Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

101–120 of 760

Jun 1Monday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

400 tokens/s: StepFun Step 3.7 Flash cuts Agent task costs

StepFun released Step 3.7 Flash, a sparse MoE model with 196B parameters plus a 1.8B ViT, activating 11B parameters per inference and reaching up to 400 tokens per second.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass with concrete speed and parameter numbers. The feed does not disclose pricing, benchmark setup, or open-source terms, so this stays in the 78–84 quality update band.

QbitAI · WeChat

How Cloud Models Reach the Physical World: CMG Lion Rock AI Lab Uses LiOS for Embodied AI

CMG Lion Rock AI Lab released the LiOS edge-cloud architecture for embodied robotics, reporting about 30 ms one-way latency from local camera to cloud GPU memory in cross-machine tests, and open-sourced the low-latency video transmission module plus the LeFold laundry-folding dataset.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: LiOS offers a concrete latency claim and open artifacts for embodied AI. Impact stays mid-tier because the lab is not a top platform vendor and no cross-source cluster is shown.

r/LocalLLaMA

Deepseek V4 Flash performance on DGX Spark

A Reddit user ran DeepSeek-V4-Flash with vLLM on two ASUS GX10 DGX Spark nodes and reported 1,680 prefill tokens/s plus 39.8 decode tokens/s at a 256K context with MTP=2; the setup uses TP=2 over RoCE, fp8 KV cache, and fits about 1M tokens safely in KV cache.

Why it matters: This is not broad industry news, but it is a first-person benchmark with reproducible details: TP=2, RoCE, fp8 KV cache, 256K context, and ~1M KV. HKR-H/K/R all pass, so it lands at low featured.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

NVIDIA Releases FOX Factory Operations Blueprint for Autonomous Factory Management Agents

NVIDIA released the FOX factory operations blueprint at GTC Taipei, and Foxconn used it to build the MoMClaw multi-agent system with an expected 80% reduction in root-cause analysis time.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: NVIDIA is pushing an agent blueprint into factory ops, with Foxconn’s MoMClaw and an expected 80% RCA time cut. Kept at the featured floor because the source is a vendor blog and the result is projected.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

NVIDIA Releases RTX Spark and Local AI Agent Security and Performance Updates

NVIDIA released RTX Spark, a Windows PC for local AI agents with 1 petaflops of AI compute and 128GB of unified memory. OpenShell uses new Windows security primitives with Microsoft, while llama.cpp optimizations raise Qwen 27B throughput by up to 2x.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: NVIDIA frames RTX Spark for local agents and gives hard specs: 1 petaflops, 128GB, and up to 2x llama.cpp throughput. Vendor-blog framing keeps it in the low 78–84 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Qwen3.7-Plus: Multimodal Agent Intelligence

Qwen Studio lists seven capability areas: chatbots, image and video understanding, image generation, document processing, web search integration, tool use, and artifact generation; the post does not disclose Qwen3.7-Plus parameters, pricing, or release timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass, but the facts are thin: 7 capability categories, no params, pricing, benchmarks, or launch terms. A Qwen flagship update clears featured, not p1.

r/LocalLLaMA

I ported NVIDIA Parakeet speech-to-text to ggml: same output as NeMo, faster, GGUF-quantized, no Python

mudler_it ported NVIDIA Parakeet speech-to-text models to C++/ggml with no Python or PyTorch, reporting byte-for-byte NeMo parity on f32/f16, up to about 5x GPU speedups on larger TDT and hybrid models, and GGUF quantization across f16, q8_0, q6_k, q5_k, and q4_k.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the port has a concrete local-inference hook, byte-parity and speed claims, and clear practitioner resonance. Source scope keeps it at the low featured band, not P1.

May 31Sunday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Apple WWDC AI Upgrade: Gemini-Distilled Model Runs Locally, With Heavy External Dependencies

Apple will present Siri and on-device AI upgrades at next month’s WWDC, with iPhones running a smaller Gemini-distilled model locally while complex queries route to Google Cloud using Nvidia confidential computing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Apple-Google-Nvidia stack is a strong WWDC AI hook with a concrete routing mechanism and clear industry tension. Capped at 82 because this is a single X-sourced claim with no model size, latency, pricing, or contract terms disclosed.

r/LocalLLaMA

Use any model and provider with the official OpenAI Codex Desktop App without modifying its code

Reddit user thibautrey describes a 3-step setup: edit Codex Desktop config.toml, store an API key, and use a multicodex proxy alias to map gpt-5.3-codex to MiniMax-Latest. The post lists a local base_url of 127.0.0.1:1455 and says the proxy disguises returned model names as gpt-5.3-codex.

Why it matters: This is a reproducible developer workflow trick, not an official release. HKR-H comes from the lock-in workaround, HKR-K has concrete config details, and HKR-R hits cost and model-choice pressure, placing it at the tutorial featured threshold.

Synced · WeChat

Microsoft open-sources SkillOpt for training Agent skill documents, reaching 3.3k stars in a week

Microsoft open-sourced SkillOpt, a text-space optimization framework that trains Agent skill documents without changing model weights; the paper reports best or tied-best results across 52 combinations covering 7 target models, 6 benchmarks, and 3 execution environments.

