Skip to content

Policy & regulation

AI policy and government oversight: legislation, export controls and global governance frameworks.

325 picksRelated topicsIndustrySafety & alignmentTrends

Latest picks

301–320 of 325

Mar 7Saturday

Bloomberg Technology

US Considers Permits for Global Nvidia, AMD AI Chip Sales | Bloomberg Tech 3/6/2026

The US Commerce Department has reportedly drafted rules that would require American approval before Nvidia and AMD AI chips ship anywhere globally. The RSS snippet also says Oracle plans thousands of job cuts amid cash strain from AI data center expansion, and the Pentagon told lawmakers Anthropic poses a US supply-chain risk. The post does not disclose permit thresholds, layoff details, or the basis for the Anthropic finding.

Why it matters: The core policy angle is major: a global permit regime for Nvidia and AMD AI chip exports would have industry-wide impact. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a video roundup page with thin disclosed detail—scope, thresholds, and timing are not clear—so it stays high featured, not p1

Bloomberg Technology

Anthropic at Risk of Huawei-Like Ban After Pentagon Punishment

The US Defense Department labeled Anthropic PBC a supply-chain risk, putting a broad range of US government business at risk. The snippet says this designation had previously been used for firms like Huawei, but the post does not disclose the grounds, scope, or timing. The key point: this is not a routine compliance warning; it can block government procurement access.

Why it matters: This is a high-impact policy/incident story: Bloomberg says the Pentagon labeled Anthropic a supply-chain risk, clearing HKR-H/K/R on novelty, concrete news value, and industry resonance. Missing basis, scope, and effective date keep it at 84 and featured, not p1.

MIT Technology Review · AI

Is the Pentagon allowed to surveil Americans with AI?

MIT Technology Review reports that the Pentagon sought to use Anthropic Claude to analyze bulk commercial data on Americans, triggering a public clash; OpenAI then revised its contract to bar intentional domestic surveillance of U.S. persons. The key mechanism disclosed is that the U.S. government can buy commercial location and browsing data, and if collection is deemed lawful, current law often does not restrict feeding it into AI for aggregation and profiling. The real issue is that contract red lines may not bind the DoD; OpenAI has not released the full contract, and the post does not disclose how its safety stack would be enforced.

Why it matters: Full HKR-H/K/R: strong Pentagon-surveillance hook, a concrete legal mechanism on commercial data reuse, and clear resonance for defense-contract and safety-boundary debates. It stops short of 85 because the new OpenAI contract text and enforcement details are not disclosed.

Mar 6Friday

Bloomberg Technology

Pentagon Feud With Anthropic Shines Light on AI’s Role in Mass Surveillance

The Pentagon’s clash with Anthropic spotlights a lightly regulated practice: the US government buys commercially available data and uses AI to analyze browsing histories and location data at scale. The RSS snippet names only those data types; the post does not disclose purchase volume, systems used, contract value, or timeline. The real issue is the mechanism: not collection alone, but feeding off-the-shelf data into AI analysis pipelines.

Feb 28Saturday

Bloomberg Technology

Pentagon Casts Cloud of Doubt Over Anthropic’s AI Business

The headline says the Pentagon is casting doubt on Anthropic’s AI business, with the only firm condition being the Feb. 28, 2026 publication date. The RSS snippet only confirms surging sales, viral products, and a large funding round; the post does not disclose amounts, contracts, or the mechanism behind the Pentagon concern.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H and HKR-R: Pentagon scrutiny of Anthropic is an unusual, high-salience conflict frame. HKR-K fails because the feed gives no trigger, contract scope, dollars, or mechanism; Bloomberg authority keeps it barely featured.

Bloomberg Technology

Trump Tells US to Stop Using Anthropic Products

Trump directed US government agencies to stop using Anthropic products because the company and the Pentagon did not agree on AI guardrails. The RSS snippet discloses the action and reason, but the post does not disclose timing, affected agencies, contract value, or the specific guardrail dispute. The key signal is that federal AI procurement is being gated by guardrail terms, not just model capability.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports a strong policy signal: US agency use of Anthropic is tied to Pentagon guardrails terms. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post does not disclose timing, scope, contract value, or the exact dispute, so it stays below the 85 band.

