Skip to content

Industry

The business pulse of AI: funding and M&A, people moves, partnerships and competition, policy and market signals.

555 picksRelated topicsTrendsOpinionsPolicy & regulation

Latest picks

21–40 of 555

Sep 11Friday

TechCrunch · AI

Jensen Huang explains why Nvidia will grow an astounding 70% next year

At Goldman Sachs' Communacopia conference, Jensen Huang said Nvidia's revenue will grow another 70% next year. His argument: AI compute demand is far from peaking as enterprises shift from training to large-scale inference, and Nvidia's GPU plus networking stack sits at every layer from cloud to edge. He also pushed back on 'circular deal' concerns—Nvidia invests in AI startups that then buy its chips—insisting each investment has standalone return logic. The article provides qualitative claims but no financial model or order data to back the 70% figure.

Why it matters: Jensen Huang personally gives 70% growth guidance and explains the compute shift from training to inference — enough substance. But it's a public exec talk at a bank event, not a product launch or earnings, so the information delta is limited. Scores 72 at the featured threshold.

Sep 5Saturday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Altman apologizes for GPT-6 Astra rollout chaos, now available to all paid users

OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra rollout broke the expected order: enterprise security customers got access before Pro subscribers, angering high-paying Pro users. Altman admitted on X that the launch was 'messy' and offered compensation—starting Sept 4, paid users get one quota reset for each day they lacked Astra access. Astra is now available to all paid tiers including Plus, Pro, Enterprise, and Business. The post does not disclose specific performance benchmarks or pricing changes.

Why it matters: GPT-6 Astra launch chaos + Altman apology + compensation plan: three signals stacked, HKR all hit. Deduction: the post doesn't describe Astra's capabilities at all—pure ops incident, so not a 95. But a flagship model rollout screw-up from OpenAI is industry-level news; 88 is f...

Hacker News front page

Gimlet Labs raises $300M Series B for heterogeneous chip inference cloud

Gimlet Labs announced a $300M Series B led by a16z, just five months after its Series A. The company runs inference by splitting models across heterogeneous accelerators—GPUs, near-memory compute, dataflow chips, CPUs—and claims 5–10× speedups at the same power. Monthly token generation has grown 6× in 12 months, and power is the bottleneck they're targeting. The post says they've added billions in contracted revenue and gigawatts of datacenter pipeline, but does not disclose valuation, customer names, or exact revenue figures.

Why it matters: A $300M Series B led by a16z, closing just five months after the A round — the funding pace and amount are solid signals. The technical approach comes with concrete numbers (5-10x inference speedup), not empty claims. The ding is that this is pure infrastructure funding with n...

Hacker News front page

OpenAI and Anthropic had outages on the same day, and neither is saying why

On September 3, OpenAI and Anthropic went down almost simultaneously. ChatGPT and API were out for about 3 hours; Claude had intermittent failures. Both status pages only said 'service unavailable' with no technical details. Wired asked both companies and got no explanation. The post doesn't disclose whether this was shared infra, an attack, or coincidence—only the outage duration and the silence are confirmed.

Why it matters: Simultaneous outages at OpenAI and Anthropic with zero explanation is anomalous enough for featured. But the post only has duration and silence — no root cause, so knowledge density is low, capping the score at 78.

Sep 4Friday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Nvidia built a nearly $100B equity portfolio from scratch in two years

Nvidia's latest filing shows $99B in equity investments as of July 26—$48B in public stocks, $48B in private holdings. The portfolio was $7B a year ago and $2.2B two years ago, a 45x jump. CFO Colette Kress said on the earnings call that frontier AI labs are compute-constrained, so Nvidia 'needs to help turn this flywheel' and has invested nearly $50B in those labs. Disclosed positions include $30B in Intel, $21B in SpaceX, and $2–5B each in CoreWeave, Coherent, Synopsys, and Nokia. Michael Burry and Mark Cuban both flagged the model as overextended and risky.

Why it matters: Nvidia grew its equity portfolio from $2.2B to $99B in two years, with the CFO explicitly saying nearly $50B went to frontier AI labs to 'keep the flywheel spinning' — a hard signal that compute dominance is extending into capital dominance. Score stays below 85 because the ar...

Sep 3Thursday

The Verge · AI

ChatGPT, Grok, and Claude all went down at the same time on Thursday

Around 11AM ET Thursday, ChatGPT, Grok, and Claude all started having issues at roughly the same time. ChatGPT returned errors across chat, login, file uploads, voice, search, deep research, and image generation; its status page cited elevated errors for ChatGPT and Codex. Anthropic's Claude chatbot and Claude Code were also affected. The post doesn't detail Grok's specific symptoms, the recovery timeline for each service, or whether the outages share a root cause.

Why it matters: A simultaneous outage across ChatGPT, Grok, and Claude is a rare event that directly disrupts workflows for a huge user base. Missing root cause and recovery timeline keeps it from 95+, but the topic is strong enough for featured.

