Skip to content

DeepSeek

DeepSeek's model releases, open weights and technical reports — the bellwether for open-model price and performance.

194 picksRelated topicsQwenOpen sourceModel releases

Latest picks

161–180 of 194

May 4Monday

QbitAI · WeChat

DeepSeek-TUI, a “DeepSeek Claude Code,” reaches 2.3k GitHub stars

DeepSeek-TUI reached 2.3k GitHub stars; the Rust project is MIT-licensed. It targets DeepSeek V4 with a 1M-token context, RLM up to 16 V4 Flash subtasks, MCP, Shell, Git, and three control modes. Watch cache misses: uncached tokens cost 10x cached tokens.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is a DeepSeek-flavored Claude Code, with 2.3k stars, 1M tokens, 16 subtasks, and a 10x cache-miss cost gap. Impact is developer-specific, so it sits in the 72–77 band.

May 3Sunday

r/LocalLLaMA

Local LLM Benchmark for Backend Generation via Function Calling: GLM vs Qwen vs DeepSeek

AutoBe posted a controlled backend-generation benchmark and says qwen3.5-35b-a3b matches gpt-5.4 on DB/API design. One shopping-mall run uses 200–300M tokens, costing $1,000–$1,500 per model at GPT 5.5 pricing. The key caveat is n=4 projects and self-scoring harness bias.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but Reddit sourcing, n=4 projects, and self-eval harness bias keep it at the low featured band. Concrete cost and test constraints carry the score.

QbitAI · WeChat

DeepSeek V4’s biggest omission

DeepSeek V4’s technical report omits Engram while listing mHC, CSA, HCA, Muon, and FP4. Engram was open-sourced by DeepSeek and Peking University in January, inserting lookup modules between Transformer layers 2 and 15; its 27B test raised MMLU by 3.4 and Multi-Query NIAH to 97.0%. The engineering signal is CXL pooling: 8 servers shared a 4TB memory pool with under 5% throughput loss.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the omitted-Engram angle is clickable, with layer ranges, benchmark deltas, and CXL memory-pool numbers. It is analysis, not the V4 launch itself, so 78–84 fits.

May 2Saturday

Hacker News front page

Show HN: Filling PDF Forms with AI Using Client-Side Tool Calling

SimplePDF released a Copilot demo that fills PDF forms via client-side tool calling; SimplePDF has 200k+ monthly users. PDFs stay in the browser, with parsing, rendering, and field detection local. The demo uses a DeepSeek V4 Flash proxy by default, with BYOK, cloud, or LM Studio options.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the client-side PDF-agent angle is specific, with a clear privacy mechanism and builder relevance. It sits in the 72–77 band as a useful product demo, not a major platform release.

May 1Friday

r/LocalLLaMA

16x Spark Cluster Build Update

Reddit user Kurcide finished a 16-node DGX Spark cluster, with all nodes hitting line rate on the fabric. Each node uses one QSFP56 link to an FS N8510, showing 100–111 Gbps per rail and about 200 Gbps aggregate. The key angle is unified memory: 8 nodes served 434GB GLM-5.1-NVFP4, with DeepSeek and Kimi tests next.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the post gives first-person cluster numbers, networking conditions, and a live 434GB model test. Scope stays local-inference hardware, so it fits the 72–77 band rather than a broader product-release tier.

Synced · WeChat

The Evolution of RL: From PPO to MaxRL in LLM Reasoning Training

Jiqizhixin translated Alexander Weers' article on RL algorithms for LLM reasoning from 2024 to 2026. It covers REINFORCE, PPO, GRPO, RLOO, Dr. GRPO, DAPO, CISPO, MaxRL, DPPO, and ScaleRL, comparing critic removal, clipping, normalization, and pass@k goals. The key signal is mechanism choice, not algorithm names.

Why it matters: A strong technical explainer, not a model or paper release. HKR-H comes from the PPO→MaxRL arc, HKR-K from concrete mechanism comparisons, and HKR-R from live RL-recipe choices; the higher technical bar keeps it in low featured.