Feb 27Friday

New York Times Chinese

Women in China Are Falling for AI Chatbots, Creating a Policy Problem for Beijing

Chinese women are using AI companion apps as emotional substitutes, complicating Beijing’s push for marriage and births; one 21-year-old user said she had 200+ virtual dates in a year and spends at least one hour daily with two AI boyfriends. MiniMax said Xingye and Talkie had more than 147 million users by last September, while Sensor Tower data shows downloads for Xingye and ByteDance’s Maoxiang fell about 95% from monthly peaks last year. The key signal is regulatory: platforms are required to intervene when users develop unhealthy dependence.

Why it matters: Not a model launch; the value is the collision between AI companionship, Chinese demographics, and platform regulation. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the strong social hook plus concrete figures, so it lands at the low end of featured, not same-day must-write.

Feb 8Sunday

TechCrunch · AI

New York lawmakers propose a three-year pause on new data centers

New York lawmakers proposed a 3-year pause on new data centers. The RSS snippet only confirms New York is at least the sixth state considering such a pause and says the bill’s prospects are uncertain; the post does not disclose the bill number, scope, or exemptions. The key issue is whether it freezes all new projects or only specific permits.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is strong, it includes two concrete facts, and it directly touches compute constraints. I kept it in the low featured band because this is only a proposal; bill number, scope, exemptions, and passage odds are not disclosed.

Jan 30Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

DHS is using Google and Adobe AI to make videos

A DHS document says the agency uses Google Veo 3, Google Flow, and Adobe Firefly for public-facing content, with an estimated 100 to 1,000 licenses. It also says DHS uses Microsoft Copilot Chat for drafting and summarization and Poolside for coding; the post does not disclose which specific videos used which tool. The key point for practitioners is that commercial video generators are now inside a federal public-communications workflow, while watermark retention and attribution remain unverifiable across platforms.

Bloomberg Technology

US Lawmaker Says Nvidia Worked to 'Co-Design' DeepSeek Model

The Republican chair of the House China committee said Nvidia gave DeepSeek technical support that helped improve a breakthrough AI model despite US export controls on high-end chips to China. The RSS snippet discloses the allegation and the regulatory context, but not the model name, support mechanism, timeline, or evidence. The key issue is not chip shipment alone, but whether technical collaboration undermined the controls' intent.

Why it matters: Bloomberg gives this source-authority, and HKR-H / HKR-R land because the allegation is surprising and hits export-control compliance. HKR-K misses: the summary discloses no model name, mechanism, timeline, or evidence, so this stays low-featured rather than must-write.

Jan 27Tuesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

Why chatbots are starting to check your age

OpenAI said it will roll out automatic age prediction, using signals such as time of day to infer whether a user is under 18 and tighten filters on violence and sexual role-play. Users flagged as minors can appeal via Persona with a selfie or government ID; the post does not disclose model accuracy. The real issue is who ends up owning age verification: AI firms, platforms, or regulators.

Why it matters: OpenAI moving age checks into model-side inference is more material than a routine policy memo. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the piece lacks accuracy and false-positive data, so it lands as featured, not p1.

Jan 23Friday

MIT Technology Review · AI

America’s coming war over AI regulation

On December 11, 2025, Donald Trump signed an executive order to challenge state AI laws via DOJ lawsuits and pressure states through federal broadband funding. The post cites New York’s RAISE Act, California’s SB 53, more than 1,000 state AI bills introduced in 2025, and over 100 laws passed across nearly 40 states. The real battleground in 2026 is courts, statehouses, and super PAC spending.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the federal-vs-state AI law fight is a strong hook, and the piece adds an EO date, two named state laws, and state-bill counts. It hits builders' compliance nerve, but it is analysis of a coming battle, not a fresh rule rollout, so it lands at the low end of '

Sep 16, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Teen safety, freedom, and privacy

OpenAI said on September 16, 2025 it will separate under-18 users from adults, while ChatGPT remains intended for ages 13 and up. It is building a behavior-based age prediction system; if age is unclear, users default to the under-18 experience, and some countries or cases may require ID. The key policy shift is stricter teen handling: no flirtatious or suicide-themed creative dialogue, and imminent self-harm risk can trigger parent or authority contact.

Why it matters: OpenAI sets concrete teen-use rules: 13+ access, behavior-based age estimation, minors-by-default when uncertain, and parent/police escalation for acute self-harm risk. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a governance and safety policy update, not a model or product capability jump,

Sep 11, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Statement on OpenAI's Nonprofit and PBC

OpenAI said its nonprofit will keep control of its PBC and receive an equity stake exceeding $100 billion. The post also confirms a first $50 million grant program across AI literacy, community innovation, and economic opportunity; it does not disclose the valuation method, stake size, or closing timeline. The real issue is governance: the statement says safety decisions must follow OpenAI's mission, and OpenAI is working with the California and Delaware Attorneys General.

