Skip to content

Product updates

New features, redesigns and pricing in AI products — whose product got better, pricier or finally usable.

842 picksRelated topicsModel releasesIndustryAI coding

Latest picks

261–280 of 842

May 22Friday

Bloomberg Technology

SpaceX Aims to Build 10-Gigawatt Solar Factory Near Austin

SpaceX plans to build a 10-gigawatt solar manufacturing facility near Austin to supply power for Elon Musk’s proposed artificial intelligence data centers in space.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: the space-AI-data-center angle is novel, the 10GW Austin-area factory is concrete, and power is a live AI-infra concern. Kept in the 72–77 band because cost, timeline, and buildout details are not disclosed.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Codex Enables Secure Cross-Device Mac Control Around the Clock

OpenAI Devs says Codex can use apps on a Mac from a phone while the Mac remains locked and the screen is off; the post does not disclose permission boundaries, pricing, or a release timeline.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI Devs disclosed a concrete Codex Mac-control condition. Missing permission boundaries, pricing, and launch timing keep it below the 85+ band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Aleph 2.0 and Edit Studio

Runway released Aleph 2.0 and Edit Studio, combining generation, editing, and post-production into one platform; the post does not disclose pricing, technical parameters, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: Runway is a major AI video vendor, and Aleph 2.0 plus Edit Studio is a mid-weight product update. HKR-H/K/R pass, but missing price, specs, and rollout keep it at the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Claude now supports more security and compliance tools

Anthropic added 28 security and compliance integrations for Claude Enterprise and its platform, using the Claude Compliance API to provide conversation content and activity events to DLP, SIEM, and existing enterprise monitoring workflows.

Why it matters: Official Anthropic product update with 28 compliance integrations and Compliance API event routing, so HKR-K/R pass. It is enterprise governance rather than a model capability jump, keeping it near the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Kotlin ADK and Android ADK 0.1.0 Released for Building AI Agents

Google released Kotlin ADK and Android ADK 0.1.0 for developers, with Kotlin ADK targeting backend agent workflows and Android ADK providing mobile-specific functions for building AI agents.

Why it matters: Google’s Kotlin ADK and Android ADK 0.1.0 release is a mid-weight agent tooling update. HKR-H/K/R pass, but the disclosed facts stop at platforms and version, with no performance data, examples, or ecosystem scale.

Hacker News front page

Launch HN: Runtime (YC P26) – Sandboxed coding agents for everyone on a team

Runtime launched open-source sandbox infrastructure for coding agents, supporting Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, Copilot, Gemini, and Devin, with hosted access, a free tier, and pricing based on a flat platform fee plus compute without token markup.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: this is not a major-lab launch, but open-source sandboxes, six coding-agent types, and no token markup give teams concrete adoption signals. No usage data or marquee customers keeps it near the featured floor.

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA GTC Taipei at COMPUTEX: Live Updates on What’s Next in AI

NVIDIA won four COMPUTEX 2026 Best Choice Awards for Vera Rubin NVL72, Jetson Thor, and Alpamayo; Vera Rubin NVL72 connects 36 Vera CPUs and 72 Rubin GPUs, and NVIDIA says it delivers up to 10x higher inference performance per watt and 10x lower cost per token.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: NVIDIA gives concrete Vera Rubin NVL72 specs and a 10x inference-efficiency claim, directly tied to AI compute costs. The source is NVIDIA’s event blog, so this stays below the 85 same-day must-write band.

May 21Thursday

The Verge · AI

Spotify is launching AI-generated remixes

Spotify and UMG announced a licensing deal that lets Premium subscribers pay for AI-generated remixes and covers of streaming songs; artists can opt out, while participating artists collect royalties from these AI remixes.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Spotify and UMG add licensed AI covers/remixes with paid use, opt-out, and royalties. It is consumer audio, not a model or dev-tool release, so it sits just above the featured threshold.

Financial Times · Technology

Spotify targets high-spending superfans with AI-generated music

Spotify and Universal Music Group struck a licensing deal for a paid AI-generated music add-on inside Spotify’s app, targeting high-spending superfans; the RSS snippet does not disclose pricing, launch timing, supported markets, or model details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Spotify-UMG licensing turns AI music into a paid in-app product, not just a demo. Pricing, launch date, and revenue split are not disclosed, so this stays below must-write range.

