Skip to content

Models that plan, call tools and finish multi-step tasks on their own — from Claude Code and Manus to agent frameworks and benchmarks.

1,465 picksRelated topicsMCP & tool useAI codingReasoning

Latest picks

1461–1465 of 1,465

Jan 23, 2025Thursday

OpenAI News

Introducing Operator

OpenAI released Operator on Jan 23, 2025 as a research preview for U.S. Pro users; it uses its own browser to click, type, and scroll through web tasks. It runs on Computer-Using Agent, combining GPT-4o vision with RL-based reasoning; the post says it sets SOTA on WebArena and WebVoyager but does not disclose scores. The key boundary is control: login, payment, and CAPTCHA flows hand control back to users, and a July 17 update says it was folded into ChatGPT agent.

Why it matters: OpenAI's Operator is a same-day, must-write product release: a browser-using agent moves ChatGPT from answering to acting. HKR-H/K/R all pass; the post gives the own-browser setup, GPT-4o+RL, and user handoff for login/payments, but US Pro limits and missing benchmark scores keep

Oct 10, 2024Thursday

OpenAI News

MLE-bench: Evaluating Machine Learning Agents on Machine Learning Engineering

OpenAI released MLE-bench, a benchmark built from 75 Kaggle competitions to measure ML engineering ability in AI agents. The best setup, o1-preview with AIDE scaffolding, reached at least Kaggle bronze-medal level on 16.9% of tasks; the benchmark code is open-source.

Why it matters: Strong HKR-H/K/R: OpenAI moves evaluation from exam-style tasks to real ML engineering, anchored by 75 Kaggle competitions and a 16.9% bronze-level result. Important as a benchmark release with concrete numbers, but still research rather than a major product launch, so featured,

Oct 1, 2024Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing the Realtime API

OpenAI launched a public beta of the Realtime API on Oct. 1, 2024 for all paid developers, using a persistent WebSocket to stream low-latency speech-to-speech interactions with GPT-4o. It supports function calling and interruption handling, priced at $5/1M text input tokens and $100/1M audio input tokens; the post also says audio I/O for Chat Completions would arrive in the following weeks.

Why it matters: OpenAI moved voice apps from stitched ASR+TTS calls to a persistent GPT-4o session, with function calling, interruption handling, and published audio/token pricing. HKR-H/K/R all pass, so this is a same-day must-write developer platform update and clears p1.

Aug 6, 2024Tuesday

OpenAI News

Introducing Structured Outputs in the API

OpenAI released Structured Outputs on Aug 6, 2024, making model outputs conform to developer-supplied JSON Schemas; `gpt-4o-2024-08-06` scored 100% on complex schema-following evals versus under 40% for `gpt-4-0613`. The feature is enabled with `strict: true` in function calling and works on tool-supporting models including `gpt-4-0613`, `gpt-3.5-turbo-0613`, and later. The key shift is constrained decoding plus schema training, not just valid JSON from JSON mode.

Why it matters: HKR-H/K/R all pass: OpenAI moves from 'valid JSON' to strict schema adherence and publishes a 100% vs <40% reliability gap. I keep it at 84 because this is a high-value API capability update, not a new frontier-model launch or company-level industry event.

Feb 13, 2024Tuesday

OpenAI News

Memory and new controls for ChatGPT

OpenAI says ChatGPT is getting memory and new controls, with 2 changes disclosed in the title. The body is empty, so default state, opt-out scope, and user-tier availability are not disclosed. The key issue is control granularity; the title alone is not enough to judge product impact.

Why it matters: An official OpenAI post confirms ChatGPT memory plus new controls, so HKR-H and HKR-R pass on a core product readers already use. HKR-K fails because the body does not disclose defaults, rollout scope, user tiers, or control granularity, keeping this at the low featured edge.