Jul 11, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

The EU Code of Practice and the Future of AI in Europe

OpenAI said it intends to sign the EU Code of Practice for general-purpose AI if the current draft is formally approved by the AI Board in its upcoming adequacy assessment. The post says the Code is a compliance framework for the EU AI Act and that OpenAI will expand “OpenAI for Countries” in Europe over summer and fall 2025; the truncated post does not disclose the full rollout items, budget, or timeline.

Why it matters: This is mainly a policy-compliance signal from OpenAI. HKR-K passes on the conditional pledge to sign after AI Board adequacy review, and HKR-R passes because EU rules shape deployment and enterprise adoption; HKR-H is weak, and the post omits timing, cost, and rollout detail, so

Jun 6, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

How OpenAI is responding to The New York Times’ data demands to protect user privacy

OpenAI says a court order requiring indefinite retention of new consumer ChatGPT and API content ended on September 26, 2025, and it has restored its standard 30-day deletion policy. The update says deleted ChatGPT chats, Temporary Chats, and API data are auto-deleted within 30 days, but a limited set of April-September 2025 historical data remains under legal hold, accessible only to a small audited legal and security team. The key scope detail: Free, Plus, Pro, Team, and non-ZDR API users were affected; Enterprise, Edu, and ZDR API customers were not.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI disclosure with direct user impact. HKR-H lands because the NYT data-demand order is unusual; HKR-K lands on the dates, 30-day deletion rule, and carve-outs; HKR-R lands because API users and buyers care about retention and ZDR exposure.

May 8, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

OpenAI’s response to the Department of Energy on AI infrastructure

On May 7, 2025, OpenAI submitted AI infrastructure proposals to the US Department of Energy, urging federal land use, faster permitting, and financial incentives for AI supercomputer hubs. The post says the first Stargate campus is underway in Abilene, Texas, and more sites are being evaluated in Texas and other states; it does not disclose specific tax, power-pricing, or lease terms. The real signal is policy positioning: OpenAI is framing data centers, energy, and permitting as a national industrial agenda.

Why it matters: This is a primary-source policy filing, not a product update, but HKR-H/K/R all land because it connects federal land, permitting, and power to AI compute expansion. The DOE proposal and Abilene Stargate construction are concrete; undisclosed tax, power-price, and lease terms cap

Mar 14, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

The court rejects Elon Musk’s latest attempt to slow OpenAI down

OpenAI says a court on March 4, 2025 rejected Elon Musk’s request for a preliminary injunction, finding he had not shown a likelihood of success on the merits. The post also says the court dismissed several claims and that OpenAI does not plan a nonprofit “conversion,” but the post does not disclose the case number, how many claims were dismissed, or the litigation timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Musk-OpenAI legal fight is clickable, the post adds a dated court result, and the ruling matters for OpenAI governance and xAI rivalry. It stays below P1 because this is a self-authored company post and the docket/order details are not disclosed here.

Mar 13, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

OpenAI’s proposals for the U.S. AI Action Plan

OpenAI said on March 13, 2025 it submitted recommendations to the White House OSTP for the U.S. AI Action Plan, covering 5 areas: regulation, export controls, copyright, infrastructure, and government adoption. The post states policy directions such as reducing burdensome state-law compliance, updating the AI diffusion rule, and preserving model training on copyrighted material; it does not disclose the filing length, budget, or implementation timeline. The key point is that this is a policy push, not a product update.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the White House policy angle is clickable, and the post names five concrete asks. I kept it below 80 because it reads more like a position paper than an implemented policy; document length, budget, and timeline are not disclosed.

Feb 8, 2025Saturday

OpenAI News

OpenAI at the Paris AI Action Summit

OpenAI said ChatGPT has 300 million weekly active users globally and used the 2025 Paris AI Action Summit to update its safety commitments. The post says it has published system cards for five frontier models since Seoul—4o, o1, Sora, Operator, and o3-mini—and plans to update its Preparedness Framework later this year. The key signal for practitioners is procedural: OpenAI says deep research will get a system card before broader access expands.

Why it matters: HKR-H is weak because the summit framing reads like corporate affairs. HKR-K lands on concrete facts—300M weekly active users, five frontier model system cards since Seoul, and a Preparedness Framework update this year; HKR-R lands because OpenAI's safety-disclosure cadence sets.