MIT Technology Review · AI

Anthropic’s Code with Claude Showed Off Coding’s Future—Whether You Like It or Not

Anthropic used its two-day Code with Claude event in London to show Claude Code automation, with nearly half the room saying they shipped a pull request fully written by Claude in the past week, and many keeping their hands raised when asked whether they had shipped it without reading the code.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the MIT Tech Review piece has a strong Claude Code hook, a concrete developer-behavior number, and clear resonance for programmers. It is not a model release or major product launch, so it stays in the 78–84 band.

r/LocalLLaMA

LLM planner: pick a rig by use case, model, or budget, or pick models for your rig

totosse17 published the LLMRequirements hardware planner with 60+ build configs, 50+ models, 130 cited tokens-per-second sources, 150+ reviewer videos, multi-region prices, idle and active watts, and a public GitHub data repo.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is a Reddit community tool for local LLM rigs, not a broad platform release. The concrete dataset earns a featured-threshold score, not the 78+ band.

The Verge · AI

I Can’t Believe How Fast Google Vibe Coded My First Android App

The Verge’s Sean Hollister used Google AI Studio to generate three Android apps in one afternoon; one app came from a 148-word browser prompt and installed about 10 minutes later on an Android phone prepared with USB debugging and a PC connection.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story has a personal-test hook plus concrete timing and prompt details. This is not a major Google launch, so it fits the high-quality first-person experiment band, not same-day must-write.

Hacker News front page

Google officially announces ads in AI Mode search results

Google announced that AI Mode search results will include ads; the RSS snippet only lists 78 points and 66 comments, and the post does not disclose ad formats, targeting mechanics, or rollout timing.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the clean-AI-search twist; HKR-K has one concrete Google confirmation. HKR-R is strong for SEO and ad budgets, but missing format, auction logic, and launch timing keeps it below P1.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Anthropic Acquires SDK Toolmaker Stainless, Leaving OpenAI and Others to Maintain SDKs

Anthropic has completed its acquisition of Stainless, an SDK generation company used by OpenAI, Anthropic, Meta, Cloudflare, and other infrastructure vendors; Stainless says prior SDK ownership remains with customers, but it will shut down hosted products including SDK generator and stop providing ongoing support.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the deal targets API SDK generation, names OpenAI/Meta/Cloudflare as customers, and says hosted products will shut down. Anthropic bump applies, but this is not a model or core capability release, so it fits 78–84.

Synced · WeChat

Zhipu deploys ZCube, raising inference throughput 15% on the same GPUs

Zhipu deployed ZCube in a thousand-GPU GLM-5.1 production inference cluster, replacing ROFT while keeping GPUs, software stack, and business code unchanged; throughput rose by over 15%, TTFT P99 fell 40.6%, and switch plus optical module costs dropped by one third.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Zhipu reports ZCube in a GLM-5.1 1k-GPU production inference cluster with +15% throughput and 40.6% lower TTFT P99. Single-source infra optimization keeps it below major model-release weight.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

FSD officially launches in mainland China

The title says FSD has launched in mainland China, while the post only states an official entry into the mainland and does not disclose eligible cities, vehicle models, pricing, or regulatory conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: FSD’s China entry is a high-attention rollout with autonomy regulation and competition stakes. HKR-K fails because the post gives no rollout scope, pricing, or approval details.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Equipping AI with a Scientific Toolkit to Accelerate Research Workflows

Google DeepMind released Science Skills for Google Antigravity, integrating insights from more than 30 life-science sources, including the UniProt and AlphaFold databases.

Why it matters: Google DeepMind has a concrete product update: Science Skills adds 30+ life-science sources to Antigravity, hitting HKR-H/K. It is a vertical toolkit rather than a model release, so it sits at the low featured band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Tencent Launches OS-Level AI Assistant Mavis on Windows, Mac, and Android

Tencent launched the OS-level AI assistant Mavis on May 21 across Windows, Mac, and Android, with document parsing, image recognition, system maintenance, partial offline use, model dispatching, and desktop control of mobile apps listed as supported functions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Tencent’s OS-level assistant spans Windows, Mac, and Android with concrete tool abilities. Model, pricing, and permission design are not disclosed, so it stays at the lower featured band.

Latent Space

Railway: The Agent-Native Cloud — Jake Cooper

Railway serves 3 million users with a 35-person team, adds about 100,000 signups per week, has raised $124 million, and has moved most workloads to its own bare-metal data centers with a reported three-month payback versus rented cloud capacity.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the Railway interview has concrete growth, funding, and bare-metal details tied to agent infrastructure. It is a strong practitioner story, not a core model or major AI product release, so 74 fits the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google Stitch update: AI design assistant supports end-to-end building

Google updated its AI design partner Stitch with real-time streaming design builds, direct edits and feedback, codebase or Design.md imports, dynamic UI generation, shareable URL exports, and global availability.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: Google Stitch adds streaming builds, codebase/Design.md import, and global access. It stays at the featured threshold because model details, pricing, and measured output quality are not disclosed.