Apr 30Thursday

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek released Thinking with Visual Primitives framework

DeepSeek, Peking University, and Tsinghua released the Thinking with Visual Primitives paper and repository. The framework inserts coordinate points and bounding boxes into chain-of-thought; the post does not disclose benchmark scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is visual primitives inside reasoning, the new fact is point/box CoT plus an open repo, and the audience cares about grounded VLMs. No benchmark scores are disclosed, so it stays at 80, not P1.

Apr 29Wednesday

X · @op7418

Deepseek’s multimodal model is fully rolled out

Deepseek fully rolled out a multimodal model, available via the web image-recognition mode. The post says it looks like a separate model; it does not disclose name, size, pricing, or API timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the X post only confirms web image-recognition access; model name, params, price, and API timing are missing. DeepSeek’s multimodal rollout is strong, but the thin sourcing keeps it in 78–84.

QbitAI · WeChat

DeepSeek’s multimodal AI has entered testing

DeepSeek researchers confirmed V4 vision mode is in gray testing, with an image-recognition mode on the homepage. A screenshot shows it identified drinks and cup types in a non-text-heavy image after 4 seconds. The post does not disclose rollout scope, API access, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek’s V4 vision gray test is a real domestic flagship update with a concrete 4s sample. Score stays at 80 because access scope, API form, pricing, and benchmarks are not disclosed.

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek V4 pricing is genuinely silly; the math made me question my stack

A Reddit user calculates DeepSeek V4-Pro input at $0.145 per million tokens, about 34x cheaper than Claude Opus 4.7. A May promo cuts it to $0.036, while cache hits are $0.0036, about 173x below Opus cached pricing. The key issue is agent-loop cost; the post does not verify the 1M context under production loads.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass on the pricing hook, concrete token prices, and agent-cost pressure. Capped below 78 because this is a Reddit calculation, not an official release or production benchmark.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

DeepSeek V4 Explained: Engineering Decisions Around Agentic Workloads

DeepSeek V4 targets long-horizon agent tasks with a 1M context. The snippet cites hybrid attention, OPD, Muon, and mHC; the post does not disclose size, data, pricing, or release timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek V4, 1M context, and agentic workload engineering create a strong hook with concrete mechanisms. Missing params, data, price, and launch timing keep it at 78, not P1.

Apr 27Monday

QbitAI · WeChat

DeepSeek V4 Cuts Prices Permanently; Cached Inputs Get 90% Off, Coding Test Costs Drop 83%

DeepSeek V4 cut prices twice in two days: input/output pricing is 75% lower, with cached inputs getting another 90% off. QbitAI’s coding test fell from 31.73 yuan for 35M tokens to 5.34 yuan under new pricing, an 83% drop. The key case is high cache-hit workloads, with V4-Pro at about 95–96% cache hits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek V4 pricing has a sharp cost hook, concrete test numbers, and strong cost resonance. It is still a pricing update, not a new model release, so it stays below the 85 P1 band.

Apr 26Sunday

Hacker News front page

DeepSeek-V4 on Day 0: From Fast Inference to Verified RL with SGLang and Miles

SGLang and Miles added day-0 inference and RL support for DeepSeek-V4, covering 1.6T Pro and 284B Flash. The post cites a 1M-token context, FP4 MoE expert weights, 128-token SWA, and 4:1 or 128:1 KV compression. The key systems detail is ShadowRadix coherence across three KV pools and two compression-state pools.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a DeepSeek-V4 day-0 systems stack, concrete context/compression mechanisms, and clear deployment-cost stakes. The systems depth narrows reach, but no hard-exclusion rule is triggered.

Apr 25Saturday

Latent Space

DeepSeek V4 Pro and Flash released, runnable on Huawei Ascend chips

DeepSeek released V4 Pro and V4 Flash, with 1.6T/49B active and 284B/13B active parameters. Both support 1M-token context, Base/Instruct variants, and an MIT license; the report claims 27% FLOPs and 10% KV cache versus V3.2 at 1M tokens. The key point is Huawei CANN compatibility, not just benchmarks, because it reduces CUDA dependence.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a major DeepSeek release adds concrete specs, 1M context, MIT licensing, and Huawei Ascend support. This sits in the 85–94 must-write band, with hardware independence pushing it upward.

