Skip to content

Meta / Llama

AI at Meta: the open Llama models, the superintelligence lab and its big AI bets.

198 picksRelated topicsxAI / GrokOpen sourceIndustry

Latest picks

181–198 of 198

Apr 24Friday

Financial Times · Technology

Meta to cut 10% of jobs to offset Zuckerberg’s AI spending

Meta plans to cut 10% of jobs to offset Zuckerberg’s AI spending, and the RSS snippet says it plans to spend $135bn on data centres this year. The post does not disclose the employee base, timeline, affected teams, or AI project details.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands because the headline frames a stark swap: 10% cuts for AI spending. HKR-K and HKR-R also land on two concrete figures and the jobs-vs-capex nerve, but body detail is thin—cut base, timing, and affected teams are not disclosed—so this is featured, not p1.

The Verge · AI

Meta is laying off 10 percent of its staff

Meta plans to cut about 10 percent of staff in May, affecting roughly 8,000 employees, according to a memo cited by Bloomberg. Meta will also close about 6,000 open roles; the cuts follow heavier AI spending, with 2026 capex guided to $115 billion to $135 billion versus $72.22 billion in 2025.

Why it matters: This is more than routine corporate reporting: a 10% layoff paired with $115B-$135B in AI capex signals a clear resource reallocation. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the story is still a company move, not a model, product, or org-level AI release, so it stays below P1.

Hacker News front page

Meta to cut 10% of jobs, or 8,000 employees

Meta plans to cut 10% of its workforce, or 8,000 employees, and not hire for 6,000 open roles. A Bloomberg-cited internal memo says the cuts start May 20; Meta had not responded to TechCrunch for comment. The key signal is capital reallocation: the memo ties the cuts to efficiency and offsetting AI and other investments.

Why it matters: Meta cutting 10% is not just generic business news here; it signals budget and headcount reallocation around AI. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is still a memo-based report that Meta has not confirmed, so it lands as high featured rather than p1.

Apr 22Wednesday

The Verge · AI

Meta will track employees’ computer activity to train its AI agents

Meta is installing its MCI tool on US employees’ computers and using mouse movements, clicks, keystrokes, and occasional screenshots from work apps and sites to train AI agents. Reuters says the data is meant to teach models to operate computers more like humans and automate tasks employees already do; Meta says it will not be used for performance reviews. The key gap is scope: the post discloses US staff and work contexts, but not retention, opt-out, or full rollout details.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the surveillance-for-agents hook. HKR-K lands on concrete collection details: US staff, mouse/keyboard events, occasional screenshots. HKR-R lands on privacy plus job-automation nerves. Strong reporting, but not a shipped product or model release, and key scope/ret

Hacker News front page

Meta staff protest surveillance software on work PCs

Meta reportedly told staff to soon run a tool called Model Capability Initiative on work PCs to record keystrokes, prompting employee protest. The visible text discloses the tool name, and the Reuters link points to mouse-movement and keystroke capture; the post does not fully disclose scope, rollout timing, or opt-out terms. The key issue is whether Meta is routing internal behavior data into AI capability building.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the irony hook: Meta staff object to surveillance software on work PCs. HKR-K and HKR-R also pass because the tool name and monitoring mechanism are concrete, and the story hits privacy-governance nerves inside AI labs; missing rollout details keep it at low-end fe

Synced · WeChat

Honor preinstalls YOYO Claw on MagicBook, calling it the world's first "agent laptop"

Honor said it preinstalls its YOYO Claw on MagicBook and claims 50% lower total token use than an OpenClaw setup. The post says it ships with 5 primary agents and 23 sub-agents, plus local processing, second-step confirmation, and kernel-level encryption. The practical angle is packaging agents as a device default, but the post does not disclose model names, hardware specs, pricing, or launch timing.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the factory-installed agent angle is novel, and the post includes concrete details on 5/23 agents, 50% token reduction, local handling, confirmation gates, and kernel-level encryption. It stops at 76 because the model, hardware, price, and ship date are not

TechCrunch · AI

Meta will record employees’ keystrokes and use it to train its AI models

Meta says a new internal tool converts employees’ mouse movements and button clicks into training data for its AI models. The headline mentions keystrokes, but the post only discloses mouse and click signals, not collection scope, consent, or retention terms. The real issue is the missing internal data-governance detail.

