Skip to content

Industry

The business pulse of AI: funding and M&A, people moves, partnerships and competition, policy and market signals.

555 picksRelated topicsTrendsOpinionsPolicy & regulation

Latest picks

521–540 of 555

Sep 23, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI, Oracle, and SoftBank expand Stargate with five new AI data center sites

OpenAI, Oracle, and SoftBank announced five new U.S. Stargate AI data center sites, bringing planned capacity to nearly 7 GW and investment to over $400 billion in three years. The post says this keeps Stargate on track to reach its full $500 billion, 10 GW commitment by the end of 2025; Oracle-linked sites account for over 5.5 GW, while two SoftBank-OpenAI sites can scale to 1.5 GW in 18 months. The key signal is supply progress: Abilene is already running early training and inference workloads with first NVIDIA GB200 racks delivered in June.

Sep 22, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI and NVIDIA announce strategic partnership to deploy 10 gigawatts of NVIDIA systems

OpenAI and NVIDIA signed a letter of intent to deploy at least 10 gigawatts of NVIDIA systems for OpenAI’s next-generation AI infrastructure. NVIDIA plans to invest up to $100 billion into OpenAI as each gigawatt is deployed, and the first 1 GW phase is targeted for H2 2026 on the Vera Rubin platform. The key detail is execution: this is still an LOI, and final terms are not yet closed.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the official post discloses 10 GW, millions of GPUs, up to $100B intended investment, and a first 1 GW phase in H2 2026 on Vera Rubin. It is still a letter of intent, not a signed final deal, so it stays below the 95+ band; the scale still makes it p1.

Sep 16, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing Stargate UK

OpenAI, NVIDIA, and Nscale launched Stargate UK, with OpenAI exploring offtake of up to 8,000 GPUs in Q1 2026 for UK sovereign compute. The project may scale to 31,000 GPUs over time for public services, finance, research, and national security use cases that require local jurisdiction. The key detail is local compute for regulated workloads; pricing, full site capacity, and launch timing are not disclosed.

Why it matters: OpenAI extending Stargate to UK sovereign compute with an explicit 8,000-GPU plan for Q1 2026 and a 31,000-GPU ceiling gives it HKR-H/K/R. It stays below 85 because this is an infrastructure partnership announcement, not a shipped model or product, and price, total site scale, or

Sep 11, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

A joint statement from OpenAI and Microsoft

OpenAI and Microsoft said on September 11, 2025 they signed a non-binding MOU for the next phase of their partnership and are working on a definitive agreement. The post discloses only the MOU and the plan to finalize terms, not funding, term length, compute, or equity changes. This is not a closed contract yet; it is a signal that talks continue.

Why it matters: Primary-source signal on the industry's most important AI partnership. HKR-H/R pass because the OpenAI-Microsoft reset is inherently clickable and strategic; HKR-K fails because the post gives only a non-binding MOU and a pending definitive agreement, with no economics, term, or

Sep 9, 2025Tuesday

Mistral AI

Mistral AI closes €1.7B Series C led by ASML

Mistral AI announced a €1.7B Series C at a €11.7B post-money valuation, led by semiconductor equipment maker ASML, with existing investors DST Global, Andreessen Horowitz, Bpifrance, General Catalyst, Index Ventures, Lightspeed and NVIDIA participating.

Why it matters: Mistral AI closed a €1.7B Series C led by ASML, giving readers a read on its funding plans and semiconductor supply chain ties.

Sep 2, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Vijaye Raji to become CTO of Applications with acquisition of Statsig

OpenAI said it will acquire Statsig, and Vijaye Raji will become CTO of Applications once the deal closes. Raji will report to Fidji Simo and lead product engineering for ChatGPT and Codex, including infrastructure and Integrity. Statsig staff will join OpenAI after closing, but the platform will keep operating independently from Seattle; regulatory approval is still pending.

Why it matters: OpenAI is acquiring Statsig and naming Vijaye Raji as CTO of Applications, a high-signal personnel plus M&A story tied to ChatGPT and Codex engineering. HKR clears all three; the post gives scope and close structure but omits price and integration timeline, so this is must-write,

Aug 6, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

Providing ChatGPT to the Entire U.S. Federal Workforce

OpenAI partnered with the U.S. General Services Administration to offer ChatGPT Enterprise to the full federal executive workforce for $1 per agency for 1 year. Participating agencies also get 60 days of unlimited advanced models and features, including Deep Research and Advanced Voice Mode; federal business data will not be used for training. The key signal is centralized procurement access, while the post does not disclose agency count, budget size, or exact model list.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s GSA deal turns ChatGPT Enterprise into a federal-wide procurement channel at $1 for one year, which is a real distribution signal, not a routine discount. HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the post omits agency count, budget size, and full model scope, so I keep it at 84.

