Skip to content

AI coding

Everything about AI writing code: coding assistants, vibe coding, code model evals and new developer workflows.

1,196 picksRelated topicsAgentsCursorTutorials

Latest picks

1081–1100 of 1,196

Apr 18Saturday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Bilibili debate: Hermes responds to plagiarism claims for the first time, as MiniMax moves early on Harness

MiniMax says its M2.7 model now handles 30%-50% of daily workflows in its RL team, ran over 100 self-optimization loops, and improved evals by 30%. The post also says Hermes Agent grew from 2B to nearly 300B daily tokens, while M2.7 exceeds 25B daily tokens on OpenRouter; Hermes lead Tommy Eastman denied copying EvoMap in a livestream. The real signal is Harness: the post cites 20-40ms or 80ms sandbox startup and 15k to 600k instances per minute, showing competition is shifting from benchmark scores to agent execution infrastructure.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the plagiarism-response angle pulls clicks, and the story carries concrete metrics on workflow share, self-optimization loops, sandbox latency, and concurrency. It stays at 83 because this is a dense secondary report, not a primary launch or official technical

X · @dotey

Anthropic designer Ryan Mather shares Claude Design tips while covering 7 product lines

Anthropic designer Ryan Mather shared 9 Claude Design workflow tips while covering 7 product lines. The RSS snippet says to spend 1 hour building a design system, use chat for large changes, comments for small edits, specify feedback like 8px spacing, and attach only the target component folder instead of a full monorepo. The key shift is process: from human-do/human-review to Claude-do/human-review.

Why it matters: This is a strong practitioner workflow note: an Anthropic insider shares concrete, reusable tactics, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. It stays below the 80s because this is not a formal Claude product release and the post does not disclose harder outcome data such as time saved or task win

Bloomberg Technology

Cursor In Talks to Raise $2 Billion at Over $50 Billion Value

Cursor is in talks to raise $2 billion at a valuation above $50 billion. The title only confirms it is an AI coding startup; the post does not disclose investors, round stage, revenue, or timing. The number to watch is the $50 billion pricing bar, not the rumor alone.

Why it matters: Bloomberg gives this strong source authority, and the $2B / $50B+ numbers land on HKR-H, K, and R. I keep it at 84, not p1, because the deal is still in talks and the story does not disclose investors, ARR, or closing timing.

Apr 17Friday

Hacker News front page

Measuring Claude 4.7's tokenizer costs

The author used Anthropic's free count_tokens API to compare Claude Opus 4.6 and 4.7 on 7 real samples and 12 synthetic ones; the real-sample weighted total rose from 8,254 to 10,937 input tokens, or 1.325x. Technical docs hit 1.47x, a real CLAUDE.md file hit 1.445x, while Chinese and Japanese stayed near 1.01x. On a 20-prompt IFEval sample, 4.7 improved strict prompt-level pass rate from 85% to 90%; the post cannot isolate tokenizer effects from model weights or post-training.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the post has a sharp cost hook, reproducible token-count data, and clear budget impact for Claude Code users. It stays below p1 because this is a third-party measurement, not an Anthropic release, and the IFEval slice is only 20 items.

Hacker News front page

Introducing Claude Design by Anthropic Labs

Anthropic launched Claude Design on April 17, 2026, in research preview for Claude Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise subscribers. Powered by Claude Opus 4.7, it generates designs from text, images, DOCX, PPTX, XLSX, and codebases, and exports to Canva, PDF, PPTX, or HTML. The key detail is its one-step handoff bundle to Claude Code; the post does not disclose standalone pricing beyond existing plan limits.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Anthropic product launch, not a routine feature add. HKR-H/K/R all pass on novelty, concrete deployment details, and workflow resonance; the research-preview scope and limited pricing detail keep it at 84 instead of p1.

Tencent Technology · WeChat

From Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering: Rebuilding the Full Backend Development Workflow

Tencent engineers report a one-week practice that used Claude Code plus custom Skills, Commands, and MCP servers to run an 11-stage backend workflow in one terminal session. The post gives reproducible details: one requirement-exploration step used 20 tool calls, 93.8k tokens, and 56 seconds; execution was split into 4 tasks and produced 3 commits. The real point is workflow orchestration, not raw code generation; human review remains at plan, deploy, and review gates.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story turns agentic engineering into a measured backend workflow test, with tool-call, token, timing, plan-length, task, and commit data. Stronger than generic coding hype, but still a practitioner case study rather than a major product or model release.