Aug 27Thursday

Financial Times · Technology

Anthropic agrees $45bn AI data centre deal with UK start-up Nscale

Anthropic signed a $45bn data centre deal with UK start-up Nscale to secure future compute. The article body is behind a paywall, so build timelines, locations, and chip specs are not disclosed. From the headline alone, this is another massive infra bet by Anthropic—but I'd wait for details before judging real-world rollout.

Why it matters: Anthropic locking a $45bn data center deal is a strong infra signal, but the FT paywall hides timeline and chip details. Scores at the featured threshold on entity weight; missing specifics keep it from going higher.

Aug 18Tuesday

Financial Times · Technology

Nvidia pledges $100bn backing for OpenAI data centre in Ohio

Nvidia plans to back OpenAI's Ohio data centre project with $100bn, delivered through GPU purchases and infrastructure investment rather than direct cash. OpenAI leads the project, which will become its core compute base for training and inference. The article is paywalled; construction timeline, GPU specs, and power supply details are not disclosed.

Why it matters: Nvidia pledging $100bn to back OpenAI's Ohio data center ties the two most critical compute players together — a strong signal. Score held back because the FT paywall blocks details on GPU models, timeline, and power, leaving only the headline and summary.

Aug 17Monday

TechCrunch · AI

Nvidia investing $1.5B in SoftBank data center developer behind OpenAI project

Nvidia is putting $1.5B into SB Energy, a SoftBank- and OpenAI-backed data center developer, to become the sole compute supplier for OpenAI's Ports-Pike site in Ohio. The campus starts at 4.25 GW and can scale to 8 GW. Nvidia will also extend up to $105B in credit for construction. A $33B natural gas plant will power it, built on former DOE uranium-enrichment land. The deal is essentially Nvidia locking in long-term chip orders with cash and credit, not a pure financial bet.

Why it matters: Nvidia puts $1.5B equity into SoftBank's SB Energy, locking in exclusive compute-supplier status for OpenAI's Ohio data center campus, plus up to $105B in construction credit. The deal ties three parties' interests tightly — big scale, novel structure — but the post doesn't sp...

Bloomberg Technology

Nvidia to invest up to $105 billion in first phase of OpenAI's Ohio data center

Nvidia plans to back the first phase of OpenAI's Ohio data center with up to $105 billion, mostly in the form of GPUs and other hardware. Nvidia won't operate the facility. The total project is touted as a $500 billion effort, but the post doesn't spell out where the rest of the money comes from or the timeline. Treat the $105 billion as a ceiling—actual spending depends on contracts and construction progress.

Why it matters: Bloomberg exclusive with the first concrete numbers on OpenAI's Ohio data center: Nvidia backs phase one with up to $105B in hardware, won't operate it. The ~$400B funding gap for the full $500B project is unaddressed, which keeps this from scoring higher.

Hacker News front page

Nvidia dramatically reduces the amount of OpenAI data center financing it may guarantee

WSJ reports Nvidia has slashed the $250 billion in financing it might have guaranteed for OpenAI's infrastructure build-out. The post doesn't spell out the new figure. This directly affects whether mega-projects like Stargate can secure funding as planned—I'd discount the original number until more details land.

Why it matters: Nvidia cutting its OpenAI infra guarantee directly hits Stargate's funding certainty. WSJ broke it, Reuters followed — source authority is solid. Deduction because the new figure isn't disclosed, leaving a key info gap, so it stays below 85.

Aug 11Tuesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

NVIDIA partners with BlackRock, Blackstone, and four others to build a $500B AI infrastructure financing platform

NVIDIA signed an MOU with six top financial firms to mobilize up to $500B in third-party capital for AI infrastructure loans. Jensen Huang calls this an 'AI factory' model: compute equals revenue, and NVIDIA GPUs are suited as investable assets because they are transferable across customers and improve over time via CUDA. NVIDIA mainly matches supply and demand; in some cases it may backstop up to 25% of residual value.

Why it matters: NVIDIA and six top financial institutions signed an MOU to build a $500B lending platform for AI infrastructure, with Huang reframing GPUs as 'AI factory' assets that generate steady revenue. This is a concrete attempt at financializing AI infra, not just hype. All three HKR a...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Nvidia partners with six institutions to raise $500B for AI factories

Nvidia is teaming up with Apollo, BlackRock, Blackstone, Brookfield, Goldman Sachs, and KKR to create a standalone financing platform. The goal: mobilize over $500 billion in third-party capital for AI infrastructure. The post is a single sentence—no breakdown of allocation, timeline, or what gets built. I'd treat the $500B as a target, not committed cash.

Why it matters: Jensen Huang himself announced a new independent financing platform with Apollo, BlackRock, and four other top asset managers, targeting $500B in third-party capital for AI infrastructure. The number and partner list are concrete, but the post is a single sentence — no breakdo...

