Skip to content

xAI / Grok

Everything xAI and Grok: model iterations, compute build-out and integration with X.

Latest picks

41–60 of 100

Jun 16Tuesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

DOJ invokes national security to defend xAI's unpermitted gas turbines in NAACP lawsuit

The DOJ moved to dismiss an NAACP lawsuit against xAI, arguing that shutting off its gas turbines would threaten military operations. A DOD official stated Grok is one of four models supporting mission-critical work on classified networks, including recent strikes on Iran. The NAACP sued because xAI runs unpermitted turbines at its Colossus 2 site in Mississippi—turbine count grew from 27 to 57 since April, with a 111% spike in nitrogen oxide emissions. The post doesn't specify which national security statute the DOJ is citing.

Why it matters: xAI's unpermitted data center emissions draw a NAACP lawsuit, and DOJ steps in citing national security, claiming shutting down the turbines would impact military operations. Concrete numbers and Pentagon backing give this both novelty and substance, but it's still in litigati...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

SpaceX to acquire AI coding startup Cursor for $60B in stock, days after its IPO

Days after its historic IPO, SpaceX agreed to buy AI coding startup Cursor for $60 billion in stock. Cursor was about to close a $2B round at a $50B valuation from a16z, Thrive, and Nvidia. SpaceX told IPO investors its AI addressable market is $26 trillion and wants the deal to help its xAI-built AI unit catch up with major labs. The transaction is expected to close in Q3. The post doesn't spell out product integration plans, team retention, or regulatory approvals.

Why it matters: SpaceX acquiring Cursor for $60B in stock immediately after IPO is an industry-shaking move. Cursor was about to close a $2B round at a $50B valuation — this deal rewrites the AI coding tools landscape overnight. HKR all hit; the only deduction is that the body doesn't disclos...

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

xAI launches Grok Imagine Video 1.5: faster image-to-video with synced audio

xAI upgraded its image-to-video model to 1.5, now generally available via API with a Fast variant on Grok and mobile apps. A 6-second 720p clip takes about 25 seconds, nearly twice as fast as the previous 40+ seconds. Audio is generated in the same pass—ambience, effects, and dialogue land on the action with better lip sync. Motion holds up over longer clips with fewer warps and more believable weight. Three workflow features are rolling out: Projects for organization, parallel multi-agent prompting, and library search. The post doesn't disclose training data scale or pricing.

Why it matters: xAI shipped a meaningful image-to-video upgrade with 2x speed, synced audio, and better physics. Score stays at 78 because the video generation space already has established leaders — this is a solid iteration, not a market shift.

Jun 15Monday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Grok Build adds Agent Dashboard to manage multiple coding sessions at once

xAI shipped a terminal dashboard for Grok Build that lets you monitor and interact with multiple coding sessions on one screen. Sessions are grouped by state—blocked ones rise to the top—so you handle approvals and questions inline without switching contexts. You can peek at output, reply, dispatch new work, and jump into any session. Closing the dashboard leaves everything running; reopening it restores all sessions. Install via curl -fsSL https://x.ai/cli/install.sh | bash, then run grok dashboard or hit Ctrl+\.

Why it matters: xAI added a terminal-based multi-session dashboard to Grok Build with a novel interaction pattern and concrete mechanism details. But this is a single-feature update, not a model release or ecosystem-level shift — impact is limited to Grok Build users. H and K both hit, R is a...

Jun 11Thursday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

xAI launches a built-in plugin marketplace for Grok Build, starting with 6 partners including MongoDB and Vercel

xAI added a plugin marketplace directly inside Grok Build, so you can browse, install, and update plugins without leaving the terminal. Each plugin bundles skills, slash commands, agents, hooks, MCP servers, and LSPs. The launch lineup includes MongoDB, Vercel, Sentry, Chrome DevTools, Cloudflare, and Superpowers. Every remote plugin is pinned to a specific commit SHA and verified at install time. Developers can publish their own by submitting a PR to xai-org/plugin-marketplace. The post doesn't mention any review process or revenue split.

Why it matters: xAI added a built-in plugin marketplace to Grok Build with launch partners like MongoDB, Vercel, and Sentry. Bundling MCP servers and LSPs into one installable unit is a more structured extensibility model than typical CLI tools. H and K both hit, but the audience is limited t...

Jun 9Tuesday

Bloomberg Technology

Musk’s xAI Taps Starlink Staffer to Run Grok Training Team

xAI brought in an executive from SpaceX’s Starlink service to run the Grok training team, replacing college-aged engineer Diego Pasini; the RSS snippet does not disclose the executive’s name, tenure, or training process.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass, but this is a training-team leadership change, not a model release or executive-level departure. Bloomberg sourcing and the Diego Pasini detail put it at the featured floor.

Jun 6Saturday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

SpaceX and Google Reach New Cloud Computing Agreement

SpaceX disclosed a cloud services agreement with Google: Google will pay SpaceX $920 million per month for computing capacity tied to xAI data centers, while the post does not disclose contract duration, GPU scale, or delivery terms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is a Google–SpaceX–xAI compute triangle, with $920M/month as the concrete fact. The single-post source and missing contract term, delivery scale, and filing details keep it at low P1.