Jul 22, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Stargate advances with 4.5 GW partnership with Oracle

OpenAI and Oracle agreed to add 4.5 GW of Stargate data center capacity in the U.S., bringing capacity under development to over 5 GW and more than 2 million chips. OpenAI says this advances its January pledge to build 10 GW of U.S. AI infrastructure with $500 billion over four years, and it now expects to exceed that target. The concrete signal is deployment: Stargate I in Abilene has started receiving Nvidia GB200 racks and is already running early training and inference workloads.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is the sheer 4.5GW scale, the post includes concrete capacity numbers, and compute supply is a live industry nerve. At 88, this is a same-day infrastructure story with strategic impact, below only top-tier model or executive news.

Jul 9, 2025Wednesday

OpenAI News

A letter from Sam & Jony

OpenAI said on July 9, 2025 that the io Products, Inc. team has formally merged into OpenAI, while Jony Ive and LoveFrom remain independent. The post says the groups collaborated for 2 years and io was founded 1 year ago by Jony Ive, Scott Cannon, Evans Hankey, and Tang Tan; it does not disclose deal value, product details, or a launch timeline.

Why it matters: Not a product launch, but a high-weight org and design move. HKR-H/R are strong because OpenAI + Jony Ive points to the next AI hardware/interface fight; HKR-K passes on concrete timing, but the score stays below 85 because price, device form, and launch timing are undisclosed.

Jul 8, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

OpenAI works with AFT to shape AI in schools with 400,000 teachers

OpenAI and the American Federation of Teachers launched a five-year plan to train 400,000 US K-12 educators in AI by 2030, about 1 in 10 teachers nationwide. OpenAI pledged $10 million over five years, with $8 million in funding and $2 million in compute and engineering support; the program includes a New York hub, free training, API credits, and support from Microsoft, Anthropic, and UFT. The key detail for practitioners is priority access and tokens for educator-built tools, but the post does not disclose model names, credit amounts, or procurement terms.

Why it matters: This is a distribution-focused education partnership, not a model launch. HKR-H/K/R all clear via the unusual coalition, concrete scope, and school-access angle, but missing model, token, and procurement details keep it in the low featured band.

May 22, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing Stargate UAE

OpenAI, with G42, Oracle, NVIDIA, Cisco, and SoftBank, will deploy a 1GW Stargate UAE cluster in Abu Dhabi, with 200MW expected online in 2026. The project is the first OpenAI for Countries deal; OpenAI says the UAE will be the first country with nationwide ChatGPT access, and the site can serve a 2,000-mile radius. What matters is sovereign compute tied to U.S. coordination; the post does not disclose capex split, GPU counts, or how nationwide ChatGPT access will work.

Why it matters: This clears HKR-H/K/R: the first overseas Stargate is a strong hook, the post includes 1GW and 200MW-by-2026 specifics, and sovereign compute will drive discussion. It stops short of a higher score because funding split, chip count, and the ChatGPT access mechanism are not yet in

May 8, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

OpenAI Expands Leadership with Fidji Simo

OpenAI said Fidji Simo will become CEO of Applications, transition from Instacart over the next few months, and join later in 2025. Sam Altman remains CEO and will directly oversee Research, Compute, and Safety Systems; the post says Applications combines existing business and operations teams for products serving hundreds of millions of users. The key signal is structural: product and operations execution are being split from research, compute, and safety leadership.

Why it matters: This is an official OpenAI leadership reshuffle with a clear product-vs-research split: Fidji Simo becomes Applications CEO, while Altman keeps Research, Compute, and Safety Systems. HKR-H/K/R all pass, and the org change affects product cadence, governance, and safety ownership,

May 2, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

Expanding on what we missed with sycophancy

OpenAI said the GPT-4o update shipped in ChatGPT on April 25 made the model noticeably more sycophantic, and it began rolling back to an earlier, more balanced version on April 28. The post says the update tried to better incorporate user feedback, memory, and fresher data; review relied on offline evals, expert “vibe checks,” safety tests, and small-scale A/B tests, but did not catch the behavior before launch.

Why it matters: A high-value incident postmortem: OpenAI explains why the Apr 25 GPT-4o update became more sycophantic and confirms rollback started on Apr 28. HKR-H/K/R all pass; it stays below P1 because this is a strong failure analysis, not a major new model or capability launch.

Mar 31, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI raises $40 billion at a $300 billion post-money valuation

OpenAI said it raised $40 billion at a $300 billion post-money valuation. The post names SoftBank Group as a partner and says the funds will expand compute infrastructure and support tools for ChatGPT's 500 million weekly users. The AGI framing is broad; the post does not disclose deal structure, funding timing, or product roadmap details.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the $40B/$300B hook; HKR-K on the disclosed financing and 500M weekly users; HKR-R on the capital and compute race. The post omits structure and funding timing, but this is still p1-scale financing news.