Why it matters: HKR-H, K, and R all pass: Meta tying employee interaction data to model training is a strong, discussable story. I keep it at 80, not P1, because the body confirms mouse and click signals but does not disclose keystroke scope, consent, or retention.

Apr 19Sunday

Xinzhiyuan · WeChat

Meta hires the fifth founding member from $12 billion startup Thinking Machines Lab

Meta has hired Joshua Gross, the fifth founding member to leave Thinking Machines Lab; the post says Meta has been recruiting from Mira Murati's $12 billion startup for 9 months. It also says the company raised $2 billion last year and grew from 30-plus to 130-plus staff; the post does not disclose compensation, terms, or product progress. The real signal is talent acquisition replacing M&A as a competitive tactic.

Why it matters: This is stronger than a routine personnel note because the news is the pattern: Meta has now taken a fifth founding member from Thinking Machines. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but missing role scope, comp, and product impact keeps it below P1.

Apr 9Thursday

X · @op7418

Meta releases Muse Spark model

Meta released the Muse Spark model with native multimodal reasoning, tool use, visual chain-of-thought, and multi-agent orchestration, but it is only available in the Meta AI app and is not open source for now. The snippet says its Contemplating mode coordinates multiple parallel agents for reasoning, and its Artificial Analysis score is below Gemini 3.1 Pro, GPT-5.4, and Claude Opus 4.6. The post does not disclose model size, pricing, or rollout timing.

Why it matters: A major-lab model launch plus the “poached team’s first output” angle lands HKR-H/K/R. The score stays near the featured floor because the post offers capability claims and relative benchmark placement only; params, pricing, rollout timing, and access scope are not disclosed.

X · @Yuchenj_UW

Meta released Avocado, named Muse Spark

Meta released Avocado under the name Muse Spark; the post says TBD lab rebuilt the pretraining stack in 9 months and reached capability similar to Llama 4 Maverick with over 10x less compute. The post also says it is not open source; the post does not disclose model size, benchmarks, parameter count, or release timing. The real signal is infrastructure efficiency, not the rename.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the real hook is a near-Maverick claim at under 1/10 training compute after a 9-month stack rebuild, and infra efficiency hits a core cost nerve. Held at 74 because the post does not disclose params, benchmarks, or release timing, and this is still a single-sr

Mar 7Saturday

Bloomberg Technology

Oracle and OpenAI End Plans to Expand Flagship Data Center

Oracle and OpenAI ended talks to expand a flagship AI data center in Abilene, Texas, after financing delays and OpenAI's changing needs. Meta is considering leasing the site from Crusoe, and Nvidia helped facilitate talks; the post only says such projects cost tens of billions of dollars.

Why it matters: Bloomberg reports that OpenAI and Oracle ended talks to expand the Abilene flagship site, with Meta potentially taking the parcel. HKR-H/K/R all pass: the reversal is strong, the story adds financing and demand detail, and the compute-capex angle will travel, but it is still an i

Feb 28Saturday

Bloomberg Technology

Inside CoreWeave's $8.5B Buildout Raise

CoreWeave is seeking about $8.5 billion to finance additional cloud computing capacity for Meta. The post only discloses the amount and intended use, via a Bloomberg TV discussion; it does not disclose the financing structure, timeline, data center locations, or GPU scale. The key signal is whether Meta keeps locking in external compute, not just that CoreWeave is raising more capital.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the $8.5B number and the Meta-linked capacity angle; HKR-K lands on the financing amount and stated use. HKR-R lands because it hits the compute-supply nerve, but missing structure, site, and GPU details keeps it featured, not p1.

Jan 14Wednesday

MIT Technology Review · AI

Data centers are amazing, but everyone hates them

MIT Technology Review says residents across multiple US states are pushing back on hyperscale data centers, with the conflict surfacing in a Georgia utility election and alongside a $500 billion buildout push. The post cites concrete drivers: a single site can link hundreds of thousands of GPUs, chips can cost over $30,000 each, and facilities can consume hundreds of megawatt-hours; in Georgia, a 900-acre proposal was rejected after about 900 people showed up in near-unanimous opposition. The point to watch is externalities: higher power bills, water use, constant noise, and limited long-term jobs are becoming political friction for AI infrastructure.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story frames AI infrastructure as a local political fight and backs it with concrete figures ($500B, 900 acres, ~900 opponents). Strong infrastructure reporting with policy relevance, but not a same-day must-write event.

