Skip to content

Google / Gemini

AI at Google and DeepMind: the Gemini family, Veo video models, research and the product ecosystem.

Latest picks

381–400 of 409

Apr 21Tuesday

Synced · WeChat

Sergey Brin revives founder mode? Google forms a strike team to focus on AI coding

Google has formed an AI coding strike team led by Sebastian Borgeaud, with Sergey Brin and Koray Kavukcuoglu directly involved, to improve long-context coding and internal code automation. The pressure signal cited is that Google said about 50% of its code is written by coding agents and reviewed by engineers, while Anthropic staff claimed 100% code use by Claude Code and Opus 4.5; the post does not disclose team size, launch timing, or the exact Google model version. The key issue is whether Google can turn private codebase training into stronger public models.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the founder-return angle is clickable, and the piece includes Google's ~50% agent-written-code claim. It stays below p1 because no public launch is disclosed, and team size, timing, and model version are missing.

Hacker News front page

Even 'uncensored' models can't say what they want

Morgin.ai probed 6 pretrains on 4,442 contexts and found that even “uncensored” models sharply deflate charged words, by hundreds to about 16,000x. It calls this effect flinch: no refusal fires, but token probabilities shift; in one example, qwen3.5-9b-base ranks “deportation” #506 at 0.0014%. The key issue is pretraining-level distribution shaping, not only post-training refusals.

Why it matters: HKR-H lands on the contrarian angle; HKR-K lands on a quantified 4,442-context benchmark and token-level mechanism; HKR-R lands on the 'uncensored model' debate. Original and useful, but still a single-source research post, so it stays below p1.

Bloomberg Technology

Google to Release New AI Chips, Challenging Nvidia | Bloomberg Tech 4/20/2026

Google plans to release new AI chips focused on inference, directly challenging Nvidia. The RSS snippet confirms the inference focus, but the post does not disclose launch timing, model names, performance, pricing, or customers. The real signal is rising competition on inference silicon supply, not the show's other rocket or IPO items.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass because this frames a direct Google-vs-NVIDIA challenge in inference chips. HKR-K is weak: the report confirms the inference focus only; model name, performance, price, timing, and customer scope are not disclosed.

Bloomberg Technology

Google to Release New Inference-Focused Chips

Google plans to announce a new generation of custom TPUs this week, aimed at AI inference workloads. The RSS snippet confirms only the timing and chip focus; model names, performance, power, and pricing are not disclosed. Watch inference cost and supply, not the headline alone.

Why it matters: HKR-H passes because Google frames the TPU around inference; HKR-R passes because inference cost and supply are live industry nerves. HKR-K fails: Bloomberg confirms timing and positioning only, with no model, perf, power, or price, so this stays in the 72-77 featured band at 74.

Apr 19Sunday

QbitAI · WeChat

Amap unveiled ABot, its first full-stack embodied AI stack for AGI, and claimed 15 SOTA results

Amap unveiled embodied AI stack ABot and claimed SOTA on 15 metrics. The post says ABot-3DGS builds 10k-scale 3D scenes from centimeter-level map data, while ABot-PhysWorld uses a 14B DiT and 3M real manipulation videos. What matters is the interactive world model and VLA loop; the post does not disclose the 15 benchmarks, exact metrics, or the open-source timeline and scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the angle is surprising, and the post includes concrete mechanisms and numbers. It stays below the 80s because the claimed 15 SOTAs lack benchmark names, and the open-source scope and timeline are not disclosed.

r/LocalLLaMA

I tested 8 LLMs as tabletop GMs: a 27B model beat the 405B on narrative quality

The author tested 8 LLMs on 6 fixed tabletop-GM scenarios, and google/gemma-3-27b-it ranked first in narrative quality with a 4.33 overall score. The probe used 8 auto metrics plus 3 LLM-judge scores, and the full run cost about $0.02; the title says a 27B beat a 405B, but the snippet does not disclose the 405B model name or full rankings.

Why it matters: A named first-person benchmark with a strong surprise hook clears HKR-H, HKR-K, and HKR-R. I kept it at featured, not higher: the source is Reddit, the post is truncated, and the 405B model name plus full ranking are not disclosed.

Apr 17Friday

Hacker News front page

Measuring Claude 4.7's tokenizer costs

The author used Anthropic's free count_tokens API to compare Claude Opus 4.6 and 4.7 on 7 real samples and 12 synthetic ones; the real-sample weighted total rose from 8,254 to 10,937 input tokens, or 1.325x. Technical docs hit 1.47x, a real CLAUDE.md file hit 1.445x, while Chinese and Japanese stayed near 1.01x. On a 20-prompt IFEval sample, 4.7 improved strict prompt-level pass rate from 85% to 90%; the post cannot isolate tokenizer effects from model weights or post-training.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all land: the post has a sharp cost hook, reproducible token-count data, and clear budget impact for Claude Code users. It stays below p1 because this is a third-party measurement, not an Anthropic release, and the IFEval slice is only 20 items.