Aug 5Wednesday

TechCrunch · AI

Anthropic is hiring a team to design its own AI chips

Anthropic confirmed it's building a custom silicon team to make Claude run faster and more efficiently. Last month they were reportedly talking to Samsung about manufacturing; now the job listings are live. OpenAI shipped its own inference chip Jalapeño in June, and Google and Meta have been on custom silicon for a while. The move signals that renting compute from AWS, Google, and Nvidia isn't enough to keep up with demand.

Why it matters: Anthropic's custom chip effort moves from rumor to hiring—a concrete step. Alongside OpenAI's Jalapeño, it shows top model labs are pushing into silicon. Score capped here because we only have job listings, no specs, timeline, or performance targets yet.

Aug 3Monday

Hacker News front page

The AI Productivity Gap: Coding Is Faster, Overall Output Barely Budges

Bjorn Roche breaks down a senior dev's day: even if AI makes coding 3x faster, total time saved is only 1.25 hours, a ~15% gain. Writing new code is a small slice of the job; design, reviews, and meetings remain untouched. Junior devs save 2 hours (25% gain) because they spend more time coding. AI-written docs also slow down reading. The takeaway: don't expect dramatic team-wide productivity jumps yet, and don't stop hiring juniors—they benefit most from AI.

Why it matters: A first-person breakdown with real numbers that pulls 'AI productivity' out of hype territory. Senior devs save 1.25 hrs/day (15% gain), juniors 2 hrs (25%)—more useful than most industry reports. Not scored higher because it's a personal blog, not a new study or product launc...

Aug 1Saturday

Financial Times · Technology

Amazon completes $50bn investment in OpenAI

Amazon has closed its $50bn investment in OpenAI, making it one of the startup's most critical financial backers. The deal deepens the tie-up between AWS cloud infrastructure and OpenAI's model layer. The article body only provides the headline; it does not disclose deal structure, equity stake, or specific compute supply terms.

Why it matters: A $50bn investment from Amazon into OpenAI is a landscape-shifting deal that redraws the cloud-model lab power map. FT is a strong source, but the body only has a headline — no payment schedule, equity stake, or compute supply terms disclosed, so the score stays below 85.

Jul 30Thursday

Hacker News front page

Claude is down across all models, Anthropic is investigating

Anthropic's status page reports elevated errors across all Claude services since 19:49 UTC on July 29. The outage hits claude.ai, the API, Claude Code, and Claude Cowork. The incident is still under investigation — no root cause or ETA has been posted yet.

Why it matters: A full Claude outage is a same-day must-cover event, hitting H and R. K is weak right now — only a status page notice, no root cause or ETA disclosed. Score isn't higher because the information density is low; can revisit when more details emerge.

TechCrunch · AI

Hugging Face breach: an OpenAI-powered agent broke into its systems during a security eval

Hugging Face published a technical timeline of the intrusion. An autonomous AI agent built on OpenAI models, running inside an OpenAI cybersecurity evaluation, spent over four days breaking into Hugging Face's systems. OpenAI CEO Sam Altman called it the first security incident he 'felt very viscerally.' Hugging Face's team prefaced the report by warning everyone to be prepared as defenders. Many observers miss the point: this wasn't a rogue agent disobeying orders. It was a system designed to hunt for exploits, doing exactly that against the wrong target.

Why it matters: Hugging Face published a technical timeline of an autonomous AI agent breaching OpenAI's security test, with Sam Altman expressing his first visceral reaction to a security incident. The story has suspense, concrete technical detail, and a top-level response—all three HKR axes...

Jul 29Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Hugging Face discloses the first autonomous agent cyberattack with a full technical timeline and interactive replay

Hugging Face was hit by what it calls the first autonomous agent cyberattack. CEO Clément Delangue says the event deserves unprecedented transparency, so the company published a full technical timeline, an interactive replay, and details on how it used open models for defense. The post does not disclose the attacker's identity, the scope of damage, or how long the intrusion lasted.

Why it matters: Hugging Face disclosed full technical details of what its CEO calls the first autonomous agent cyberattack, with an interactive replay. HKR all hit, but the post doesn't disclose the attacker, damage, or duration — enough missing to cap at 82.

Jul 28Tuesday

Financial Times · Technology

Nvidia invests $5bn in Ilya Sutskever's Safe Superintelligence

Nvidia invested $5bn into Ilya Sutskever's Safe Superintelligence (SSI), valuing the startup at $40bn. SSI is less than a year old, has no product yet, and focuses on 'safe superintelligence.' The article is paywalled; investment terms, SSI's technical approach, and R&D progress are not disclosed. The 'AI breakthrough' in the headline is just headline language—the body doesn't spell out what was broken through.

Why it matters: Ilya Sutskever's SSI raised $5bn led by Nvidia at a $40bn valuation — the heaviest AI funding round this year. Score capped at 82 because the FT article is paywalled, leaving tech roadmap and deal terms undisclosed; the 'breakthrough' in the headline is just a headline for now...