Why it matters: Microsoft’s open-source SkillOpt is a strong Agent tooling and research release. HKR-H has the 3.3k-star/trainable-skill hook, HKR-K has the text-parameter mechanism and 52 eval setups, and HKR-R hits agent engineering pain, so it lands in featured at 82.

QbitAI · WeChat

Fudan and Tongyi introduce ToolCUA for GUI-Tool path selection in agents

Fudan University and Tongyi Lab introduced ToolCUA-8B, which reaches 46.85% accuracy on OSWorld-MCP after training with about 4k synthetic tools and 180k interleaved GUI-Tool trajectory steps.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the tool-selection failure hook is concrete, with OSWorld-MCP 46.85% and 180k steps. It stays in the 78–84 band because this is a research release, not a major model or product launch.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Run Python ASGI Apps in the Browser with Pyodide and Service Workers

Simon Willison demonstrated running Python ASGI apps in the browser with Pyodide and Service Workers, with Claude Opus 4.8 assisting development, and showed two working demos: a basic ASGI FastCGI demo and Datasette 1.0a31.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post has a surprising browser-runtime hook, concrete mechanisms, and developer resonance. Impact stays in the 72–77 band because this is a developer experiment, not a model or platform launch.

May 30Saturday

TechCrunch · AI

I put Google’s 24/7 AI assistant Gemini Spark to work, and it’s actually pretty useful

TechCrunch tested Google’s Gemini Spark as a 24/7 AI assistant for inbox summaries and local event planning; the RSS snippet does not disclose pricing, release timing, or why Google made it a separate product.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the hands-on angle is clickable, and inbox plus local-planning automation gives concrete substance. The score stays in the low featured band because price, launch timing, and product positioning are not disclosed.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Nano Banana Pro and Nano Banana 2 officially released

Google AI Developers released Nano Banana Pro and Nano Banana 2, mapped to gemini-3-pro-image and gemini-3.1-flash-image. The post says both are production-ready through the Gemini API, but does not disclose pricing, benchmarks, or runtime limits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google names two image models and production Gemini API access. Missing pricing, benchmarks, and invocation limits keep it in the mid product-update band rather than a must-write release.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Claude AI fluency scorecard surfaces, with strong users scoring 7.5

Anthropic is testing a Claude AI Fluency scorecard that analyzes Chat, Cowork, and Claude Code history against 11 observable behaviors, with an 11-point maximum score. The underlying study used 9,830 anonymized multi-turn conversations, and iteration appeared in 85.7% of high-quality conversations.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the angle is clickable, the scorecard has concrete numbers, and Claude users will debate being graded. This is not a model launch or major capability release, so it stays in the 78–84 featured band.

QbitAI · WeChat

RUC and Zhizhi Institute Open-Source Claw Agent Data, Training, and Evaluation Pipeline

Renmin University of China and Zhizhi Institute open-sourced ClawGym, a Claw Agent framework with 13.5K synthetic executable tasks, 200 benchmark tasks, model checkpoints, training data, and training code; ClawGym-30B-A3B scores 56.82 on ClawGym-Bench and exceeds Qwen3-235B-A23B in the reported evaluation.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: ClawGym bundles data, code, checkpoints, and eval tasks rather than just a leaderboard. Its impact is developer-facing, below a major lab model release or market-moving event.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Codex Can Manage Conversation Threads and Parallel Tasks

Codex can now create, search, organize, and pin conversation threads inside the Codex interface, and start worktrees for parallel tasks.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Codex gets concrete thread-management and parallel-worktree mechanics that matter to coding-agent users. Scope, pricing, and performance data are not disclosed, so this stays in the lower featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Codex now supports computer use on Windows

OpenAI added Windows computer-use support for Codex, letting users start, review, and guide tasks on a Windows PC through the ChatGPT mobile app; the post states this is an early experience and does not disclose pricing or rollout scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI adds Windows computer use to Codex, controlled through ChatGPT mobile. The post gives the workflow and early-stage condition, but not permissions, pricing, or rollout scope, so this stays at the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenRouter supports model-generated file patches

OpenRouter now supports apply_patch, a server-side tool that lets any model propose file edits through the Responses API using V4A diffs, covering file creation, updates, and deletion, with OpenRouter validating diff syntax on the server.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the OpenRouter update gives coding agents a concrete cross-model patch path with V4A diffs and server validation. It is useful infra, not a model-level release, so it sits low in the 72–77 band.

May 29Friday

The Verge · AI

Adobe’s Conversational AI Agent Is a Mediocre Design Intern

The Verge tested Adobe Firefly AI Assistant in beta. It can operate Adobe design apps as a conversational middleman, rather than only generating images or video. The post says it explains edit steps clearly, but the results were not impressive. The RSS snippet does not disclose pricing, release timing, or the full list of supported apps.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass because this is a Verge hands-on of Adobe’s Firefly AI Assistant beta with a clear negative usability hook. Missing pricing, launch timing, and supported-app details keep it in the 72–77 featured-threshold band.