Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

61–80 of 760

Jun 3Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Qwen3.7 Released with Upgrades to Reasoning and Agent Capabilities

Qwen released Qwen3.7, and the post says it upgrades reasoning, tool use, coding, and long-horizon agent tasks; the post does not disclose model size, pricing, benchmark scores, or release conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass because Qwen3.7 is a flagship Alibaba model update with practitioner relevance. HKR-K fails: the post names capability areas but gives no params, pricing, benchmarks, or access terms.

r/LocalLLaMA

Microsoft Aion 1.0 Instruct and Aion 1.0 Plan models

Microsoft announced two on-device Aion 1.0 models at Build 2026. Aion 1.0 Plan is a 14B-parameter reasoning and tool-calling model with 32K context, shipping in-box with Windows on capable devices, while Aion 1.0 Instruct targets summarization, rewriting, intents, accessibility, Edge integration, and open-weight availability.

Why it matters: Microsoft announced Aion 1.0 Instruct and Plan at Build 2026, with Plan listed as a 14B, 32K-context model for eligible Windows devices. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but licensing, benchmarks, and hardware requirements are not disclosed, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

OpenAI’s Greg Brockman and a 9-Year Rift With Anthropic Co-Founder Dario Amodei

A WSJ-based profile says Dario Amodei once barred Greg Brockman from an internal OpenAI project that later led to ChatGPT, and the article says Brockman now oversees OpenAI product strategy with nearly 1,500 people under that function.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the WSJ-sourced ban detail and the nearly 1,500-person scope give this more signal than gossip. It is not a model release or current executive departure, so it stays in the good-quality featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Complete Practical Tips for Agent Engineering

@mvanhorn shared an agent engineering workflow centered on a Research→Plan→Work loop, plan.md constraints, and 22 practical tips; the snippet says it covers planning, parallel execution, input methods, and remote control, but the post does not disclose the full tool stack list.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a practitioner methods post, not a model or product release. The full tool stack is not disclosed, so it sits at the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Grok Becomes Vapi's Default Voice Engine

xAI partnered with Vapi to make Grok the default engine for 12 core voices, covering more than 2.5 million voice agents, and Grok Voice ranked first in Vapi’s independent blind test.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the default-engine switch has scale, numbers, and voice-agent market resonance. Single-source partnership news lacks test methodology, pricing, and migration data, so it stays in the mid product-update band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

xAI releases Grok Imagine 1.5 preview image-to-video model

xAI released grok-imagine-video-1.5-preview via its API, letting users turn one still image into 720p video while controlling camera movement, pacing, and sound effects with natural-language prompts.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: xAI ships a named image-to-video API preview with 720p output and sound controls. It stays below 85 because this is a preview product update, not a flagship foundation-model release.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI launches Codex Sites to turn ideas into interactive websites

OpenAI opened Codex Sites in preview to Business and Enterprise subscribers, letting users turn ideas into hosted interactive sites such as dashboards, planners, and project boards, with URL sharing for specified team members.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is an OpenAI Codex enterprise-preview feature rather than a model or core capability release. It sits in the mid-weight product-update band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

NVIDIA launches NemoClaw platform for autonomous AI engineers in industrial software

NVIDIA released NemoClaw at COMPUTEX as an open blueprint for long-running AI agents, and more than a dozen industrial software vendors are using it to build autonomous AI engineers for CAE and EDA workflows that compress weeks-long simulation and design tasks into hours.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: NVIDIA’s NemoClaw targets industrial agents with 10+ vendors and a weeks-to-hours claim. The NVIDIA-blog sourcing and missing technical detail keep it at the lower featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google DeepMind open-sources a toolkit for scientific agents

Google DeepMind released Science Skills on GitHub for scientific-discovery agent workflows; the post does not disclose the license, benchmark results, or numeric token-efficiency gains.

