Skip to content

Open source

Open models, frameworks and repositories: open weights, community hits and the balance between open and closed.

Latest picks

281–300 of 329

Apr 29Wednesday

r/LocalLLaMA

SenseNova-U1: Unifying Multimodal Understanding and Generation with NEO-Unify Architecture

SenseNova released SenseNova-U1 with 4 MoT multimodal models. The post lists 8B and A3B variants with GitHub and HuggingFace weight links. The key claim is a monolithic architecture instead of adapters; benchmarks are not disclosed.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: open weights, 4 MoT multimodal models, and a single architecture are concrete. Benchmarks are not disclosed, and the source is Reddit, so this stays in the 72–77 featured-threshold band.

X · @dotey

Microsoft VibeVoice-ASR tested on Mac for a one-hour podcast

Simon Willison ran 4-bit VibeVoice-ASR on an M5 Max MacBook Pro and transcribed a one-hour podcast in 8m45s. The 9B MIT-licensed model supports 60-minute audio, 50+ languages, and structured speaker output. Memory is the constraint: prefill peaked at 61.5GB, making 32GB laptops impractical.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Simon Willison’s local test gives speed, parameter size, and memory peak that practitioners can act on. It is a single benchmark, not a fresh model launch, so it stays at the featured threshold.

r/LocalLLaMA

XiaomiMiMo MiMo-V2.5: Sparse MoE with 310B total and 15B activated parameters

XiaomiMiMo shared MiMo-V2.5 with 310B total parameters and 15B activated parameters. The post only links Hugging Face and says it runs on more “human” configs than its larger sibling. It does not disclose VRAM needs, quantization, or benchmarks.

Why it matters: HKR passes: the 310B/15B Sparse MoE hook is concrete and relevant to local deployment. Detail is thin: the post links Hugging Face but gives no VRAM, quantization, or benchmarks, so it stays near the featured threshold.

X · @dotey

AI terminal tool Warp open-sources client code with OpenAI as founding sponsor

Warp open-sourced its client code under AGPL; only the client is open, while server code stays closed. The Rust terminal has 700,000+ developers, and its Oz cloud AI handles coding, planning, and tests. The key signal is its AI-first contribution workflow.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI sponsorship hook, AGPL/client-only detail, and 700K-developer signal are concrete. This is a strong dev-tool open-source update, not a major model or capability release.

Apr 28Tuesday

QbitAI · WeChat

Xiaomi open-sources MiMo-V2.5 series; Pro builds a macOS-like desktop in 4 hours

Xiaomi open-sourced MiMo-V2.5 weights, covering Pro Agent, multimodal base, TTS, and ASR models. MiMo-V2.5-Pro built a 54-app macOS-like desktop in 4 hours without human takeover; it scored 233/233 on SysY with 672 tool calls in 4.3 hours. Key details for practitioners are the 1M context, 100T-token program, and free Agent-framework access.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Xiaomi open-sourced MiMo-V2.5 weights with concrete agent and coding-task numbers. Domestic flagship model release bump puts it in the must-write same-day band.

QbitAI · WeChat

Open-source SenseNova-U1 unifies image understanding and generation

SenseTime open-sourced two SenseNova-U1 models: an 8B version and a 38B-total MoE version using NEO-unify. The architecture removes VE and VAE, processes pixels directly, and generates 2048×2048 images in about 9 seconds on one H100/H200 node. The key item is interleaved text-image reasoning; 32K context, long-text rendering, and beta interleaved creation remain limits.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the architecture hook is concrete, the post gives model sizes and latency, and open multimodal work matters to builders. It stays in 78–84 because it is not a top-tier general-model launch.

Hacker News front page

Xiaomi releases MiMo-v2.5 weights with strong coding and agent benchmarks

Xiaomi released MiMo-v2.5 family weights; the title cites strong coding and agent benchmarks. The RSS body only lists URLs, 13 HN points and 2 comments; the post does not disclose size, license, or scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass because a Xiaomi coding/agent weights release is concrete and practitioner-relevant. Sparse sourcing holds it near the featured floor: no parameters, license, or benchmark numbers are disclosed.

