Skip to content

Google / Gemini

AI at Google and DeepMind: the Gemini family, Veo video models, research and the product ecosystem.

Latest picks

201–220 of 409

Jun 3Wednesday

TechCrunch · AI

Publishers will be able to opt out of AI Search, thanks to new regulation

U.K. regulators require Google to offer website publishers a tool to opt out of generative AI search features, with the option tested in the U.K. before a global rollout.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: regulation pushes Google AI Search to add a publisher opt-out, tested in the UK before global rollout. It affects web-content economics, but it is not a core model or capability launch, so it sits in 78–84.

Bloomberg Technology

Alphabet Upsizes Offering for AI Spending to $85 Billion

Alphabet raised its equity offering to $84.75 billion from the $80 billion announced two days earlier, with proceeds intended to fund its growing AI spending plans.

Why it matters: All HKR axes pass: Bloomberg reports Alphabet raised an AI-spending offering to $84.75B, large enough for same-day coverage. Terms and timing are not disclosed, so it stays below the 90+ band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Build 2026: Microsoft tops Google in image generation while catching up on reasoning

Microsoft announced seven in-house AI models at Build 2026, including its first reasoning model, one new tuning method, and one autonomous background AI agent; the RSS snippet does not disclose model names, benchmarks, or release dates.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Microsoft shipped seven in-house AI models across reasoning, tuning, and a background agent. Model names, benchmark details, and availability are not disclosed, so this stays at the top of 78–84, not P1.

The Verge · AI

Google Must Let Publishers Opt Out of AI Search Features, UK Rules

The UK CMA requires Google to let website owners exclude content from AI Search features, including AI Overviews, and prevent that content from being used for fine-tuning Google’s AI models.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a UK regulator is forcing Google AI Search opt-outs and fine-tuning restrictions. The article lacks timeline and penalty detail, so it stays in the 78–84 band, not p1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Trump signs executive order allowing pre-release AI models to be submitted for government safety review

Trump signed an executive order creating a voluntary cooperation mechanism for AI companies, allowing frontier models to be submitted to the federal government for safety evaluation before release; Google, Microsoft, and xAI have agreed to CAISI verification, while OpenAI and Anthropic joined in 2024.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a Trump executive order creates a federal pre-launch safety-review path, and Google, Microsoft, and xAI accepted CAISI verification. The mechanism is voluntary, so it sits in must-write policy range, not industry-shaking range.

r/LocalLLaMA

Using Gemma 4 E4B with LiteRT: about 2.4× faster text generation than Q4 GGUF

The author tested Gemma 4 E4B on an RTX 4060 Ti 16GB, where LiteRT averaged 157.2 tok/s for text generation versus 66.3 tok/s for llama.cpp Q4 GGUF; image captioning on 111 full-resolution images improved only 1.1×, at about 72 seconds versus 80 seconds.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, with a first-person benchmark including hardware, throughput, and sample count. Source authority is limited to one Reddit test, so it sits at the featured threshold rather than the 78+ band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google DeepMind releases Gemini multi-agent research system

Google DeepMind introduced Co-Scientist, a Gemini-based multi-agent system that generates, debates, and evolves scientific hypotheses; the post does not disclose the Gemini version, benchmark results, access model, or release timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but model version, eval results, and availability are not disclosed. This fits a strong research/product release, not the 85+ must-write band.

Jun 2Tuesday

The Verge · AI

Gemini Spark is the most impressive and terrifying AI experience I’ve had yet

The Verge tested Google’s always-on AI agent Gemini Spark for trip planning, but the RSS snippet only describes a different experience from generic itinerary demos and does not disclose launch timing, pricing, benchmarks, or reproducible test conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: The Verge’s hands-on has a strong click hook and hits agent safety/competition nerves. HKR-K fails because pricing, release timing, and reproducible test conditions are missing, keeping it at the featured threshold.

Bloomberg Technology

Alphabet Will Raise $80 Billion to Fund AI Spending

Alphabet will raise $80 billion in equity capital to fund its AI spending plans; the RSS snippet does not disclose issuance terms, pricing, or a timetable.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass on the $80B Alphabet AI-spending figure, but the body is thin: no financing terms, pricing, or schedule. Bloomberg authority keeps it featured, not P1.

The Verge · AI

Gemini’s New AI Agent Is About as Good as Google’s Demo

The Verge tested Google Gemini Spark for one week and says the 24/7 agent can run multi-step tasks in the background, but the RSS snippet does not disclose pricing, privacy terms, or the full hands-on results.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: a Verge hands-on stress-tests Google’s Gemini Spark demo claim and confirms background multi-step tasks. Missing price, privacy terms, and full results keep it in the 72–77 band.