Why it matters: Passes HKR-H/K/R: DeepMind, open source, and science agents make it relevant. Missing license, benchmarks, and efficiency data keep it in the 78–84 band, not P1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Claude Code Adds Dynamic Workflows

Claude Code added dynamic workflows that execute JavaScript files at runtime to create and coordinate multiple subagents; each subagent has its own context window, and the feature is described for research, security analysis, and code review tasks.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Claude Code gets runtime JS workflows coordinating isolated-context subagents. Anthropic update earns a bump, but this is a feature release rather than a model or platform launch, so it sits in the 78–84 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Claude Code launches dynamic workflows for task-specific frameworks

Claude Code added dynamic workflows that execute JavaScript files to coordinate subagents, with configurable model choice and workspace isolation level, but the post does not disclose token overhead figures or release availability details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post gives mechanism-level detail only; token overhead, rollout scope, and pricing are not disclosed. Claude Code relevance lifts this to the high end of a mid-weight product update.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Runway API adds Aleph 2.0 video editing

Runway API now provides Aleph 2.0 video editing for integration into apps, products, and platforms, supporting precise edits on multi-shot videos up to 30 seconds at 1080p while changing only selected portions; the post does not disclose pricing, rate limits, latency, or model availability by region.

Why it matters: Runway is a core AI-video player, and Aleph 2.0 exposes partial video editing via API with 30s and 1080p limits. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a mid-weight product update, not a model-class release.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Claude Platform Adds CLI Tool

Claude Platform added a CLI that runs every API endpoint from the terminal, calls the Messages API, launches Claude-hosted agents, and pipes results directly into the shell.

Why it matters: Claude Platform CLI clears HKR-H/K/R as a practical developer-tooling update, but the post only gives capability scope; install flow, permissions, safety limits, and pricing are not disclosed.

TechCrunch · AI

Microsoft Offers Developers a Better Way to Control AI Agent Behavior

Microsoft released an agent policy specification that lets developer, compliance, and security teams define behavior rules in portable policy files; the post does not disclose the version, license, supported frameworks, or rollout timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the portable-policy mechanism is concrete and the safety/compliance nerve is real for agent builders. Missing version, license, and framework support keeps it at the featured threshold, not a same-day must-write.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Microsoft Scout: A New OpenClaw-Based AI Personal Assistant

Microsoft launched Microsoft Scout, an OpenClaw-based personal assistant that can run persistently inside Outlook, OneDrive, and Teams, and enterprises can assign it to employees for calendar management, expense processing, and email drafting.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body is thin: it gives integrations and task scope, not pricing, launch timing, or technical depth. Treat it as a Microsoft workplace-agent product update at the low featured band.

r/LocalLLaMA

Using Gemma 4 E4B with LiteRT: about 2.4× faster text generation than Q4 GGUF

The author tested Gemma 4 E4B on an RTX 4060 Ti 16GB, where LiteRT averaged 157.2 tok/s for text generation versus 66.3 tok/s for llama.cpp Q4 GGUF; image captioning on 111 full-resolution images improved only 1.1×, at about 72 seconds versus 80 seconds.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, with a first-person benchmark including hardware, throughput, and sample count. Source authority is limited to one Reddit test, so it sits at the featured threshold rather than the 78+ band.

Bloomberg Technology

Uber Caps Usage of AI Tools Like Claude Code to Manage Costs

Uber Technologies set usage caps on staff AI tools including Claude Code after the company exceeded its AI budget earlier this year; the post does not disclose the cap size, affected teams, or budget amount.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Bloomberg item gives a named enterprise cost-control case for Claude Code-like tools. Budget size, cap rules, and affected headcount are not disclosed, keeping it at the featured threshold.

Latent Space

GitHub's Plan for Agents — Kyle Daigle, GitHub

GitHub COO Kyle Daigle said AI-driven code commits grew 14x in 2026, and the interview covers Copilot, Actions, MCP, WorkIQ, cloud agents, and the infrastructure availability pressure created when code review, CI/CD, and open-source contribution volume scale beyond human-speed workflows.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a GitHub executive gives a 14x AI code-submission figure and ties Copilot, Actions, MCP, WorkIQ, and cloud agents into one roadmap. Not a major release, so it stays at 80.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Claude Code Team Practice: How Agentic Coding Changes Engineering Organizations and Processes

The Claude Code engineering team described process changes after making agentic coding the default at Code w/ Claude SF 2026: JIT planning, asking Claude first for context collection, Claude handling style and tests in code review, and humans focusing on legal and safety judgments.

Why it matters: First-party Claude Code workflow post with concrete engineering mechanisms and strong HKR-H/K/R fit. It is not a model or major product release, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenAI Codex releases Python SDK for direct app integration

OpenAI Codex released a Python SDK with the install command pip install openai-codex, and the snippet says it can reuse the Codex login state; the post does not disclose API pricing, model versions, or rate-limit conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: a Codex SDK for embedded app use is practical and discussable. Sparse sourcing keeps it in the mid-weight product-update band: package and auth are given, but price, model, and rate limits are not.