Skip to content

DeepSeek

DeepSeek's model releases, open weights and technical reports — the bellwether for open-model price and performance.

194 picksRelated topicsQwenOpen sourceModel releases

Latest picks

121–140 of 194

May 28Thursday

QbitAI · WeChat

Behind DeepSeek V4's Chip-Model Co-Design, China's Compute Ecosystem Gains Speed

QbitAI says DeepSeek V4 validated Ascend chip-model co-design, with CANN open-sourcing 65 repositories and supporting day-zero adaptation for more than 70 mainstream models, while AIGCode reported 65% MFU in MoE pretraining on Ascend.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is mainly a compute-ecosystem progress story, not a DeepSeek V4 capability release. Concrete repo, adaptation, and MFU numbers lift it into featured, below must-write.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

DeepSeek plans STAR Market IPO after completing roughly $50B funding round

DeepSeek plans to apply for a STAR Market IPO after completing a roughly $50 billion funding round, according to a large fund manager participating in the round; the post does not disclose valuation, timetable, filing documents, or company confirmation.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a DeepSeek STAR Market IPO after a $50B round would put a Chinese foundation-model lab into public-market pricing. Single X sourcing and no formal filing keep it at the low end of the must-write band.

May 27Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

MiMo 2.5 Pro Gets Major Price Cut, Matching DeepSeek V4 Pro

Xiaomi permanently cut MiMo-V2.5 API prices by up to 99%, matched DeepSeek V4 Pro pricing, increased same-price token allowances by 5–8x, reset existing user quotas in full, and set the new pricing to take effect on May 26.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 99% cut creates a price-war hook, the post gives 5-8x token economics, and API cost pressure resonates. It remains a pricing update, not a model or capability release, so it stays below the 78+ band.

May 26Tuesday

New York Times Chinese

The Shared U.S.-China AI Anxiety: Being Harvested by the Future

Yi-Ling Liu compares U.S. and Chinese AI anxiety through labor, companionship, and agency: over 70% of U.S. teenagers report using chatbots as companions, while China is projected to reach 200 million single-person households by 2030.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is commentary rather than a model, product, or policy release. Its signal comes from two social data points and a US-China framing, so it fits the featured threshold for an insightful opinion piece.

May 25Monday

r/LocalLLaMA

The reason small-model agent stacks aren't the default is not whether they work

A Reddit post argues small-model agent stacks are not default for business reasons, not capability limits: Gemma 4 31B reaches 86.4% on tau2-bench, and DeepSeek V4-Flash output tokens are priced about 89x below Claude Opus 4.6. The operational risk is verification, because 7–9B models produced broken reasoning for roughly half to two-thirds of correct answers in a cited audit.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle is contrarian, with benchmark, cost, and verifier-failure numbers. Reddit-source uncertainty keeps it in the 78–84 recommendation band, not P1.

QbitAI · WeChat

Reasonix for DeepSeek V4 reaches 99.82% cache hit rate and cuts costs to 20%

Reasonix uses an append-only loop for DeepSeek V4 and reports a 99.82% cache hit rate in long coding sessions, cutting an example 400M-token bill from $61 to $12.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a third-party cost tool around DeepSeek V4, not a model launch or platform update. Concrete mechanism and billing numbers put it in the 72–77 featured band.

May 23Saturday

Bloomberg Technology

DeepSeek To Make Permanent 75% Discount on Flagship AI Model

DeepSeek will make a 75% discount on its flagship AI model permanent, but the post does not disclose the specific model name, original price, discounted price, or effective date.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass on a concrete 75% permanent discount from DeepSeek, a cost and price-war story. Sparse extracted body lacks model name, list price, discounted price, and timing, so it stays in low featured.

QbitAI · WeChat

DeepSeek V4 cuts prices as CATL, JD.com and NetEase discuss investment; Liang Wenfeng targets AGI

DeepSeek-V4-Pro API will keep its promotional pricing from June 1, with cached input at RMB 0.025 per million tokens, while Bloomberg says DeepSeek is pursuing a RMB 70 billion round at a USD 45 billion pre-money valuation.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek V4 API price cuts and Bloomberg’s RMB 70B raise at a $45B pre-money valuation are same-day material. The cost and capital angles directly affect China model competition.

May 22Friday

Hacker News front page

DeepSeek Makes the V4 Pro Price Discount Permanent

DeepSeek will set deepseek-v4-pro API pricing to one quarter of the original price after the 75% promotion ends on 2026-05-31 at 15:59 UTC; the post does not disclose the exact per-token price.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is a permanent DeepSeek price cut, the new fact is 1/4 pricing after a stated UTC time, and the nerve is API cost. Missing unit pricing keeps it at the featured floor, not a must-write release.

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek Advances $10.29B Financing as Liang Wenfeng Commits to Open-Source AI Models

The title says DeepSeek is advancing a $10.29 billion financing round and Liang Wenfeng commits to continued open-source AI model development; the body only links to Bloomberg and does not disclose round terms, investors, or a commercialization timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the $10.29B DeepSeek financing and open-source pledge are high-signal. The thin Reddit body only links Bloomberg and omits investors, valuation, and terms, so it stays in the low 85–94 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

DeepSeek Advances RMB 70B Funding as Liang Wenfeng Commits to Open-Source AI Models

DeepSeek is pursuing RMB 70 billion in funding at an estimated valuation of about $45 billion, with Tencent and IDG Capital close to participating and founder Liang Wenfeng potentially investing RMB 20 billion personally.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a DeepSeek RMB 70B financing at a $45B valuation is a major China-model capital story with open-source stakes. It stays below 95 because the deal is still in progress and final terms are not disclosed.