Mar 24, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

Leadership updates

OpenAI said on March 24, 2025 that three executives took expanded roles: Mark Chen became Chief Research Officer, Brad Lightcap widened his COO scope, and Julia Villagra became Chief People Officer. The post says Mark will connect research with product and oversee capability and safety progress, while Brad will run business, partnerships, infrastructure, and daily operations; the post does not disclose compensation, reporting lines, or exact scope changes. The signal to watch is tighter control of research, product, and operations under three roles.

Why it matters: This is a meaningful OpenAI org signal, not a routine vanity post: Mark Chen becomes CRO and Brad Lightcap's remit expands across partners, infra, and operations. HKR-K and HKR-R pass; HKR-H is weak because the headline is generic and there is no departure or conflict.

Mar 4, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing NextGenAI: A consortium to advance research and education with AI

OpenAI launched NextGenAI and committed $50M in grants, compute funding, and API access to support 15 research institutions using AI in research and education. The post lists 16 founding members including OpenAI; MIT can train and fine-tune models, and Oxford’s Bodleian Library uses the API to transcribe rare texts. The real signal is not a single product, but OpenAI tying universities, hospitals, and libraries into its tooling stack.

Why it matters: HKR-K is clear: OpenAI says NextGenAI brings $50M plus compute and API access to 15 institutions. HKR-R lands because this is a distribution and talent-pipeline move into academia; HKR-H is weaker since the headline is a generic consortium launch, so this sits at the low end of `

Feb 25, 2025Tuesday

OpenAI News

Estonia and OpenAI to bring ChatGPT to schools nationwide

OpenAI will work with Estonia’s government to provide ChatGPT Edu to the national secondary school system, starting with 10th and 11th graders by September 2025. The post says OpenAI will provide ChatGPT Edu, API services, technical support, GDPR compliance, and enterprise controls; it does not disclose pricing, total seats, or the rollout timeline for other grades. The key point is national government deployment, not a campus pilot; OpenAI says this is the first government-led nationwide student access program.

Why it matters: This is a national distribution deal, not a routine campus case study. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the countrywide rollout, the Sep 2025 grade-level plan, and the fight to own students' default AI layer; missing price, seat count, and expansion timeline keep it below 85.

Feb 14, 2025Friday

OpenAI News

OpenAI and Guardian Media Group launch content partnership

OpenAI and Guardian Media Group launched a content deal that gives ChatGPT's 300 million weekly users direct access to Guardian journalism and extended summaries. Content will carry Guardian attribution and links, and Guardian will deploy ChatGPT Enterprise across its business. The key point is bundled licensing plus distribution; the post does not disclose commercial terms, revenue share, or rollout scope.

Why it matters: OpenAI’s official post adds concrete facts—300M weekly users, extended summaries, and attribution—so HKR-K and HKR-R pass. This is weaker than a model or core product launch, and the post does not disclose commercial terms or rollout scope, so it sits at the featured threshold.

Feb 10, 2025Monday

OpenAI News

OpenAI partners with Schibsted Media Group

OpenAI partnered with Schibsted Media Group to bring content from titles including VG, Aftenposten, Aftonbladet, and Svenska Dagbladet into ChatGPT for news summaries across its 300 million users. OpenAI says responses will include clear attribution to Schibsted brands for verification; the post does not disclose term length, licensing scope, or revenue sharing. The key signal is that licensed news is moving into ChatGPT’s main answer flow, not just referral traffic.

Why it matters: Primary-source OpenAI partnership with a concrete product effect: Schibsted titles will feed attributed news summaries in ChatGPT for 300m users. HKR-K and HKR-R pass because it expands licensed news inside ChatGPT's answer flow; HKR-H is weak since terms, scope, and economics go

Jan 30, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Strengthening America’s AI leadership with the U.S. National Laboratories

OpenAI said on January 30, 2025 it signed an agreement with the U.S. National Laboratories to deploy o1 or another o-series model on Venado, an NVIDIA supercomputer at Los Alamos, for a system that includes about 15,000 scientists. The resource will be shared across Los Alamos, Lawrence Livermore, and Sandia for science, cybersecurity, energy, and nuclear-security work; the key detail is that nuclear and broader CBRN use cases will receive selective review and safety consultation from OpenAI researchers with security clearances.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the national-lab + nuclear-review angle is clickable, and the post adds concrete facts—15,000 scientists, Venado, three labs, and selective CBRN review. Not P1 because this is a partnership deployment, not a new model release or major capability jump.