X · @op7418

Xiaomi open-sources the MiMo-V2.5 model series

Xiaomi open-sourced the MiMo-V2.5 model series under the MIT license for commercial use, retraining, and fine-tuning. It also launched Orbit 100T Token, offering approved AI builders up to 1.6B credits worth 659 yuan. Agent framework teams can apply for free MiMo token access; the post does not disclose model size or benchmark results.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Xiaomi MiMo-V2.5 open source, MIT terms, and Orbit 100T credits matter to builders. Missing params and benchmarks keep it in the 78–84 band, below P1.

r/LocalLLaMA

Microsoft Presents TRELLIS.2: Open-Source 4B Image-to-3D Model

Microsoft’s title says TRELLIS.2 is an open-source 4B image-to-3D model. The title lists 1536³ PBR assets, native 3D VAEs, and 16× spatial compression; the Reddit body is blocked by 403 and discloses no license or benchmarks.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: 4B, 1536³, 16× compression, and open source are concrete. Reddit 403 leaves no paper, license, benchmark, or official link, so the score sits at the featured floor.

Apr 27Monday

Hacker News front page

Show HN: Utilyze — an open-source GPU monitoring tool claiming higher accuracy than nvtop

Systalyze open-sourced Utilyze to measure real GPU compute efficiency in production, with negligible overhead claimed. The post says nvidia-smi and nvtop only check whether any kernel runs during the sampling window; an H100 has 132 SMs and 17,424 cores. The key issue is real throughput headroom, not binary utilization dashboards.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is sharp, the post explains the sampling flaw, and GPU waste is a real practitioner nerve. Unknown vendor and single-tool scope keep it in the 72–77 band.

Hacker News front page

Show HN: OSS Agent Dirac topped TerminalBench on Gemini-3-flash-preview

Dirac-run released Dirac and says it topped TerminalBench using Gemini-3-flash-preview. The repo claims 50-80% lower API costs via Hash Anchored edits, parallel operations, and AST manipulation; the post does not disclose full scores.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: an OSS coding agent claims a TerminalBench lead with cost and mechanism details. Held to 78 because the post relies on repo claims and lacks full leaderboard scores or reproduction logs.

OpenAI News

An Open-Source Spec for Orchestration: Symphony

OpenAI released Symphony, an open-source spec for Codex orchestration. The RSS snippet says it turns issue trackers into always-on agent systems; the post does not disclose spec details, license, APIs, or benchmarks.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass: an OpenAI open-source Codex orchestration spec is relevant to agent workflows. HKR-K is weak because license, interfaces, and reproducible mechanics are not disclosed.

Apr 25Saturday

Hacker News front page

Open-source memory layer Stash lets any AI agent do what Claude.ai and ChatGPT memory can do

Stash released an open-source persistent memory layer for AI agents, exposing 28 MCP tools and a 6-stage pipeline for long-term memory. The page says it uses PostgreSQL plus pgvector and hierarchical namespaces to separate user, project, and self memory. The real point is a portable memory layer, not the headline claim about matching ChatGPT or Claude.ai.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is portable long-term memory for any agent, and the page gives concrete architecture details. The score stays in the low featured band because this is an indie OSS infrastructure launch, not a major lab or platform release.

Apr 23Thursday

QbitAI · WeChat

Qwen3.6-27B open-weights, beats its 397B flagship predecessor on agentic coding

Qwen released Qwen3.6-27B and says it beats Qwen3.5-397B on 4 agentic coding benchmarks with about 1/15 the parameters. The post cites SkillsBench rising from 30.0 to 48.2, GPQA Diamond at 87.8, and AIME26 at 94.1; it uses a dense architecture, Thinking Preservation, and Gated DeltaNet, with weights on Hugging Face and ModelScope.

Why it matters: This is a substantive Qwen open-source model release with concrete agent-coding and reasoning scores, so HKR-H/K/R all pass. I keep it at 84, not higher, because the post gives strong benchmarks but no pricing, context window, or independent reproduction yet.