TechCrunch · AI

Google now lets you explore the web side-by-side with AI Mode

Google said on April 16 that clicking a link in AI Mode on Chrome desktop now opens the web page side-by-side with AI Mode. The feature keeps search context and uses page context plus web information for follow-up answers; the post does not disclose rollout scope, timing details, or regional limits. The practical shift is that Google is merging search chat and site browsing into one workflow.

Why it matters: This is a mid-weight Google search workflow update with HKR-H/K/R all present, but it is still a single-feature change. The story gives the context-retention and page-plus-web follow-up mechanism; rollout scope, regions, and timing are not disclosed, so it lands at the low end of

Apr 16Thursday

Ben's Bites

My cheatsheet for a clean context

Ben's Bites publishes a context-management cheatsheet, arguing agents should stop near 60% context usage and stating he does not trust 1M-token windows for stable recall. His concrete tactics are to use separate sessions for context gathering, compress many docs into one summary file, and run Gemma 4 26B offline with no-skills to reduce local startup load. The sharp point is context pollution: web search results, AI slop, and misinformation compound over long sessions.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: the 60%-context rule and distrust of 1M-token memory are clickable, concrete, and relatable for agent users. Score stays mid-featured because this is a first-person workflow note, not a product launch, paper, or externally validated dataset.

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

Post-AGI may arrive within 50 years: Demis Hassabis on AlphaFold, three AI risk classes, and human value

Demis Hassabis said in a 1-hour interview that post-AGI scenarios can arrive within 50 years, while AGI should stay in labs for another 10-20 years. He cited concrete numbers: AlphaFold has been used by 3M+ scientists, Isomorphic Labs is running 18-19 drug programs, and the most urgent risks in the next 2-4 years are misuse and agent misalignment.

TechCrunch · AI

Google rolls out a native Gemini app for Mac

Google launched a native Gemini app for Mac on April 15 for all users worldwide on macOS 15 and later, with Option + Space as the summon shortcut. Users can share their screen or local files with Gemini, and the app also supports image generation with Nano Banana and video generation with Veo. The key shift is desktop access plus live context sharing, not just another client.

Why it matters: Google shipping a native Gemini app for Mac clears HKR-H/K/R: the hook is desktop entry, the new facts are hotkey and context sharing, and the resonance is the desktop assistant race. Still a mid-weight product update, not a model leap, so it sits at the low end of featured.

X · @dotey

OpenAI Agents SDK adds built-in sandbox and native Harness

OpenAI upgraded Agents SDK with a built-in sandbox and native Harness; it supports Python now, is available to all OpenAI API users, and pricing stays unchanged. The post says the sandbox can read and write files, run code, install dependencies, and persist state, with support for Cloudflare, Vercel, Modal, E2B, Daytona, and custom setups. The key detail is state-execution separation for crash recovery; TypeScript support is still in development, and the post does not disclose a release date.

Why it matters: This is a substantive OpenAI developer-tool update. HKR-K is strong because it discloses testable mechanics—sandboxed execution, persisted state, and recovery after container failure; HKR-H and HKR-R also pass, but the impact stays at the SDK/tooling layer, so it fits featured, a

Google DeepMind

Google DeepMind releases Gemini 3.1 Flash TTS

Google DeepMind released Gemini 3.1 Flash TTS, a text-to-speech model built around controllability and expressiveness. It is in preview on the Gemini API, Google AI Studio, Vertex AI and Google Vids.

Why it matters: The post covers the new model's audio-tag controls, Elo scores and preview entry points, so you can judge how controllable speech generation has become.

Apr 13Monday

Google DeepMind

Google DeepMind releases Gemini Robotics-ER 1.6

Google DeepMind released Gemini Robotics-ER 1.6, an upgrade to its reasoning-first robotics model. It strengthens spatial reasoning and multi-view understanding, and adds gauge-reading ability.

Why it matters: The post details the new model's changes in spatial reasoning, multi-view understanding and gauge reading, plus where it is available, so you can judge progress in high-level robot reasoning.