Hacker News front page

Google to Pay SpaceX $920M a Month for Compute Capacity at xAI Data Centers

The title says Google will pay SpaceX $920 million per month for compute capacity at xAI data centers; the RSS snippet does not disclose contract duration, GPU scale, or the capacity delivery mechanism.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: $920M/month is a hard compute-market number, and the Google-SpaceX-xAI structure is unusual. Missing duration and GPU details keep it below 90.

Jun 5Friday

Computing Life · Share · Yage

Grok Build 0.1: xAI’s Bet on Parallel Breadth

xAI launched Grok Build 0.1 in May 2026 as a coding agent built around parallel subagents; the post does not disclose benchmark results, cost figures, or specific privacy-policy terms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass because xAI entering coding agents with parallel subagents is clickable, concrete, and relevant to developers. Missing benchmarks, cost, and privacy terms keep it at the featured floor.

Jun 4Thursday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

OpenRouter compares 11 LLMs for real-time decisions: Claude and Grok lead

OpenRouter spent $482 on inference to run 11 LLMs through a 30-round real-time decision challenge, where Claude and Grok models led on decision speed and task success, while several high benchmark models underperformed on real-time scheduling.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the contest format is clickable, the post gives cost and round counts, and agent model choice is a real practitioner concern. It is still an OpenRouter-run experiment, not a model release or standard benchmark.

Financial Times · Technology

MP sues Musk’s xAI in UK test case over fake sexual images

UK MP Jess Asato sued Musk’s xAI over fake sexual images, using the claim to test whether AI model makers are liable for system outputs; the post does not disclose the model, generation mechanism, damages sought, or court timetable.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: FT ties xAI, Musk, fake sexual images, and a UK liability test. The article does not disclose the model, generation mechanism, or damages, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

Jun 3Wednesday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Grok Becomes Vapi's Default Voice Engine

xAI partnered with Vapi to make Grok the default engine for 12 core voices, covering more than 2.5 million voice agents, and Grok Voice ranked first in Vapi’s independent blind test.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the default-engine switch has scale, numbers, and voice-agent market resonance. Single-source partnership news lacks test methodology, pricing, and migration data, so it stays in the mid product-update band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

xAI releases Grok Imagine 1.5 preview image-to-video model

xAI released grok-imagine-video-1.5-preview via its API, letting users turn one still image into 720p video while controlling camera movement, pacing, and sound effects with natural-language prompts.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: xAI ships a named image-to-video API preview with 720p output and sound controls. It stays below 85 because this is a preview product update, not a flagship foundation-model release.

Jun 1Monday

Latent Space

Why Video Agent Models Are Next — Ethan He on xAI Grok Imagine

Ethan He says a small xAI team built Grok Imagine from zero to one in 3 months, and the episode discusses video agents, audio-video alignment, inference speedups, and the storage, egress, and GPU-hour costs behind large video datasets.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body is interview-level signal: beyond the 3-month build and mechanism themes, it gives no benchmarks, cost figures, or reproducible test. Strong xAI video-agent context, not same-day must-write.

May 30Saturday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

xAI drops JAX GPU for an in-house training framework

SemiAnalysis says xAI dropped JAX GPU and moved to a C training framework written with Grok Build; the snippet claims xAI’s JAX stack had MFU below 10%, but the post does not disclose reproducible benchmark conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: xAI changing its training stack is a strong hook, MFU <10% is a concrete claim, and infra cost will spark debate. Single-source tweet format and no reproducible setup keep it at 80, not P1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

xAI Releases Grok Build 0.1 Public Beta

xAI released grok-build-0.1 as a public beta through its API; the same model powers the Grok Build CLI, targets agentic coding, and is priced at $1 per million input tokens and $2 per million output tokens.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post is thin: beta, CLI, pricing, and agent-coding positioning only; no benchmarks, context window, or hands-on results. This fits a mid-weight product update.

May 28Thursday

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Grok Build 0.1 on API

xAI released Grok Build 0.1 in public beta through the xAI API for agentic coding tasks, with throughput above 100 tokens per second and pricing at $1 per million input tokens and $2 per million output tokens.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a 0.1 public-beta API and pricing launch; benchmarks, context window, and task success rates are not disclosed. It fits a solid mid-weight product update at 78, featured not p1.

May 26Tuesday

Synced · WeChat

Grok keeps updating after xAI disbandment as Musk announces a new model

Elon Musk said the 1.5T-parameter Grok V9-Medium has finished training, will enter reinforcement learning in a few days, and is planned for release in two to three weeks. Grok Build supports up to 8 parallel sub-agents, a 256K-token context window, Plan Mode, Arena Mode, MCP, and ACP.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Grok V9-Medium preview before RL and release, with no benchmarked capability yet. That fits a strong model-race/product update at 82, featured but not p1.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Grok Build Beta Opens to SuperGrok Users

xAI opened Grok Build Beta to all SuperGrok and X Premium+ users, with Plan Mode, Imagine-based image and video creation, and a CLI for automation or orchestrator workflows at x.ai/cli.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: xAI opened a paid beta with named workflow features. The score stays at the featured floor because the post lacks capability limits, pricing detail, and test results.

May 21Thursday

Financial Times · Technology

Anthropic on Track for First Profitable Quarter

Anthropic is on track to record its first profitable quarter ahead of OpenAI and xAI; the RSS snippet does not disclose the quarter, revenue, profit figure, or accounting basis.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the FT claim reframes Anthropic’s business race against OpenAI and xAI. Missing quarter, revenue, and profit figures keeps it below P1.