Hacker News front page

Discourse Is Not Going Closed Source

Discourse said it will keep its GPLv2 codebase open after 13 years. The post says its team used GPT-5.3 Codex, GPT-5.4, and Claude Opus 4.6 to scan code, and its last monthly release fixed 50 security issues. The key claim is defensive capacity: OpenAI said Codex Security scanned 1.2M+ commits in 30 days and found 792 critical and 10,561 high-severity issues.

Latent Space

[AINews] Anthropic Claude Opus 4.7 - one step better than 4.6 in every dimension

Anthropic launched Claude Opus 4.7 at the same $5/$25 per million input/output tokens; the post says 4.7-low through 4.7-high each outperform the matching higher 4.6 tiers. Reported changes include a new xhigh reasoning tier, Claude Code defaulting to xhigh, an 11-point gain on SWE-Bench Pro, and image input up to 2,576 px on the long edge (~3.75 MP). Do not overread the tokenizer change: the same input can use up to 35% more tokens, but the post says total token use still falls by up to 50% from prior equivalents.

Why it matters: Anthropic's flagship-model release fits the policy's 85–94 band. HKR-H/K/R all pass because the post gives concrete pricing, benchmark, image-limit, and token-accounting changes that hit Claude users' core coding and cost concerns.

X · @dotey

Boris Cherny shares practical tips from recent heavy use of Claude Opus 4.7

Boris Cherny outlined five ways to use Claude Opus 4.7, centered on Auto mode approving safe commands and a /go skill chaining tests, code simplification, and PR creation. The post names Auto mode, Recaps, Focus mode, effort level, and computer use; pricing, launch date, and benchmark data are not disclosed. The real shift is workflow, not just the model itself.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI upgrades Codex with more control over your desktop

OpenAI upgraded Codex on April 16, 2026, expanding its desktop control, and the headline frames it as a move against Anthropic. The truncated post only confirms more desktop power for Codex and says Claude Code has become a preferred tool for many businesses; the post does not disclose exact features, pricing, rollout, or permission limits. The key issue is the permission boundary, not the coding-tool label.

Why it matters: TechCrunch reports an OpenAI Codex desktop-control upgrade framed as a direct move against Anthropic, so HKR-H and HKR-R land. But HKR-K is limited: the article confirms broader permissions only, with no action list, pricing, or rollout details, so it stays at the featured floor.

X · @dotey

Claude Opus 4.7 uses more thinking tokens, so Anthropic permanently raised rate limits for paid users

Anthropic permanently raised rate limits for all paid subscribers because Claude Opus 4.7 uses more thinking tokens than its predecessor. The post confirms the affected group but does not disclose the increase size, pricing rules, or rollout timing; users who do not see the change should verify they are on Opus 4.7 and have updated Claude Code.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Anthropic quota update for paying users, with all three HKR axes present: a strong surprise hook, a concrete operational fact, and direct resonance on usage limits. It stays at featured, not P1, because the post does not disclose the size of the increase, pr

X · @dotey

Official best practices for using Claude Opus 4.7 with Claude Code

Anthropic shared guidance for Claude Opus 4.7 in Claude Code: the default Effort level is now xhigh, and users should provide goals, constraints, and acceptance criteria upfront. The post lists five Effort tiers—low, medium, high, xhigh, and max—with xhigh recommended for most coding, API design, migration, and code review tasks. The key shift is behavior: adaptive thinking is built in, while tool use and SubAgent spawning are less frequent by default, so prompts should state those needs explicitly.

Why it matters: This is not a model launch, but an official Anthropic workflow note that changes day-to-day Claude Code usage: default effort, 5 levels, and fewer tool/SubAgent calls unless asked. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the scope is narrower than a major product release.

X · @dotey

Musk's xAI is turning into a GPU lessor, with $50 billion coding tool Cursor as its first customer

xAI is leasing tens of thousands of GPUs to Cursor to train its coding model Composer 2.5, while Cursor is reportedly fundraising at about a $50 billion valuation. The post says xAI's internal model FLOPs utilization is about 11%, versus a typical 35% to 45%, across roughly 200,000 Nvidia GPUs. The key point for practitioners is that xAI is starting to monetize idle compute as cloud capacity, not just build models.

Why it matters: This clears all three HKR axes: a strong strategic twist plus concrete numbers on utilization and fleet size. I keep it at 84, not higher, because this is business/economics reporting on capacity monetization, not a model launch, product ship, or top-level personnel move.