MIT Technology Review · AI

Three reasons why DeepSeek’s new model matters

DeepSeek released a V4 preview with two versions: V4-Pro and V4-Flash. V4-Pro costs $1.74/M input tokens and $3.48/M output tokens; V4-Flash is about $0.14/$0.28, and both support 1M-token context. The key point is attention efficiency and open weights pressuring agentic coding costs.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek V4 is a domestic flagship release with 1M context, two price tiers, and open-weight cost pressure. The preview status keeps it below a full GPT/Claude major release, but it is same-day material.

Bloomberg Technology

China’s DeepSeek Unveils New Model a Year After Shock Launch

DeepSeek unveiled a new flagship AI model about one year after its open-source release jolted Silicon Valley. The title and RSS snippet confirm that timing; the post does not disclose the model name, size, pricing, benchmarks, or release terms. The key thing to watch is the missing launch detail, not the comeback framing.

Why it matters: A new DeepSeek flagship is newsworthy: HKR-H comes from the 'one year after the shock launch' hook, and HKR-R from the open-source and pricing rivalry it triggers. HKR-K fails because no model name, params, pricing, or benchmarks are disclosed, so this sits at the low end of the

Apr 24Friday

TechCrunch · AI

DeepSeek previews new AI model that ‘closes the gap’ with frontier models

DeepSeek previewed two new models and said architectural changes make them more efficient and higher-performing than DeepSeek V3.2, while nearly closing the gap with leading models on reasoning benchmarks. The RSS snippet discloses only that there are two models and that they outperform V3.2; model names, parameter counts, benchmark scores, test sets, and release timing are not disclosed. The key question is reproducible evals, because “closes the gap” comes without numbers.

Why it matters: A new-model preview from DeepSeek, a flagship Chinese lab, clears HKR-H and HKR-R on competitive relevance alone. HKR-K is weak because the story gives only 'two models' and 'better than V3.2' while model names, benchmark scores, test sets, and release timing are not disclosed,so

The Verge · AI

China’s DeepSeek previews new AI model a year after jolling US rivals

DeepSeek released a preview of its open-source V4 model on Friday and said it can compete with closed systems from Anthropic, Google, and OpenAI. The RSS snippet says V4 improves coding and highlights compatibility with Huawei tech; parameter count, benchmark scores, and rollout details are not disclosed. The part to watch is the pairing of agent-focused coding gains with tighter alignment to China’s domestic chip stack.

Why it matters: This is a flagship Chinese model update with HKR-H/K/R: a new open-source V4 preview, coding gains, and Huawei compatibility. It stays below the 85 band because the story withholds params, benchmark scores, and launch timing.

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek releases V4: 1.6T Pro, 284B Flash, MIT license, 1M context

DeepSeek released two open-weight V4 models: Pro at 1.6T total with 49B active, and Flash at 284B total with 13B active; both use an MIT license and support 1M context. The RSS snippet points to a Hugging Face collection and a tech report, but the post does not disclose benchmark scores, pricing, training data size, or real inference throughput. The key thing to watch is the 1M context plus low active-parameter ratio; if evals hold, self-hosted long-context and routing economics change materially.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is a flagship DeepSeek open release with two huge MIT-licensed weights and 1M context, strong enough for same-day coverage. The score stops at 86 because the provided text does not disclose benchmarks, throughput, training data, or pricing.

Bloomberg Technology

DeepSeek unveils flagship AI model a year after breakthrough

DeepSeek released preview versions of a new flagship AI model one year after its breakout. The RSS snippet calls it its most powerful open-source platform and frames it against OpenAI and Anthropic; the post does not disclose parameters, context length, benchmarks, or rollout timing. The actionable facts so far are limited to its preview status and open-source positioning.

Why it matters: A new DeepSeek flagship preview deserves real weight under the domestic-flagship rule, and Bloomberg adds source authority. HKR-H and HKR-R pass, but HKR-K fails because the story discloses no specs, context window, benchmarks, or release schedule, so this stays at the low end of