Bloomberg Technology

DeepSeek Founder Declares AGI Goal as $10 Billion Round Advances

The title says DeepSeek’s founder declared an AGI goal and that a $10 billion funding round is advancing; the post does not disclose the founder’s statement, financing terms, investors, or timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: DeepSeek plus a $10B round and AGI goal is same-day AI-business news. The scrape provides title-level facts only, with no investors, terms, or timeline, so the score stays at the low end of the 85+ band.

Computing Life · Share · Yage

How to Run DeepSeek V4 Flash Locally on Mac: DS4 Engine Explained

DS4 provides a macOS local runtime path for DeepSeek V4 Flash; the post only discloses three mechanisms—multi-agent integration, KV cache disk persistence, and activation steering—and does not disclose performance numbers, hardware requirements, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body only names DS4 mechanisms and omits performance, model size, Mac support, and reproducible tests; this fits the featured threshold for a local-inference tutorial.

May 20Wednesday

r/LocalLLaMA

Running DeepSeek-V4 locally on 4 legacy RTX 2080 Ti GPUs with W8A8 at 255 prefill tok/s

A Reddit user ran DeepSeek-V4-Flash locally on 4 RTX 2080 Ti GPUs, reporting 284B total parameters, 13B active parameters, a sub-$2,500 build, custom Turing CUDA kernels, W8A8 quantization, 1TB DDR4 ECC RAM, and about 255 prefill tokens/s.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: this is a numeric first-person local-inference experiment. Single-source Reddit provenance and custom Turing kernels keep it in the lower featured band.

May 17Sunday

r/LocalLLaMA

DeepSeek V4's 1M Context Window: The Breaking Point

A Reddit user tested DeepSeek V4 on 45k, 180k, and 520k-token codebases and found 150k-250k tokens best for coding work. Past 300k tokens, line-number precision degraded; at 520k, outputs shifted toward architecture summaries and skipped implementation details.

Why it matters: A single Reddit post limits authority, but HKR-H/K/R all pass: it is a numbered first-person test with a concrete long-context failure pattern. The right band is featured, not 78+, because replication and model details are thin.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Latest Open Artifacts #21: Gemma 4, DeepSeek V4, Kimi K2.6, MiMo 2.5, GLM-5.1, and More

Open AI model teams released Gemma 4, DeepSeek V4, Kimi K2.6, MiMo 2.5, GLM-5.1, and other versions this month, and the post says they were tested under CAISI’s V4 evaluation framework, but the RSS snippet does not disclose scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a dense open-model roster, a named CAISI V4 evaluation frame, and clear practitioner relevance for model choice. Missing scores and reproducible detail keep it in the 78–84 band.

May 15Friday

r/LocalLLaMA

MOOSE-Star (ICML 2026): 7B Model and 108K-Paper Dataset for Scientific Hypothesis Discovery

MiroMind researchers released the MOOSE-Star collection with three 7B models and TOMATO-Star, a dataset of 108,717 NCBI papers. MS-IR-7B reaches 54.37% inspiration-retrieval accuracy, uses DeepSeek-R1-Distill-Qwen-7B as its base, runs at about 14GB fp16, and supports llama.cpp, vLLM, and SGLang.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass via the local 7B research-agent hook and concrete dataset metrics. Single Reddit source and limited lab gravity keep it below the must-write band.

May 14Thursday

Synced · WeChat

ACL 2026: Alibaba DAMO I²B-LPO Improves RLVR Exploration

Alibaba DAMO Academy introduced I²B-LPO, an RLVR post-training framework that branches rollouts at high-entropy nodes and filters them with an information-bottleneck self-reward, reporting up to 5.3% accuracy gains and 7.4% semantic-diversity gains on math benchmarks using Qwen2.5-7B and Qwen3-14B.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the ACL 2026 DAMO paper has a clear RLVR exploration hook, concrete I²B-LPO mechanics, and benchmark gains. It is still a training-method paper, not a major model or product release, so 78 fits the lower good-quality band.

May 13Wednesday

New York Times Chinese

China Sought Access to Anthropic’s Latest Technology but Was Rejected

Chinese think-tank representatives asked Anthropic in Singapore last month to give Beijing access to Mythos, and Anthropic refused; the company has limited the vulnerability-finding model to the U.S. government and more than 40 organizations.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the NYT report gives the Singapore request, Mythos’s bug-finding use, and its US-government-plus-40 access scope. This is a same-day security and US-China AI access story.

New York Times Chinese

China Seeks AI Technology Self-Reliance, Weakening Washington’s Leverage Over Beijing

DeepSeek optimized its latest model for inference on Huawei chips for the first time, while two semiconductor sources said training still relies on Nvidia chips; Huawei says it plans to release a training chip this year, but matching current Nvidia performance will take another year.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: NYT ties DeepSeek-Huawei chip optimization and Huawei's training-chip timeline to US export-control leverage. It is not a model launch and lacks benchmark results, so it stays in the 78–84 band.