Skip to content

Multimodal

Beyond text: vision, mixed image-text, audio and video input and output in models and products.

Latest picks

541–545 of 545

Sep 26, 2024Thursday

OpenAI News

Upgrading the Moderation API with OpenAI's new multimodal moderation model

OpenAI released omni-moderation-latest on September 26, 2024, a GPT-4o-based Moderation API model for text and image inputs that is free for all developers. It adds illicit and illicit/violent text categories, supports image moderation in 6 subcategories, and improves 42% on an internal 40-language eval, with gains in 98% of languages tested.

Why it matters: Extends free moderation to images and broadens what text categories get flagged.

Aug 8, 2024Thursday

OpenAI News

GPT-4o System Card

OpenAI published the GPT-4o System Card on August 8, 2024, reporting 3 of 4 Preparedness categories as low risk and persuasion as borderline medium. The post says GPT-4o accepts text, audio, image, and video inputs, responds to audio in as little as 232 ms with a 320 ms average, and is 50% cheaper than GPT-4 Turbo in the API. The key issue for practitioners is voice safety: the card names unauthorized voice generation, speaker identification, and sensitive trait attribution, and says only models with post-mitigation scores at medium or below can be deployed.

Why it matters: OpenAI's official system card gives the measured voice latency and names the audio safety risks, so teams can judge the multimodal limits from primary data.

Jul 23, 2024Tuesday

Hugging Face Blog

Llama 3.1: 405B, 70B & 8B with multilinguality and long context

Meta released Llama 3.1 with 405B, 70B, and 8B sizes, and the title says it adds multilingual support and long context. Only the title is available; the post does not disclose context length, languages, license terms, or benchmark results. Watch the 405B release terms and real inference cost.

Why it matters: Meta's release gives concrete sizes and roles for Llama 3.1, with the 405B model positioned for synthetic data, judging and distillation rather than direct serving.

Jul 18, 2024Thursday

OpenAI News

GPT-4o mini: advancing cost-efficient intelligence

OpenAI released GPT-4o mini on July 18, 2024 at $0.15 per 1M input tokens and $0.60 per 1M output tokens, replacing GPT-3.5 in ChatGPT. It supports text and vision, offers a 128K context window and 16K max output, scores 82.0% on MMLU and 87.2% on HumanEval. The key detail for builders is that its API version is the first to use instruction hierarchy against jailbreaks and prompt injection.

Why it matters: GPT-4o mini's price per million input tokens and its replacement of GPT-3.5 in ChatGPT set a new floor for cheap inference, and the instruction hierarchy shows how OpenAI handles jailbreaks.

Sep 25, 2023Monday

OpenAI News

ChatGPT can now see, hear, and speak

OpenAI says ChatGPT now supports seeing, hearing, and speaking. The post body is empty, so it does not disclose model versions, rollout timing, regional limits, pricing, or API scope. The real watchpoints are voice latency, vision limits, and access paths.

Why it matters: OpenAI added voice conversation and image understanding to ChatGPT, with speech synthesis from a few seconds of real audio and image input built on multimodal GPT-3.5 and GPT-4.