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

2027 Is the Enterprise AI Singularity Year: Sundar Pichai on 10 Years as Google CEO, Transformer and Search

Sundar Pichai said in a Stripe interview that Alphabet plans $175B-$185B in 2026 capex and that 2027 will be the breakout year for enterprise AI agent workflows. He said Google cut Search latency by 30% over five years while adding AI features, manages teams with 10 ms or 30 ms latency budgets, and sees 2026-2027 constrained by wafers, memory, power, and permitting. The point to watch is not search replacement but search evolving into an agentic manager, while TPU allocation has become Google's scarcest internal resource.

Why it matters: High-signal executive commentary rather than a product launch. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the 2027 agent call, concrete capex and latency details, and the search-plus-compute nerve hit; score stays below P1 because this is a second-hand recap, not the primary interview.

Apr 12Sunday

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

Breaking RLHF scaling bottlenecks: DeepMind raises data efficiency 10x with information-directed exploration

A Google DeepMind team reports that online RLHF plus information-directed exploration on Gemma 9B reaches about 55% win rate with under 20k preference labels, versus about 200k for offline RLHF. The post describes four algorithms—offline, periodic, online, and information-directed exploration; online training uses batches of 64 prompts and 16 sampled responses per prompt, while the ENN head adds under 5% parameters. The key point is methodological, not that RLHF failed; the post also says results use Gemini 1.5 Pro simulated feedback, and the 1000x gain is an extrapolation toward 1M labels.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the 10x label-efficiency claim is a strong hook, and the post includes concrete setup details. I kept it at 77 because this is a secondary video summary, feedback is simulated with Gemini 1.5 Pro, and the 1000x figure is an extrapolation.

Apr 10Friday

最佳拍档 (BestPartners)

LLM self-evolution: Shinka Evolve, AlphaEvolve, and sample efficiency

Sakana AI open-sourced Shinka Evolve and uses a UCB bandit to switch among GPT-5, Claude Sonnet 4.5, Gemini, and others, aiming to cut the thousands of program evaluations common in AlphaEvolve-style search. The post says it beat AlphaEvolve’s classic circle-packing result with fewer evaluations and adds full-file rewrites, crossover, editable-region guards, and a meta-notebook; the post does not disclose exact metrics, cost, or the repo link. The part to watch is surrogate-task design and hard verification: the system still needs humans to define problems.

Why it matters: Featured, not P1: HKR-H/K/R all pass. The piece has a strong hook, concrete mechanisms like UCB model routing and program crossover, and a real nerve around eval cost and hard verification. It stays at 80 because key metrics, cost, and the primary release link are not disclosed.

Apr 7Tuesday

Latent Space

[AINews] Gemma 4 crosses 2 million downloads

Google’s Gemma 4 reached about 2 million downloads in its first week. The post compares that with Gemma 3 at 6.7 million over the past year, Gemma 2 at 1.4 million since June 2024, and Qwen 3.5 at about 27 million in roughly 1.5 months. The signal for practitioners is local deployment: one iPhone 17 Pro demo ran Gemma 4 E2B at about 40 tok/s via MLX, with support across Hugging Face, vLLM, llama.cpp, Ollama, and NVIDIA.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the story has a clean hook, concrete comparative download data, and a real open-model adoption nerve. It stays low-featured because this is a secondary-source uptake snapshot, not a primary Google release or a substantive capability update.

X · @AnthropicAI

Anthropic signs agreement with Google and Broadcom for multiple gigawatts of next-generation TPU capacity

Anthropic signed an agreement with Google and Broadcom for multiple gigawatts of next-generation TPU capacity, starting in 2027, to train and serve frontier Claude models. The post discloses only “multiple gigawatts” and the 2027 start, not the TPU generation, contract value, or delivery schedule. This is less a routine procurement note than a forward reservation of training and serving capacity.

Why it matters: This is not routine cloud promo: Anthropic is pre-booking next-gen TPU supply with Google and Broadcom. HKR-H/K/R all pass on unusual scale, clear timing, and compute-race resonance, but price, TPU generation, and delivery cadence are undisclosed, so it stays below P1.

Apr 3Friday

X · @op7418

Google releases Gemma 4 for on-device use under Apache 2.0

Google released Gemma 4 in four variants—E2B, E4B, 26B MoE, and 31B Dense—targeting phones, edge devices, and up to single-H100 workstations. The RSS snippet says the 26B MoE activates 3.8B parameters and adds native function calling, JSON output, multimodal I/O, speech-to-text, and Apache 2.0 licensing; the post does not disclose benchmarks, context length, or rollout details.

Why it matters: Google releasing Gemma 4 is a substantive open-model update. HKR-H/K/R all pass on the size spread, 3.8B-active MoE detail, and deployment-cost relevance; it stays at 81 because benchmarks, context window, and test conditions are not disclosed here.