Jan 5Monday

Import AI (Jack Clark)

Import AI 439: AI kernels; decentralized training; and universal representations

Meta says KernelEvolve cut kernel development from weeks to hours and delivered up to 17x over PyTorch baselines in production tests. The system uses Llama, GPT, and Claude to generate kernels, validates them, and feeds results into a knowledge base across NVIDIA, AMD, and MTIA; the post also says decentralized training is growing 20x per year but still uses about 1000x less compute than frontier runs. The real signal is continuous self-optimizing infra in production, while decentralized training matters if that 1000x gap keeps shrinking.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the kernel-writing angle is novel, the post includes concrete numbers and mechanism, and the decentralization thread hits cost and power-concentration nerves. I stop at 80 because this is a newsletter synthesis of technical work, not a single industry-defining

Jun 1, 2025Sunday

OpenAI News

OpenAI bans China-origin accounts using ChatGPT to generate US polarization content

OpenAI banned a set of China-origin ChatGPT accounts, dubbed 'Uncle Spam,' after a tip from Meta. The accounts used models to generate pro- and anti-tariff posts, create fake US veteran profile images, and write code to scrape user data from X and Bluesky. The content pushed both sides of divisive topics but got almost no real engagement—most posts had zero likes or reposts. OpenAI rates the impact as Category 2 on the Brookings Breakout Scale: multi-platform activity with no breakout.

Why it matters: Official OpenAI disclosure with a codename and behavioral specifics, not a generic threat report. Hits all three HKR axes, but it's a safety incident notice rather than a product/model update, so it lands in the 78-84 'worth recommending' band.

Feb 1, 2025Saturday

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned a Cambodia-based cluster using ChatGPT for pig-butchering scams

OpenAI banned a cluster of ChatGPT accounts originating in Cambodia that were used to translate and generate romance-investment scam conversations in Japanese, Chinese, and English. The scammers targeted men over 40 on Facebook, X, and Instagram using stolen influencer photos, then moved chats to LINE or WhatsApp within days. OpenAI reconstructed a six-step workflow from public engagement to fraudulent investment, noting the actors provided the model with detailed fake personas and used it mainly for translation and flirty replies.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI threat intel case study reconstructing a Cambodia-based scam ring's full AI-assisted pig-butchering pipeline, with concrete victim profiles and platform paths. The ding is that this is a Feb 2025 report — timeliness takes a hit — and it's a security ops disc...

OpenAI News

OpenAI banned China-linked accounts using ChatGPT for surveillance-tool pitches and document analysis

OpenAI disclosed in Feb 2025 that it banned a cluster of ChatGPT accounts likely from China, dubbed “Peer Review.” The operators used the models to analyze English document screenshots, draft sales pitches for a “Qianyue Overseas Public Opinion AI Assistant,” and debug related code. The tool claimed to scrape X, Facebook, and other platforms to spot China-related protest calls and report them. Code debugging primarily invoked Meta’s Llama 3.1 8B, with references to Alibaba’s Qwen and an unspecified DeepSeek model. OpenAI found no evidence the generated content was posted publicly and said impact assessment requires input from other model providers.

Why it matters: Official threat intel from OpenAI with a named operation and adversary TTPs — solid policy/safety crossover. Downside: it's a Feb 2025 re-run with no new angle, and it's a single-source narrative without third-party corroboration.

Jul 23, 2024Tuesday

Hugging Face Blog

Llama 3.1: 405B, 70B & 8B with multilinguality and long context

Meta released Llama 3.1 with 405B, 70B, and 8B sizes, and the title says it adds multilingual support and long context. Only the title is available; the post does not disclose context length, languages, license terms, or benchmark results. Watch the 405B release terms and real inference cost.

Why it matters: Meta's Llama 3.1 is a major flagship open-model release, and the title already gives concrete sizes plus multilingual and long-context positioning. HKR-H/K/R all pass; missing license, exact context window, and benchmark detail keep it at the low end of the 85-94 band.