Skip to content

Google / Gemini

AI at Google and DeepMind: the Gemini family, Veo video models, research and the product ecosystem.

Latest picks

281–300 of 409

May 20Wednesday

TechCrunch · AI

Agentic app coding gets an upgrade with Google’s release of Android CLI

Google released Android CLI for AI coding agents, letting platforms such as Claude Code and OpenAI Codex build Android apps from the command line; the RSS snippet does not disclose version numbers, release timelines, pricing, or performance data.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but the body lacks version, timeline, and performance data. Google plus Android plus agentic coding clears the featured line, not the must-write band.

TechCrunch · AI

Google’s AI Studio now lets anyone build Android apps in minutes

Google unveiled web-based AI tools in AI Studio that generate native Android apps in minutes. The RSS snippet does not disclose the model, pricing, availability, or supported development constraints.

Why it matters: Google AI Studio’s coding update clears HKR-H/K/R with a strong speed hook and a concrete capability. Model, pricing, and rollout are not disclosed, so it stays at the featured threshold for a mid-weight product update.

TechCrunch · AI

OpenAI is making it easier to check if an image was made by its models

OpenAI announced two measures for detecting AI-generated images: it joined the open C2PA standard and added Google’s SynthID to its products. The RSS snippet does not disclose which OpenAI products include SynthID, whether the checks cover legacy images, or when the measures become available to users.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the OpenAI-Google provenance tie-up is clickable, and C2PA plus SynthID are concrete mechanisms. Coverage, launch timing, and verification flow are not disclosed, so this stays at the featured threshold.

TechCrunch · AI

Google's Gemini Omni turns images, audio, and text into video

Google's Gemini Omni generates and edits video through conversation, using text, images, audio, and video as inputs, with Omni Flash named as the starting version; the RSS snippet says the model reasons across modalities, but the post does not disclose launch date, pricing, context limits, benchmarks, or API availability.

Why it matters: Google-scale Gemini multimodal video update clears HKR-H/K/R: Omni Flash, chat-based editing, and four input types are concrete. Pricing and rollout are not disclosed, so it sits in the lower must-write band.

TechCrunch · AI

Google launches Antigravity 2.0 with updated desktop app and CLI tool at I/O 2026

Google launched Antigravity 2.0 with an updated desktop app and CLI tool, and introduced a $100 AI Ultra plan that gives users 5x the usage limit of AI Pro; the post does not disclose the desktop app or CLI feature details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass, but the post does not disclose concrete desktop or CLI capabilities, so it stays below 78. Google I/O plus the $100 plan and 5x quota clear the featured bar.

TechCrunch · AI

Google introduces Gemini Spark, a 24/7 agentic assistant with Gmail integration, at I/O 2026

Google introduced Gemini Spark at I/O 2026 as a 24/7 agentic personal assistant with Gmail integration; the RSS snippet says it uses Gemini base models and an agentic harness from Google Antigravity, but the post does not disclose pricing, rollout timing, or supported Gmail actions.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google used I/O to launch a 24/7 Gmail-linked agentic assistant, a core-entry product update. Price, rollout scope, and safety controls are not disclosed, so it stays at the low end of the 85+ band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

I/O 2026: Welcome to the autonomous Gemini era

Google announced at I/O 2026 that Gemini is moving into an autonomous agent phase, with the post saying it can manage email, schedule calendar items, and generate reports automatically, but it does not disclose model parameters, launch timing, or pricing.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google frames Gemini as an office agent for email, calendar, and reports. Missing launch timing, price, and model details keeps it in the 78–84 band, below a full major model release.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google AI subscription updates from I/O 2026

Google announced a $100 AI Ultra subscription at I/O 2026 and added new features and benefits for existing Google AI Plus, Pro, and Ultra subscribers.

Why it matters: HKR-H comes from the $100 Ultra hook; HKR-K from the disclosed tiering and price; HKR-R from cost and vendor-selection pressure. Capability limits are not disclosed, so this stays at the low end of featured.

Hacker News front page

Gemini 3.5 Flash

The title names Gemini 3.5 Flash, while the RSS body only includes a documentation link; the Hacker News item has 196 points and 179 comments, and the post does not disclose parameters, pricing, or context-window details.

