Skip to content

MCP & tool use

How models connect to the outside world: the MCP ecosystem, function calling and tool integrations.

760 picksRelated topicsAgentsAI codingOpen source

Latest picks

221–240 of 760

May 20Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Production Guide for Claude Operating Real User Interfaces

ClaudeDevs published a production guide for Claude computer use, and the snippet lists four mechanisms: click accuracy, thinking effort level selection, context retention in long sessions, and replayable demonstration logging.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a practical Claude UI-control guide with 4 concrete mechanisms. It is not an official model or product release, so it fits the quality-tutorial band rather than same-day must-write.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Smarter Google AI Edge Gallery: MCP Integration, Notifications, and Session Continuity

Google AI Edge Gallery adds experimental MCP support on Android, letting Gemma 4 coordinate external data sources including Google Workspace and Google Maps; the update also adds scheduled notifications and persistent chat history for faster restoration of long-session context.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google’s developer update adds experimental MCP, notifications, and session continuity to AI Edge Gallery. It is a mid-weight product update, not a model release or major capability launch.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google Tensor ML SDK Beta Released

Google released the Tensor ML SDK beta, letting developers convert, compile, and run PyTorch or TFLite models on Pixel 10 TPUs through LiteRT, with a model library containing more than 100 classic and generative AI models, including Gemma 3.

Why it matters: HKR-K is strong: the post gives a concrete Pixel 10 TPU workflow and a 100+ model library. HKR-H/R clear the featured bar, but this is a beta developer SDK rather than a flagship model or major consumer launch.

TechCrunch · AI

Google takes a page from Meta, announces audio-powered smart glasses at I/O 2026

Google announced “audio glasses” at I/O 2026, letting users issue voice commands across its apps and services, including Gemini; the RSS snippet does not disclose price, launch timing, or hardware specifications.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Google announced Gemini-linked audio glasses at I/O 2026, a credible AI-hardware platform move. Missing price, launch date, and specs keep it in the low featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Empirical Research Assistant ERA: From Nature Publication to Computational Discovery

Google Research published its Gemini-based Empirical Research Assistant in Nature and opened early access through the Google Labs trusted tester program.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google moves Gemini-based ERA from a Nature paper to a Labs trusted-tester trial. Score stays at 78 because the provided text lacks metrics, benchmark setup, or reproducible workflow details.

Hacker News front page

Gemini CLI will stop working from June 18, 2026

Google Developers Blog says Gemini CLI will stop working on June 18, 2026, and the post title points to a transition to Antigravity CLI; the RSS snippet only includes the article URL, Hacker News comments URL, 36 points, and 10 comments, and it does not disclose migration steps, compatibility details, or replacement behavior.

Why it matters: Google’s developer blog gives a Gemini CLI shutdown date and migration target, clearing HKR-H/K/R. Detail is thin beyond the deadline, so it stays in the low featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google Search gets its biggest redesign in 25 years with AI-driven interaction changes

Google announced at I/O 2026 the biggest Search redesign in 25 years, powered by Gemini 3.5 Flash, with AI Mode exceeding 1 billion monthly active users and query volume doubling each quarter.

Why it matters: Google Search is an internet entry-point product; 1B+ AI Mode MAU and quarterly query doubling put this beyond a routine feature update. HKR-H/K/R all pass, so it lands in p1.

TechCrunch · AI

Google Search as You Know It Is Over

Google is changing Search from a link list into an AI experience with conversational answers, autonomous agents, and interactive interfaces; the RSS snippet does not disclose a rollout timeline, publisher traffic impact numbers, or product parameters.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google is recasting Search around AI answers, agents, and interactive UI. The post lacks rollout timing and traffic numbers, but this is still a major Google core-product update.

The Verge · AI

Gmail is going to start talking to you

Google is launching Gmail Live for Gmail, letting users tap a search-bar icon and ask voice questions about inbox content; a press demo retrieved school event dates, locations, and an upcoming Detroit trip from the employee’s email.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Gmail Live adds voice email queries inside a mass-market Google surface. The post gives demo cases, but no launch date, pricing, or model details, so it stays at the lower featured band.

The Verge · AI

Would You Let Robots Spend Your Money? Google Is Betting on It

Google unveiled an AI shopping Universal Cart at I/O that lets users add products while browsing Search or chatting with Gemini, then check out through Google; the RSS snippet says future support includes YouTube and Gmail, while pricing, rollout timing, and retailer coverage are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is AI agents spending money, the new fact is Search/Gemini checkout via Google, and the nerve is agent payment safety. This is a mid-weight Google I/O product update, so 76, not P1.

