or supported development constraints.

Why it matters: Google AI Studio’s coding update clears HKR-H/K/R with a strong speed hook and a concrete capability. Model, pricing, and rollout are not disclosed, so it stays at the featured threshold for a mid-weight product update.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI is making it easier to check if an image was made by its models

OpenAI announced two measures for detecting AI-generated images: it joined the open C2PA standard and added Google’s SynthID to its products. The RSS snippet does not disclose which OpenAI products include SynthID, whether the checks cover legacy images, or when the measures become available to users.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI-Google provenance tie-up is clickable, and C2PA plus SynthID are concrete mechanisms. Coverage, launch timing, and verification flow are not disclosed, so this stays at the featured threshold.

TechCrunch · AI

Google's Gemini Omni turns images, audio, and text into video

Google's Gemini Omni generates and edits video through conversation, using text, images, audio, and video as inputs, with Omni Flash named as the starting version; the RSS snippet says the model reasons across modalities, but the post does not disclose launch date, pricing, context limits, benchmarks, or API availability.

Why it matters: Google-scale Gemini multimodal video update clears HKR-H/K/R: Omni Flash, chat-based editing, and four input types are concrete. Pricing and rollout are not disclosed, so it sits in the lower must-write band.

TechCrunch · AI

Google launches Antigravity 2.0 with updated desktop app and CLI tool at I/O 2026

Google launched Antigravity 2.0 with an updated desktop app and CLI tool, and introduced a $100 AI Ultra plan that gives users 5x the usage limit of AI Pro; the post does not disclose the desktop app or CLI feature details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass, but the post does not disclose concrete desktop or CLI capabilities, so it stays below 78. Google I/O plus the $100 plan and 5x quota clear the featured bar.

TechCrunch · AI

Google introduces Gemini Spark, a 24/7 agentic assistant with Gmail integration, at I/O 2026

Google introduced Gemini Spark at I/O 2026 as a 24/7 agentic personal assistant with Gmail integration; the RSS snippet says it uses Gemini base models and an agentic harness from Google Antigravity, but the post does not disclose pricing, rollout timing, or supported Gmail actions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google used I/O to launch a 24/7 Gmail-linked agentic assistant, a core-entry product update. Price, rollout scope, and safety controls are not disclosed, so it stays at the low end of the 85+ band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

I/O 2026: Welcome to the autonomous Gemini era

Google announced at I/O 2026 that Gemini is moving into an autonomous agent phase, with the post saying it can manage email, schedule calendar items, and generate reports automatically, but it does not disclose model parameters, launch timing, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google frames Gemini as an office agent for email, calendar, and reports. Missing launch timing, price, and model details keeps it in the 78–84 band, below a full major model release.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google AI subscription updates from I/O 2026

Google announced a $100 AI Ultra subscription at I/O 2026 and added new features and benefits for existing Google AI Plus, Pro, and Ultra subscribers.

Why it matters: HKR-H comes from the $100 Ultra hook; HKR-K from the disclosed tiering and price; HKR-R from cost and vendor-selection pressure. Capability limits are not disclosed, so this stays at the low end of featured.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google AI Ultra plan gets a price cut and a new tier

Google cut the top AI Ultra plan from $250 to $200 per month and added a $100 monthly tier with 5x the Gemini app usage limit of Pro, 20TB of storage, early access to new features, and YouTube Premium under stated terms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is subscription pricing and quota packaging, not a model or capability launch. Official source and concrete prices put it at the featured threshold.