Jun 1Monday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

MiniMax Releases Open-Source M3 with Coding, Long-Context, and Multimodal Capabilities

MiniMax released the open-source M3 model with coding, a 1M-token context window, and native multimodal support; M3 scores 59.0% on SWE-Bench Pro, 83.5% on BrowseComp, and costs about one-twelfth per token versus GPT-5.5.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: M3 has open source, 1M context, multimodal support, and 59.0% on SWE-Bench Pro. A single X post without official docs or third-party tests keeps it in the 78–84 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

MiniMax M3: Frontier coding, 1M-token context, and native multimodal model

MiniMax released M3 as an open-source unified model with coding, agent, and native multimodal capabilities, supporting a 1M-token context window and using MiniMax Sparse Attention to cut per-token compute at 1M context to 1/20 of its predecessor, with over 9x faster prefill and over 15x faster decoding.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: MiniMax M3 has a 1M-token context hook, MSA with a claimed 20x cost cut, and open-source China-model resonance. Single official-source release keeps it in the 78–84 band, not P1.

May 31Sunday

r/LocalLLaMA

13 abliterated Gemma 4 E2B variants, 44 GPU hours, benchmark and comparison

Abliterlitics tested 13 abliterated Gemma 4 E2B variants using 44 RTX 5090 GPU hours, and HarmBench ASR rose from the base model’s 32.2% to 82%–100%, while coder3101 scored 84.8% on GSM8K versus the base model’s 83.5%.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, with a named first-person benchmark and concrete numbers. Scope stays narrow around abliterated Gemma 4 E2B variants, so it lands at the featured threshold rather than a must-write item.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Apple WWDC AI Upgrade: Gemini-Distilled Model Runs Locally, With Heavy External Dependencies

Apple will present Siri and on-device AI upgrades at next month’s WWDC, with iPhones running a smaller Gemini-distilled model locally while complex queries route to Google Cloud using Nvidia confidential computing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Apple-Google-Nvidia stack is a strong WWDC AI hook with a concrete routing mechanism and clear industry tension. Capped at 82 because this is a single X-sourced claim with no model size, latency, pricing, or contract terms disclosed.

May 30Saturday

TechCrunch · AI

I put Google’s 24/7 AI assistant Gemini Spark to work, and it’s actually pretty useful

TechCrunch tested Google’s Gemini Spark as a 24/7 AI assistant for inbox summaries and local event planning; the RSS snippet does not disclose pricing, release timing, or why Google made it a separate product.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the hands-on angle is clickable, and inbox plus local-planning automation gives concrete substance. The score stays in the low featured band because price, launch timing, and product positioning are not disclosed.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Nano Banana Pro and Nano Banana 2 officially released

Google AI Developers released Nano Banana Pro and Nano Banana 2, mapped to gemini-3-pro-image and gemini-3.1-flash-image. The post says both are production-ready through the Gemini API, but does not disclose pricing, benchmarks, or runtime limits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google names two image models and production Gemini API access. Missing pricing, benchmarks, and invocation limits keep it in the mid product-update band rather than a must-write release.

May 29Friday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Skill distillation

Skill distillation has Opus 4.7, GPT-5.1, and Gemini 3 Pro write standardized SKILL.md procedure files, while local Qwen 35B and Gemma 26B models execute those files step by step.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the agent-skill distillation pattern is concrete and practitioner-relevant. The summary lacks success rates, cost data, or task outcomes, so it sits at the featured threshold, not must-write.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Apple reportedly tries to fit Google's large Gemini model into iPhone for new Siri

Apple is trying to integrate a large Gemini model into the iPhone for new Siri features. The RSS snippet says full local processing is unlikely because of model size, and a cloud component is likely required; the post does not disclose parameters, latency targets, or a release timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a reported Apple-Google Siri effort, not a shipped product. The post gives distillation and likely cloud dependency, but no timeline, size, or tests, so it stays at the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Nano Banana Pro and Nano Banana 2 officially released

Google AI Developers released Nano Banana Pro and Nano Banana 2, two image models available for production use through the Gemini API; the post names gemini-3-pro-image and gemini-3.1-flash-image but does not disclose pricing, benchmarks, or rate limits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google shipped two production image models via Gemini API. The post gives no benchmarks, pricing, or safety mechanism, so this stays in the 78–84 band rather than p1.

May 28Thursday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Latest Google Pay updates

Google Pay introduced a universal commerce protocol and a new MCP server for AI agents to manage integrations and analyze trends, while Android updates add dynamic callbacks for faster checkout, WebView payments in social apps, cross-device biometric authentication, and new transaction signals.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the MCP payments angle is concrete and relevant to agent commerce. Score stays in the 72–77 band because the post lists features but gives no adoption scale, pricing, or real agent transaction case.