Apr 16Thursday

X · @op7418

Claude Code now supports Claude Opus 4.7

Claude Code now supports Claude Opus 4.7, and the RSS snippet confirms X-HIGH as the default reasoning level. The only concrete detail disclosed is that users must switch manually to Max if X-HIGH is insufficient. The post does not disclose pricing, rate limits, or launch timing.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Claude product update with all three HKR signals: a new model in Claude Code plus one concrete operational detail, X-HIGH vs. manual Max. I kept it below the top band because price, rate limits, and formal release timing are not disclosed.

X · @dotey

Anthropic officially releases Claude Opus 4.7 at unchanged pricing

Anthropic released Claude Opus 4.7 at unchanged pricing: $5 per million input tokens and $25 per million output tokens; the API name is claude-opus-4-7, now live across Claude, Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud Vertex AI, and Microsoft Foundry. The post gives two concrete changes: vision input now supports up to 2576 pixels on the long edge, and the new tokenizer can raise token usage to 1.0-1.35x for the same text. Watch migration cost, not list price; higher reasoning settings and multi-turn runs can increase output length and bills.

Why it matters: An Anthropic substantive model release belongs in the 85+ band, and this is not just a rename: the 2576px vision limit and 1.0–1.35x tokenization shift affect migration tests and billing immediately. HKR-H/K/R all pass, so it clears p1.

Hacker News front page

Claude Opus 4.7 System Card

Anthropic published a 232-page system card for Claude Opus 4.7 on April 16, 2026, saying it outperforms Opus 4.6 but remains below the limited-release Claude Mythos Preview. The card says Opus 4.7 does not advance Anthropic’s capability frontier, catastrophic risk remains low, cyber capability is roughly similar to Opus 4.6, and it does not cross the threshold for automated AI R&D. The excerpt does not disclose benchmark scores or the new cybersecurity safeguard details.

Why it matters: This is not a flashy launch post, but it is a substantive Anthropic system card update. HKR-K is strong: Opus 4.7 beats 4.6, stays below automated AI R&D thresholds, and is roughly similar to 4.6 on cyber evals; HKR-R lands because Claude users track general-access model ceilings

Hacker News front page

Introducing Claude Opus 4.7

Anthropic released Claude Opus 4.7 on Apr. 16 at the same price as Opus 4.6: $5 per million input tokens and $25 per million output tokens. The post says it improves on Opus 4.6 in advanced software engineering, long-running tasks, and higher-resolution vision, and ships across Claude, the API, Amazon Bedrock, Vertex AI, and Microsoft Foundry. The key detail is the first deployment of Anthropic’s cyber request blocking on a less capable model; the post cites benchmark gains but does not fully disclose every score in text.

Why it matters: Anthropic shipping Claude Opus 4.7 is a same-day write: GA, unchanged $5/$25 pricing, and rollout across Claude, API, Bedrock, Vertex AI, and Foundry give it direct workflow impact. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post does not publish full benchmark scores.

Hacker News front page

Qwen3.6-35B-A3B: Agentic coding power, now open to all

Qwen released Qwen3.6-35B-A3B as open weights, with 35B total parameters and 3B active parameters. The post reports 73.4 on SWE-bench Verified, 51.5 on Terminal-Bench 2.0, and 92.0 on RefCOCO. The key point is agentic coding and multimodal performance at a 3B active-parameter budget, with weights, Qwen Studio, and API access available.

r/LocalLLaMA

Qwen3.6-35B-A3B released

Qwen released Qwen3.6-35B-A3B as open source under Apache 2.0; it is a sparse MoE with 35B total parameters and 3B active. The post also claims agentic coding, strong multimodal perception and reasoning, plus thinking and non-thinking modes; the post does not disclose benchmarks, context length, or latency.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a new open Qwen model is timely, and the post confirms 35B total, 3B active, and Apache 2.0. The score stays at 82 because this is still a launch post; benchmarks, context window, latency, and multimodal details are not disclosed here.

Latent Space

[AINews] RIP Pull Requests (2005-2026)

GitHub is, for the first time 21 years after pull requests emerged, letting open-source repos disable PRs; the post frames this as a signal that AI coding workflows are changing collaboration. It gives a 2005-to-2026 timeline and cites agent stacks from OpenAI and Cloudflare as pressure toward prompt-driven contributions and sandboxed execution; the real question is whether Git-based workflows still fit agent collaboration.

Why it matters: This is not a primary GitHub announcement, but it turns one concrete change—open-source repos can disable PRs—into a sharp workflow question for agent coding. HKR-H/K/R all pass; the score stays mid-featured because the excerpt lacks scope, adoption data, and primary-source GitH​