Skip to content

NVIDIA chips and ecosystem: new GPUs, CUDA, robotics platforms and the market for AI compute.

Latest picks

281–290 of 290

Jan 6Tuesday

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA RTX Accelerates 4K AI Video Generation on PC With LTX-2 and ComfyUI Upgrades

NVIDIA said GeForce RTX and related devices can run LTX-2 and updated ComfyUI for local AI video generation up to 3x faster with up to 60% lower VRAM use. The post attributes this to PyTorch-CUDA optimizations, native NVFP4/FP8 support in ComfyUI, and an RTX Video 4K upscaling node due next month; LTX-2 open weights are available now and the workflow ships next month. The real signal for AI builders is that local 4K video is shifting from VRAM-bound demos to usable RTX workflows.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story has a sharp hook, concrete mechanisms, and clear resonance for local-inference users. I keep it at 76 because this is a vendor-blog ecosystem optimization update, not a major model launch or broad platform shift.

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA presents Rubin platform, open models and autonomous driving roadmap at CES

At CES 2026, NVIDIA said its six-chip Rubin AI platform is now in full production and cuts token generation cost to about one-tenth of the prior platform. The post cites 50 petaflops NVFP4 inference for Rubin GPUs, 5x gains from its KV-cache storage tier, and the new open autonomous-driving model family Alpamayo; the key signal is production status and cost curve, not the “AI everywhere” framing.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because Rubin is in production, not just on a roadmap. HKR-K is strong with ~1/10 token cost, 50 PFLOPS NVFP4, and 5x long-context throughput; HKR-R lands because NVIDIA still sets the tone on inference economics, though the company-blog framing keeps it below 90.

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA DGX SuperPOD Sets the Stage for Rubin-Based Systems

NVIDIA introduced Rubin-based DGX SuperPOD systems, with DGX Vera Rubin NVL72 and DGX Rubin NVL8 slated for the second half of this year. One DGX SuperPOD can combine eight NVL72 systems for 576 Rubin GPUs, 28.8 exaflops FP4, and 600TB memory; NVIDIA says inference token cost drops by up to 10x versus the prior generation. The key detail is rack-scale design: 260TB/s NVLink per rack, which the post says removes model partitioning.

Why it matters: This is a substantive NVIDIA infra roadmap with hard numbers: 576 Rubin GPUs, 28.8 exaflops FP4, 600TB memory, 260TB/s NVLink, and up to 10x lower token cost. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but it is still a vendor roadmap post rather than a shipping model or broad product release, so it is

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA DGX Spark and DGX Station power the latest open-source and frontier models from the desktop

NVIDIA showed at CES that DGX Spark and DGX Station can run 100B to 1T-parameter models locally on deskside systems. The post cites a 35% average llama.cpp speedup, up to 70% NVFP4 compression, 775GB coherent memory on DGX Station, and a 250,000 token/sec pretraining demo. The real signal is the local dev loop: fine-tuning, inference, RAG, coding assistants, and robotics demos all target replacing some cloud iteration with deskside compute.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story pairs a strong desktop-scale hook with concrete specs and demo numbers, and it speaks directly to the local-vs-cloud workflow debate. Still, this is an NVIDIA product post and most performance evidence comes from vendor-run demos, so it stays at 75,.

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA DRIVE AV Software Debuts in the All-New Mercedes-Benz CLA

NVIDIA said the new Mercedes-Benz CLA will be the first U.S. vehicle to ship DRIVE AV with enhanced Level 2 point-to-point driver assistance by the end of this year. The post describes a dual-stack design: end-to-end AI for core driving plus a classical safety stack built on Halos, with OTA upgrades, urban navigation, active collision avoidance, and automated parking. The launch timing is specific, but the post does not disclose pricing, sensor configuration, or the exact ODD.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the Mercedes CLA deployment hook. HKR-K lands on the disclosed dual-stack design and US launch timing. HKR-R lands on the shipping-autonomy debate, but missing price, sensor suite, and ODD keep it at the low end of featured.

NVIDIA Blog

NVIDIA unveils new open models, data and tools across agents, robotics, AVs and biomedicine

NVIDIA released open models, datasets and training tools spanning Nemotron, Cosmos, Alpamayo, Isaac GR00T and Clara, plus 10T language tokens, 500K robotics trajectories, 455K protein structures and 100TB of vehicle sensor data. Newly disclosed items include Nemotron Speech/RAG/Safety, Cosmos Reason 2, Transfer 2.5, Predict 2.5, GR00T N1.6 and Alpamayo 1; the key signal is that NVIDIA is opening the data stack across agents, physical AI, AVs and biomedicine.

Dec 3, 2025Wednesday

Mistral AI

Mistral releases the Mistral 3 family, including 675B-parameter Mistral Large 3

Mistral AI released the Mistral 3 family: three dense models at 14B, 8B and 3B, plus Mistral Large 3, which uses a sparse MoE architecture with 41B active and 675B total parameters. All are open-sourced under Apache 2.0.

Why it matters: Mistral 3 ships an Apache 2.0 family from 3B to 675B in one release, a useful read on where open weights now stand for on-device and frontier capability.

Sep 22, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI and NVIDIA announce strategic partnership to deploy 10 gigawatts of NVIDIA systems

OpenAI and NVIDIA signed a letter of intent to deploy at least 10 gigawatts of NVIDIA systems for OpenAI’s next-generation AI infrastructure. NVIDIA plans to invest up to $100 billion into OpenAI as each gigawatt is deployed, and the first 1 GW phase is targeted for H2 2026 on the Vera Rubin platform. The key detail is execution: this is still an LOI, and final terms are not yet closed.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the official post discloses 10 GW, millions of GPUs, up to $100B intended investment, and a first 1 GW phase in H2 2026 on Vera Rubin. It is still a letter of intent, not a signed final deal, so it stays below the 95+ band; the scale still makes it p1.

Sep 16, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing Stargate UK

OpenAI, NVIDIA, and Nscale launched Stargate UK, with OpenAI exploring offtake of up to 8,000 GPUs in Q1 2026 for UK sovereign compute. The project may scale to 31,000 GPUs over time for public services, finance, research, and national security use cases that require local jurisdiction. The key detail is local compute for regulated workloads; pricing, full site capacity, and launch timing are not disclosed.

Why it matters: OpenAI extending Stargate to UK sovereign compute with an explicit 8,000-GPU plan for Q1 2026 and a 31,000-GPU ceiling gives it HKR-H/K/R. It stays below 85 because this is an infrastructure partnership announcement, not a shipped model or product, and price, total site scale, or

Jul 22, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Stargate advances with 4.5 GW partnership with Oracle

OpenAI and Oracle agreed to add 4.5 GW of Stargate data center capacity in the U.S., bringing capacity under development to over 5 GW and more than 2 million chips. OpenAI says this advances its January pledge to build 10 GW of U.S. AI infrastructure with $500 billion over four years, and it now expects to exceed that target. The concrete signal is deployment: Stargate I in Abilene has started receiving Nvidia GB200 racks and is already running early training and inference workloads.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is the sheer 4.5GW scale, the post includes concrete capacity numbers, and compute supply is a live industry nerve. At 88, this is a same-day infrastructure story with strategic impact, below only top-tier model or executive news.