Why it matters: HKR-H/R pass on an official Google Gemini 3.5 Flash release with HN traction; HKR-K fails because price, benchmarks, parameters, and context window are absent. That keeps it in the lower 78–84 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google AI Ultra plan gets a price cut and a new tier

Google cut the top AI Ultra plan from $250 to $200 per month and added a $100 monthly tier with 5x the Gemini app usage limit of Pro, 20TB of storage, early access to new features, and YouTube Premium under stated terms.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass, but this is subscription pricing and quota packaging, not a model or capability launch. Official source and concrete prices put it at the featured threshold.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Gemini Spark: 24/7 Autonomous AI Assistant

Gemini Spark runs personal-agent tasks autonomously in the background, including when a user’s phone and laptop are off; the post says it asks for user approval before major actions, but it does not disclose launch timing, pricing, or task scope.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the off-device autonomous assistant is novel, with a consent mechanism. Missing launch date, pricing, and task scope keep it below the 85 same-day must-write band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google releases Gemini 3.5 Flash with output speed about 4x GPT-5.5

Google introduced Gemini 3.5 Flash at I/O 2026, with output speed reaching 289 tokens per second, about 4x faster than Claude Opus 4.7 and GPT-5.5 xhigh under the cited comparison.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google ships Gemini 3.5 Flash with a 289 tokens/sec claim and 4x speed comparison against GPT-5.5 xhigh. Details on price, context window, and capability limits are not disclosed, so it stays in the low 85-94 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google launches Antigravity 2.0 platform, builds an OS in 12 hours

Google announced Antigravity 2.0 at I/O and demonstrated an agent building a runnable operating system from scratch in 12 hours, using 93 parallel sub-agents, more than 15,000 model calls, and 2.6 billion tokens, with API costs under $1,000.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: a Google I/O agent-platform release with concrete demo metrics. The post lacks availability, pricing, and replication details, so it lands in the lower 85–94 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google releases Gemini Omni for any-input-to-any-output generation and conversational video editing

Google released Gemini Omni and Omni Flash at I/O 2026, supporting text, image, audio, and video inputs and outputs, with conversational video editing; Omni Flash is available in Gemini App, Google Flow, and YouTube Shorts, while the post does not disclose the API launch date.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: Google announced Gemini Omni and Omni Flash as a major multimodal update at I/O. API timing, pricing, and benchmarks are not disclosed, so it stays below 90.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Gemini 3.5 Flash launches as an efficient option for task handling

Google released Gemini 3.5 Flash and calls it its best model so far for fast, efficient task completion. The post does not disclose pricing, context window size, benchmark scores, or API availability conditions.

Why it matters: HKR-H and HKR-R pass because this is a new Google Gemini Flash release tied to cost and latency. HKR-K fails: the post gives no price, context window, benchmarks, or API availability, keeping it in the 78–84 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Gemini 3.5 launches with frontier intelligence and real-world action

Google DeepMind introduced Gemini 3.5 with 3.5 Flash as the first release; the post says it is the company’s strongest model for agents and coding, but does not disclose parameters, pricing, or context window.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass because Google DeepMind shipped a major Gemini 3.5 update with 3.5 Flash first and agent/coding claims. Missing price, parameters, and context window keep it mid-85–94, not higher.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Gemini Omni Released: New Progress in Multimodal Generation

Google DeepMind released Gemini Omni, starting with video generation; the post says it combines Gemini with its generative media systems, but does not disclose parameters, pricing, or availability.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: a DeepMind Gemini-branded video-generation launch has a clear hook, a stated mechanism, and competitive resonance. Missing parameters, pricing, and access timing keep it in the 72–77 band.

AI HOT (Curated Pool)

Google processes over 3,200 trillion tokens per month, up 7x year over year

Google said at I/O 2026 that it processed over 3,200 trillion tokens per month in May, while Gemini App exceeded 900 million monthly active users and the Nano Banana model generated more than 50 billion images cumulatively.

Why it matters: Google I/O disclosed usage scale, not a new model or major capability. HKR-H/K/R pass via 7x growth, 900M MAU, and 3.2Q tokens/month, but without a launch-level update it stays in the 78–84 band.

May 19Tuesday

Latent Space

[AINews] How to Land a Job at a Frontier Lab (on Pretraining)

Latent Space says Vlad Feinberg’s pretraining job-prep notes reduce frontier-lab readiness to kernel-level performance work: derive Chinchilla laws, compare dense and MoE architectures, code the solution in JAX, then write a Pallas kernel that beats jax.lax.ragged_dot for F > D by fusing up/down projections.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: the career hook is strong and the prep list is concrete. It is not a model release or major product update, and the kernel-heavy angle keeps it at the lower featured band.

Synced · WeChat

Recent LLM Architecture Changes: From Gemma 4 to DeepSeek V4

Jiqizhixin translated Sebastian Raschka’s blog on recent LLM architecture changes, covering long-context cost reductions in Gemma 4, Laguna XS.2, and ZAYA1-8B; the article states that Gemma 4 E2B saves about 2.7GB of KV cache at 128K context with bfloat16 precision.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R pass: notable model names, a concrete 128K bf16 KV-cache saving, and inference-cost relevance. As a translated survey rather than a release, it stays in the 72–77 featured band.