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Zhejiang University open-sources multi-agent evolution system OpenStory: Sun Wukong turns the Grand View Garden into an empty city

Zhejiang University open-sourced OpenStory, a multi-agent narrative system, and inserted a Sun Wukong agent into a 1:1 Dream of the Red Chamber sandbox; within minutes, agents fled the scene. The memory module broadcast “Sun Wukong killed innocents,” fear overrode daily logic, and Wang Xifeng’s physical removal cascaded into an empty Grand View Garden. What matters is the fragility of memory and consensus links; the post does not disclose the base models, metrics, or reproducible setup.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the stress test is vivid, and the story includes a specific memory-broadcast failure mode with clear agent-safety relevance. Missing model details, metrics, and reproducible setup keep it in the good-featured band, not 85+.

Apr 22Wednesday

Hacker News front page

Qwen3.6-27B: Flagship-Level Coding in a 27B Dense Model

Qwen released the open-weight 27B dense model Qwen3.6-27B and made it available in Qwen Studio. It scores 77.2 on SWE-bench Verified vs. 76.2 for Qwen3.5-397B-A17B, and 59.3 on Terminal-Bench 2.0 under a 256K context and 3-hour timeout. The real takeaway is deployment: this is not a larger MoE, but a denser 27B model with stronger coding results.

Why it matters: Qwen3.6-27B is a substantive flagship-model release with open weights, concrete coding benchmarks, and a practical dense-deployment angle. HKR-H/K/R all pass, and per policy a major Chinese model launch should score on par with an equivalent US-lab release.

Apr 20Monday

X · @Yuchenj_UW

Kimi K2.6 is open-source

Kimi K2.6 is now open source, and the RSS snippet says it scored 58.6 on SWE-Bench Pro. The snippet also says it beat GPT-5.4 xhigh and Claude Opus 4.6 max effort. What matters is reproducibility; the post does not disclose weights, license, or eval setup.

Why it matters: All three HKR axes land: the open-source release is a strong hook, the SWE-Bench Pro 58.6 claim is testable, and the open-vs-closed coding race resonates. I keep it at 81 because the post appears title-level only; weights, license, and eval conditions are not disclosed.

r/LocalLLaMA

Training LoRA adapters for Apple's on-device 3B model on a free Colab T4 and a Mac

The author built a QLoRA pipeline for Apple’s on-device 3B model, cutting training needs from about 24GB to about 1GB RAM and 5GB GPU, enough for a free Colab T4 or a 24GB Mac. The post says A100 LoRA, T4 QLoRA, and Mac QLoRA adapters perform about the same, raising accuracy from about 40% to 75%, or 86% with retrieval; it also reports a confirmed Apple bug that writes a hidden ~160MB cache copy per CLI call, reaching 269GB over ~300 runs.

Why it matters: A named first-person experiment with reproducible memory and accuracy numbers clears HKR-H/K/R and beats routine tutorial posts. The score stays below the 85 band because this is a single Reddit post with limited source authority and a narrow benchmark scope.

r/LocalLLaMA

TRELLIS.2 image-to-3D now runs on Mac (Apple Silicon) with no NVIDIA GPU required

A developer ported Microsoft's TRELLIS.2 to Apple Silicon and reports generating ~400K-vertex meshes from one photo in about 3.5 minutes on an M4 Pro with 24GB. The port replaces five CUDA-only extensions with PyTorch MPS and custom backends; texture baking takes about 18 seconds, removing the NVIDIA and cloud requirement.

Why it matters: This is a community port, not an official release, but HKR-H/K/R all pass: the hook is NVIDIA-free image-to-3D on Apple Silicon, and the post includes testable details (M4 Pro 24GB, ~400k vertices, 3.5 minutes, 5 CUDA-extension rewrites). Reddit-level source authority keeps it in

Hacker News front page

Show HN: TRELLIS.2 image-to-3D running on Apple Silicon, no Nvidia GPU needed

Developer shivampkumar ported Microsoft's 4B-parameter TRELLIS.2 to Apple Silicon with PyTorch MPS for single-image 3D generation. He replaced flash_attn, nvdiffrast, and custom sparse conv kernels with pure PyTorch sparse 3D conv, SDPA attention, and Python mesh extraction. On an M4 Pro with 24GB, it generates ~400K-vertex meshes in about 3.5 minutes; slower than H100 seconds, but fully offline.

Why it matters: Strong on all HKR axes: a clear hook, concrete implementation details, and benchmark-like numbers. This is not a Microsoft model launch, but a reproducible local port with real practitioner relevance, so it lands in featured rather than p1.