The Verge · AI

Google can now vibe-code you an Android app

Google upgraded AI Studio today to build native Android apps from prompts, with an embedded Android emulator for preview and device connection for installation; the initial release focuses on personal utility apps, and tester invites are planned but not yet available.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google AI Studio now generates installable native Android prototypes with emulator preview and device install. Scope stays limited to personal utility apps, so this is a mid-weight product update, not P1.

TechCrunch · AI

Agentic app coding gets an upgrade with Google’s release of Android CLI

Google released Android CLI for AI coding agents, letting platforms such as Claude Code and OpenAI Codex build Android apps from the command line; the RSS snippet does not disclose version numbers, release timelines, pricing, or performance data.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body lacks version, timeline, and performance data. Google plus Android plus agentic coding clears the featured line, not the must-write band.

TechCrunch · AI

Google’s AI Studio now lets anyone build Android apps in minutes

Google unveiled web-based AI tools in AI Studio that generate native Android apps in minutes. The RSS snippet does not disclose the model, pricing, availability, or supported development constraints.

Why it matters: Google AI Studio’s coding update clears HKR-H/K/R with a strong speed hook and a concrete capability. Model, pricing, and rollout are not disclosed, so it stays at the featured threshold for a mid-weight product update.

TechCrunch · AI

Google launches Antigravity 2.0 with updated desktop app and CLI tool at I/O 2026

Google launched Antigravity 2.0 with an updated desktop app and CLI tool, and introduced a $100 AI Ultra plan that gives users 5x the usage limit of AI Pro; the post does not disclose the desktop app or CLI feature details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass, but the post does not disclose concrete desktop or CLI capabilities, so it stays below 78. Google I/O plus the $100 plan and 5x quota clear the featured bar.

TechCrunch · AI

Google introduces Gemini Spark, a 24/7 agentic assistant with Gmail integration, at I/O 2026

Google introduced Gemini Spark at I/O 2026 as a 24/7 agentic personal assistant with Gmail integration; the RSS snippet says it uses Gemini base models and an agentic harness from Google Antigravity, but the post does not disclose pricing, rollout timing, or supported Gmail actions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google used I/O to launch a 24/7 Gmail-linked agentic assistant, a core-entry product update. Price, rollout scope, and safety controls are not disclosed, so it stays at the low end of the 85+ band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

I/O 2026: Welcome to the autonomous Gemini era

Google announced at I/O 2026 that Gemini is moving into an autonomous agent phase, with the post saying it can manage email, schedule calendar items, and generate reports automatically, but it does not disclose model parameters, launch timing, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google frames Gemini as an office agent for email, calendar, and reports. Missing launch timing, price, and model details keeps it in the 78–84 band, below a full major model release.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google AI Ultra plan gets a price cut and a new tier

Google cut the top AI Ultra plan from $250 to $200 per month and added a $100 monthly tier with 5x the Gemini app usage limit of Pro, 20TB of storage, early access to new features, and YouTube Premium under stated terms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is subscription pricing and quota packaging, not a model or capability launch. Official source and concrete prices put it at the featured threshold.

r/LocalLLaMA

Public repository Codegraph claims 94% fewer Claude, Cursor, Codex, and OpenCode tool calls locally

Codegraph uses a pre-indexed knowledge graph for symbol relationships, call graphs, and code structure. In the VS Code test, it reduced tool calls from 52 to 3 and runtime from 1m37s to 17s.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass, but evidence is a Reddit/public-repo self-test without independent replication. The 94% reduction and 52→3 call count clear featured, not p1.

r/LocalLLaMA

Floor for local meeting summarization on a 6GB GPU: Qwen3.5 0.8B works in 57s, Granite 4 350M hallucinates

The author tested VoiceFlow 1.6.0 on an RTX 3060 Laptop 6GB, where Qwen3.5 0.8B summarized a 4-minute meeting in 57 seconds with 16K context, while Granite 4 350M returned summaries in 0.6-2.8 seconds but fabricated Binance and Star Trek content.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is concrete, the test reports hardware/context/timing, and local meeting summarization hits privacy and cost nerves. Single Reddit experiment limits authority, so 73 featured.

r/LocalLLaMA

Cursor and Claude Code Are Not Getting Dumber; Agent Loops Are Suffocating Context

A Reddit user says an API-log audit showed Cursor and Claude Code recursively grep about 40 files in 10k-plus-line repositories, sometimes load 2k-line files for 5-line edits, and spend roughly 30k tokens on tool definitions and logs before generating code.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is contrarian, the API-log numbers are concrete, and coding-agent context waste is a live practitioner pain. Reddit single-post sourcing and no shared logs keep it at the featured threshold.